We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and and isolated, but potentially overrun by noisy groups” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MesaStila Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MesaStila Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Magelang
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely and and isolated, but potentially overrun by noisy groups”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Overall, the property is beautiful, and the staff is fantastic as they do everything they can and more to meet every need and request that you have. However, the hotel website is not consistent with the reality on the ground. The names of the various villas described on the hotel website, on other reservation websites and then in person at the resort vary, so what we thought we booked was not actually the room that we ended up with. Some of the accommodations are rather tired.

It is best to book a room package including meals, as the cost of food is priced at high prices even for US standards, and while of high quality and taste is exorbitant by Indonesian standards.

My husband and I were hoping for a peaceful retreat, as that is the main billing of the hotel. Half of our 3 day stay, however, was invaded by a large group traveling together, who occupied more than half of the resort, and were extraordinarily noisy everywhere they were-whether we were trying to enjoy what should have otherwise been a lovely meal enjoying the local sounds, or their yelling, group singing and general carrying -on at the pool and around the retreat. It really out a damper on our trip, and as there is no place to escape, and we paid handsomely for what should have been a quiet retreat and spa, we would not go back to take the chance that there would not be some other group there.

Room Tip: This is actually very difficult to do without contacting the resort directly as each website names t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanc1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila. Regarding to the group arrangement, we are sorry that we can not provide a peacefull retreat during your stay here. Hope there will be better on your next visit. We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    84
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
175
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Mesastila in late April as part of a two week Indonesian vacation. We started there, hoping to rest & renew after the long flight from the east coast and a couple of days in Singapore. This was an excellent choice. We enjoyed the locale in the highlands of central Java. The resort was quite comfortable, the grounds of the refurbished coffee plantation immaculate and interesting, and the staff lovely and genuinely caring. I don't think that I'll ever forget sitting out on the deck of our villa in the evening and hearing the call to prayers echoing across the hills, coming from multiple villages and being amplified. All of this with a full moon overhead. It was really ethereal and quite beautiful.

I highly recommend the spa services, which were quite moderately priced. If you come, you should also try the walk through local villages, led by the fitness instructor. Also, don't miss the jamu (prepared fresh every morning by an old woman out back), consisting of a variety of delicious fresh fruits and indigenous spices known to have healing properties. In addition to being rather unique, it will definitely put a spring in your step. Believe me, it's also way different from what you will find at Starbucks. The food, with the exception of breakfast (which was excellent), wasn't quite as good as the rest of the place. However, it was certainly good enough. We would certainly come back if we had the chance. One other thing that you might consider is the fact that this place is probably to far from Yogyakarta to do it as a day trip. A stay here should probably be a stand alone on your itinerary if you're looking for a getaway.

Room Tip: Our villa was rustic but comfortable. We enjoyed the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary weekend. Peaceful and lovely setting atop a hill with fantastic views. We recommend engaging in the complimentary hotel activities such as yoga, coffee plantation tour, power walk through the surrounding villages and bike riding. The area around the resort is green and peaceful and is truly a lovely slice of rural Java and we thought it was a highlight of our stay.

The rooms are all old authentic houses from all around Central Java. The furnishings and decor are true to the region. We stayed at an Asana-standard room which was spacious and had a balcony with a very nice view of the jungle. The bed mattress was extremely soft so if you have lumbar issues you might want to request a room with a firm mattress.

The food is excellent (but avoid the buffet if at all possible) but EXTREMELY pricey for Indonesia. Bring your own wine because a bottle of grocery-grade table wine starts at about $170 including tax and service. Starter salad is about $15 and a mineral water is $10 a bottle so you have an idea of what the price standard is of the dining facility. There is complimentary afternoon tea with some sweet and savory offerings which is a nice treat.

The spa facilities are good (similar standard to luxury spas in Bali) and recommend trying the Hamah (Turkish steam bath) which is complimentary with spa rituals but you need to request it in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dewi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are sweet, nice for walking and the pool was great too. Food especially was varied, original, fresh and really good. I tried the bike ride loop they recommended off the property (with free bikes) which was good, but did involve some busy roads. This was the first place in Java or Bali that seemed to have a list of activities to do (yoga, walking, biking, coffee tour...). The drive from Yogokarta was further than we thought and there was lots of traffic, so plan accordingly (about 1.5 hours).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I traveled to Mesastiles on my own, for 4 days of recharging. It was more than I could have hoped for. My villa was gorgeous (the open air option bathtub is amazing), the service was spot on and the spa is one of the best I've been to in my travels. All that, and in a setting that invites you to be peaceful and calm. I was relaxed within 3 hours of arriving, and it normally takes me a day or two to get into a groove on vacation.

If you're traveling alone or with a partner/friend, I couldn't recommend more. I'm not sure it's a great place for younger kids, as its very laid back and designed more for adults.

Definitely do a trip to Borobodur - only about an hour away and the resort can set up a driver for you. Worth getting up at 3:30am for a sunrise visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, the activities, the spa, and the friendly staff. Wine is too expensive though, it's triple the price in Jakarta. And, when we were at the bar, nobody else was seen to drink wine there. Guests would have no option but to buy or not drink wine at all as the resort is quite far from the cities, but the chill weather there would encourage people to have wine to warm up. This could be one improvement area ro consider.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lie_evelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved the walks with our little toddler through beautiful coiffured grounds, enjoying a cuppa brewed by an old man with hot water boiled the traditional way (burning bamboo) at a rest stop in the coffee plantation, making origami with banana leaves, feeding the horses in the resort's own stable. The weather was splendid during our stay, cool climate (low 20s). The mountain views in our unique villa (personally decorated by the late Ms Garbriella , the ex-owner) was breathtaking. The resort reminded us of our stays in the tea plantations in sri lanka.
The resort can probably improve on the F&B in the resaurant through serving breakfast a la carte style and not through buffet to make the whole experience more personal, food freshly cooked, like Aman.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank villaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MesaStila W, Manager at MesaStila Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind support, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience in MesaStila, We look forward to having the pleasure welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magelang
21.3 mi away
Plataran Borobudur Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Amata Borobudur Resort
Amata Borobudur Resort
#4 of 10 in Borobudur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
14.7 mi away
Villa Sumbing Indah
Villa Sumbing Indah
#6 of 10 in Borobudur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Asri
Hotel Puri Asri
#12 of 22 in Magelang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
13.7 mi away
Amanda Hills Bandungan
Amanda Hills Bandungan
#44 of 67 in Semarang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
Hotel Manohara Borobudur
#5 of 10 in Borobudur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MesaStila Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MesaStila Resort and Spa

Property: MesaStila Resort and Spa
Address: Desa Losari, Grabag, Magelang 56196, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Central Java > Magelang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Magelang
#3 Romantic Hotel in Magelang
#3 Luxury Hotel in Magelang
#4 Family Hotel in Magelang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MesaStila Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MesaStila is a luxury five star resort & spa that incorporates an unparalleled collection of remarkable antiques and enchanting buildings; including Central Java icons such as a Colonial railway station and historic Joglo-villas. The property has twenty-three unique villas set within an area of twenty-two hectares of outstanding natural beauty; surrounded by cooling highland-air, eight mountains, tropical gardens and lush vegetation. Built within a charming coffee plantation, MesaStila offers distinctly Javanese experiences both cultural and fitness activities. The true magnificence of MesaStila is in its spectacular setting and its Hammam Turkish Spa. At MesaStila the focus is on luxury yet keeping the traditional, local and wholesome experiences intact, which accentuate the magnificence of the environment, the people, the culture and facilitate a healthy lifestyle- full of wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your MesaStila Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Losari Spa Retreat & Coffee Plantation Hotel Magelang
Losari Spa Retreat And Coffee Plantation
Losari Coffee Plantation Magelang
Losari Coffee Plantation Hotel
MesaStila Resort And Spa Magelang, Indonesia - Java

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing