We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eco gastronomic”
Review of Kampung Daun

Kampung Daun
Ranked #9 of 1,820 Restaurants in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“eco gastronomic”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

the idea not to touch the nature seems still on in this location. they tropical garden is amazing ... food are varies from sundanese to western category ... drinks are also nice ... cultural events on weekends are not to miss ... take a walk and sip some bandrek on the way ... eat the famous pork ribs will just great to celebrate on the weekends

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nichelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    694
    252
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Place with Poor Taste”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I visited Kampung Daun last 4 October 2012 night with relatives. It was a cold foggy night with a rain.

Kampung Daun had a great place with its waterfall, its floor sitting, and its romantic lighting.

I didn't enjoy any good meals there even they made a special plating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexiPranata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Impressive landscape, great ambience, but expect stairs & pricey food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

As tourists, it would be crazy to miss going to Kpg Daun! Of course, we expect to pay more while on holiday. So IMO, it is totally worth it even if the food prices are at a slight premium.

We went while on the way back from Tangkuban Perahu. Be sure to book a 'saung' or hut in advance, otherwise it could be quite full with busloads of tourists also having it on their itinerary.

We were given the last hut on top of the hill. Though we thoroughly enjoyed the scenery/sights along the way, the elders in our group found it difficult to climb so many stairs.

Friendly waiter but they took a while to get to us despite our constant knocking. Ordered recommended dishes from the menu, thumbs up.

Advice- go during the day, ie lunch. It may be too dark & slippery to climbs those stairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good sundanese food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went in the evening, enjoyed our food. Not too sweet for sundanese food. Defenitely worth it going there if you haven't had indo food and would like to taste it. Nice ambiance in the evening. Quite a disctance from bandung, wew went there with car but with taxi must be expensive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great environment for dinner with a huge bunch of friends”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My impression of the restaurant before and after is a world of difference. The environment surrounding the restaurant is amazing. Great natural looking surrounding, water falls etc. Food to me was so so and the seafood fried rice was not good. We had a bunch of 30 odd people booking an area of 4 long tables and the restaurant have a hard time taking orders and delivering them. In fact, some of the dishes went missing. My fried chicken did! The rest of the guys thought the food was good. The best is the place we were at cause it is a great place to hang around moving among tables. (We were all drinking!)
I love to revisit there provided the services improve

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank danewtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampung Daun also viewed

 
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Kampung Daun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing