We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Royal Panghegar
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in Bandung
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice and”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second stays in this hotel. I had quite different impression compare to the first stay. Now the hotel is more modern looked and similar to other big hotels in other cities. Even though, there is still Sundanese touch inside the lobby. They have a condotel wing with nice rooms inside. The beds were too small and they have not good practise to combine two beds into one, rather than put King size bed. Check in was easy, staffs were friendly. Breakfast was nice and a lot of variety of choices. Free wifi was quite slow, need to be upgraded. Overall, Panghegar is still consider nice hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the Condotel Deluxe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiawan Basu... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    245
    121
    36
    19
See reviews for
235
53
20
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

You will smell smokes arround this lobby hotel while you checking in because smoking area located in building near reception. The receptionist also not kind enough.

Room not that good, my expectations was too high for 5 stars hotel. It's provide bathtub but I think no one will soaking in chipped paint tub. Breakfast? So so..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indonesianbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Once in the late 1980's I stayed in this hotel with my parents. This hotel used to have rotate-able round restaurant on the top of it's building. That time Bandung had not yet has sky scrappers which made us can see Bandung from up high very nicely. Panghegar Hotel was considered as a good 4-star hotel at that time.

After 3 decades, the management decided to refurnish the hotel, and they closed for almost a year. Just recently they re-opened again with new name "Grand Hotel Panghegar Bandung", stood beside the high class apartment building under the same management. This image can make guests who want to stay in this hotel has high expectation, just like I did.

Bandung doesn't has that many outdoor attraction at night and the city sleeps at 10 PM! This makes people who visited Bandung will spent quite sometimes inside the hotel room. This fact should become any hotel management attention to make the rooms of their hotel as comfy as possible. Grand Hotel Panghegar's management is failed to do so! They put a lot of energy paying attention to anywhere else in the hotel, and they forget all about the room...

Let me share about pro's first. Swimming pool is two-thumbs up! It has kid's pool, main pool with gradual depth, and they have a whirl pool. The whirl pool water is hot, where rest of the pool has warm water. This is very good idea since Bandung is the city with cool climate.
I didn't try the gym, but I heard the gym is also extraordinary. Next is the restaurant. Every Friday and Saturday night they serve "Black Angus", the ribs BBQ buffet all you can eat together with other choice of food like Japanese, Chinese, Indonesian, Italian, etc. I got the chance to try it and it was really something. Maybe the restaurant heal every wound that the room has :)

Now the room (I hope they can improve):
1. I was staying in the room with king size bed with my family. You know what they do? They put two no. 3 beds together to make it king size! Amazing... this is the 4-star hotel for crying out loud! My daughter who slept in the middle complaining because she can still feel the 2 mattress separation on her back.

2. The floor was finished with wooden panel, but they did not supply the floor towel that we can use after using the bath room. This makes the room's floor constantly wet and full of wet foot prints which sometimes become slippery. How hard is it to occupied the 4-star hotel room with a floor towel!

3. The body towel. Do you know what they give? The small ones! Even for my son who's 8 years old, the towel is not quiet big enough. It's like wearing kid's towel for adult! And the quality of the towels are very bad, like they've been used for several years. Even a non star hotel can give better towels. Again... how hard is it to occupied the 4-star hotel room with nice big body towels?

4. The bulb of the bed side lamp was burnt out. The housekeeping failed to check and replace them before we checked in. Or they simply not checking it regularly...

So... I guess the hotel is indeed the 4-star hotel, but it's rooms are 3-star or even less. Or my expectation is just simply to high for this hotel... beats me!

Room Tip: Just make sure you didn't get the room like I did. Ask for a floor towel, and as replacement of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Panghegar Bandung in summer 2012. There was renovation going on during our stay but it did not give us any problem. Slept well and enjoyed every second of the stay. Breakfast was excellent, a great variety of tasty food. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Nice touch of live Sundanese gamelan (little traditional orchestra) in the main lobby. Big size pool with little playground for kids, they just love it. My husband is a Sundanese himself with big family live in the city. We like all the traditional touch they have, from the delicious dishes on breakfast buffet, display of beautiful wooden puppets (wayang golek) and little gamelan orchestra in the main lobby, and last but not least sweet smiles and warm welcome from all the staffs we met there. Keep up the great work, Panghegar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwir888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bekasi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The 'sundanese touch' for their service should give us more traditional patronage and local hospitality as a specific and unique competitive advantage, but unfortunately, this legendary hotel has lost it.
Now, it feels like an ordinary middle class semi-luxury hotel, which you can get else where with better price and better facilities.

This strategically located hotel is a bullseye spot for MICE activities, so I really don't recommend to stay here for family vacation nor to rest.

What can I say, it's very crowded in the lobby area, not to mention the ballroom floor, cluttered with events, seminars, meetings, all mashed together. This definitely will bring turbulence of people in the service area (parking, elevators, lounge, restaurant etc.)

Wanna have a tranquile, quiet and a good morning start with breakfast? Forget it! MICE participants will buzz around and block some area with their morning rush.

The entrance is not a car friendly environment, narrow turns and steep exit parking ramp from basement directing to the lobby entrance is chaotic. Try it during the working hours.

Kindly request the room with pool view, never get the eastern part view, all you can see is the PT Telkom's warehouse. I consider this 'slum view'.

Breakfast is quite generous, but i hate when being asked whether I'm a guest or not or being asked from which room i stay. Hey, nobody in this era crash along for free breakfast. Geez! So much for sundanese touch... All I know real sundanese tradition forbids rice being selled. I guess the management doesn't even know the sundanese ethics. What a shame.

This hotel is not smoking friendly. So take out your lungs gasping for smoke outside.

I stayed here for three days and wasn't very pleased with how they cleaned the bathroom. Not so clean..

Ahh.. Next time to Bandung I will prefer an international chain hotel with certain standards. That's it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertiyoSembodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our friends and my family stayed in the weekend for 2 nights in may 2013, room looks old, refrigerator was defect, bed sheet and towels were dirty and too noisy at night as its located by the busy road. Prefer to stay at the condotel building instead, but friend of mine and his family who stayed there also complain about the leakage in his room which came from the room above them. Parking area also too small space. Beware of the dinner promo in your room through media flyers, in the brochure said that all you can eat incl the angus rib steak from 7PM-9PM for Rp 125,000++ but in fact it's only slices of them and limited!!! We asked the butcher for more but he said that it's his last stock...what a shame!!! while the clock still showed 8PM. Finally we got them for more after complaining. The only postive thing is the pool where kids can have some fun. We will not stay there anymore and really not recommended while you can find other better hotel around.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_s44t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandung hotels

indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

panghegar hotel deserve for its star rating, good hotel, clean and located in the center of bandung city. But, i feel the receptionist not very friendly, but the other hotel staff show their hospitality by always saying hi when we met in the hallway.
The room clean and big enough for me. The only issue, the king size bed originally was 2 small beds that being put together to become king size and it is hard. Also small problem on the elevators which sometimes going up by itself when we want to go down, i thought it is due to renovation that they are being to.

Room Tip: make sure you get a real king size bed if you want it and get the condotel type room, they have quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfa_bintoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.4 mi away
Prama Grand Preanger
Prama Grand Preanger
#28 of 228 in Bandung
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence
0.5 mi away
Aryaduta Bandung
Aryaduta Bandung
#18 of 228 in Bandung
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 228 in Bandung
1,284 reviews
0.6 mi away
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
#36 of 228 in Bandung
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amaroossa Bandung
Amaroossa Bandung
#22 of 228 in Bandung
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royal Panghegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royal Panghegar

Property: Grand Royal Panghegar
Address: Jl. Merdeka no. 2, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 228 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royal Panghegar 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Grand Royal Panghegar Bandung. "Feel The Sundanese Touch" The Sundanese of West Java are well-known for their joie de vivre...Walk into the Grand Royal Panghegar Bandung and you will know immediately how good it feels to be surrounded by the warmth and hospitality of these wonderful people. Nestled in the perfect location on Merdeka Street in the centre of Bandung's Business District, the hotel has the easiest access to the most famed historical venues of the City of the Asia Africa. The Paris of Java. For shoppers and epicures immerse yourself in the best shopping and eateries of Bandung's famed Factory Outlets and restaurants. For you interested in history, enjoy a stroll on charming Braga with its heritage wrapped in an array of cafes and restaurants, places of entertainment ... All outside the door. A luxury hotel with Sundanese hospitality and Art-deco design, careful attention is paid to the most important elements of your stay to ensure each visit leaves you feeling better than when you arrived. 434 Comfortable guest rooms and suites are appointed in timeless Art Deco architectural design and sumptuous bedding. There are 17 distinct meeting rooms combined with the Amartapura Grand Ballroom able to graciously accommodate groups ranging from 10 to 1000. If you are staying in, we offer an abundance of delicious restaurant options in our Pakuan Cafe with its famous breakfast offerings and delectable selections of Indonesian, traditional Sundanese and International cuisines; the Sky lounge on the 19th floor offers a unique array of services to privileged guests. The Paseban Deco features refreshments and light meals with live music nightly. The lobby lounge is a favorite Bandung meeting point; and Panghegar Spa & Fitness provides custom pampering treatments. Be it for business, leisure, or combination of both, the choice is Grand Royal Panghegar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royal Panghegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing