We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santika Bandung

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santika Bandung
Ranked #57 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel met expectations of the rest of the Santika chain. The bathrooms were a bit tired (aren't they all?). Buffet breakfast was exceptional as were all we experienced in Java and Bali. Not the greatest location (unless you want to be stuck next to a shopping mall that had a distinctive North American array of shops but with an Asian flavour)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    75
    46
    6
    2
See reviews for
60
18
3
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, near San Francisco
Level Contributor
127 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Ah.......if only we were shoppers.......which we are not. Yes, there is a huge mall directly across the street. On a Tuesday evening in late May it was absolutely packed with Indonesian families and merchandise overflowing everywhere. We couldn't wait to leave, but others in our group had a great time poking around and grabbing a bite of dinner.

As for the hotel itself, the lobby area is very small, as is the dining area. Breakfast was acceptable, but the croissants were awful. Our room, #362, was similar in amenities to the one we had at the sister property in Jakarta, but smaller. It had the back-of-the-hotel view, so no street noise. However the mosque loudspeaker is right there, so expect to be awakened early. What really brought down my rating of this hotel was the bathroom. It was really shopworn with terrible lighting and a shower head that didn't stay straight in its holder.

On the "plus" side was the wonderful staff. Helpful in every possible way.

If you are feeling VERY brave and adventurous, there is a huge, clean grocery store across the very busy main street in front of the hotel. We picked up ingredients for supper in our room, and had a great time looking at the unusual Javanese specialties and also people watching. There is no sign outside leading you to the grocery store. So - go out of the main entrance to the hotel, and turn right. Walk down a block to the very busy many-sided corner and hope for a break in the traffic to scoot across. Then continue straight down that side street and up the first escalator on the left to the store entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our experience at Santika Bandung during our 5 nights stay here was comfortable and value for money too. The hotel’s location is ideal for tourists. Our check in was hassle free. The receptionist was one polite, courteous person. The staff members were very polite too. They shifted our luggage to our room without any hassles. Throughout our stay, they checked on us whether our stay was comfortable or not and whether we needed anything else. The room was wide and spacious. The décor was tasteful and the ambiance was great. The view from our room was lovely as we could see the pool. The hotel’s pool had sparkling, clean water. The area around it was a great hangout zone and we made some friends with the rest of the hotel guests that arrived there. The hotel gym was great. The equipments and the whole gym were well maintained. The breakfast was served buffet style and was a lavish display of delicious dishes. I particularly enjoyed the massages that I got during my stay. I had one at the spa with the polite staff there who seemed well trained and the other massage I got in the room as they had this policy of sending their massage staff to your room, if requested. Apart from that, the hotel location was ideal for trips to Starbucks which was close by along with BIP Plaza and Pasar Baru too. Enjoy your stay at Santika :D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dieter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I love Bandung...and Santika Hotel is one of my fave hotels while staying in the city.

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. even when we deposited our bikes, it was easy and no hustle.

The pool is nice, my kids love it..not too big, but spacious enough. Breakfast is super...lots of choices and delicious. From Indonesian traditional food, including Sundanese cuise (soo yummy), to western-style food. They even have 4 choices of porridges (chicken, beef, seafood and vegetables). Their a la carte menu is also good, yummy and affordable..Like big portion of cruncy French fries for only RP 26.000,- (USD 2.5) nett and fresh juice for Rp 27.000,- (USD 2.5) nett

The location is also great, walking distance to the Factory Outlets (particularly Riau area, where you can find Secrets, Heritage, Rich and Famous, and many other famous outlets), eateries, and old part of Bandung, including Gedung Sate and Braga.

I even walked to Dago area, where you can find more outlets (like DSE) and cool restaurants (the peak, valley, kambing soon). Braga is around 15 minutes by car (with traffic).

I got the room for around Rp 900.00,- during weekends...it can be cheaper during weekdays I guess.

So, all in all, a nice experience indeed...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IndahNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013


Pros:
- Great location in city centre. Walking distance to BIP mall and Dago (where it comes alive every Sat night). Lots of places to eat around hotel.
- Rooms newly renovated, quite clean & reasonable size.
- Breakfast spread are reasonably standard (eggs, toast, porridge, fried rice, etc)
- Friendly service from staff
- Reasonable rate (compared to Hyatt and Holiday Inn in same area which cost a lot more & not worth that extra money)

Cons:
- Traffic noises affect rooms facing streetside
- Hotel taxi don't use meters + rude driver will overcharge you (tip: try to get Bluebird taxi, they always use meters, have more courteous & honest drivers). Try to walk a few metres from hotel as Bluebird taxis are not allowed there.
- Limited basement parking area if you are driving (which gets full easily & by then you must park on streetside outside hotel)
- Hotel still feel a bit old despite recent renovations

Summary:
Good value 3/4 star hotel in central location, closeby to shopping outlets & eateries, with newly renovated rooms & friendly service. Now if only they allow Bluebird to operate there, it will mean better taxi service for guests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotenchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is among the first facilities operated by the Santika hotel management chain.

This hotel is well situated in the heart of Bandung business and leisure destinations.

Staffs are great and helpful. As with the Santika signature are the wide selection of local food for breakfast

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MegaNainggolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

As you can read through all the previous review here, i would say most of it are true and remain the same-in a positive way. meanwhile, from my own experience.

I love...

-their services-top notch (esp they dont even ask for tips when they helped me a lot to kept and delivering my things to the room many times everyday ) ,

-soft spoken people all over the place, politeness at it best.

-gym and pool was ok even most of the time theres no one there use the facilities, feels like a king when im the only one used the facilities at the time -i guess shopping is the main priorities to others. lol.

-Food-Buffet Breakfast. Although ive read a review here,before i decided to stay,most of the review complaining about the food being served. i would say that its beyond my expectation. The food served is GREAT (to my asian taste). I guess it bcos they served mainly indonesian dish; which may not suit with most westerners.

-Massage - although they provide spa and massage service-sadly need to use my own room-they send their people to the room. Massage was good tho..

-Check-in Check Out- Silky Smooth!

-Transportation- Im not sure about the airport pickup to the hotel ,since i took the cab there, cost around IDR 50,000 . But to my SUPRISE, on our departure back to Malaysia, they provide us with FREE airport transfer (from hotel to airport) since we have to check-out very early, our flight was at 8am in d morning. Awesome .

-Nearby attraction
- BIP Plaza, 1 minute walk! shopping mall completed with everythig, McD,Starbuck, good Indo restaurant as well, etc etc
- FO within 5-10 minutes walk (or 1 minute with angkut )
- Pasar Baru 15 minutes with cab/angkut

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arjuna_Angkasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.1 mi away
Aryaduta Bandung
Aryaduta Bandung
#16 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amaroossa Bandung
Amaroossa Bandung
#46 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
#35 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Serela Merdeka
Serela Merdeka
#51 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Luxton Bandung
The Luxton Bandung
#45 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santika Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santika Bandung

Property: Hotel Santika Bandung
Address: Jl. Sumatera No. 52-54, Bandung 40115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Santika Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Santika Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing