We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb food and outstanding service”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 1,765 Restaurants in Bandung
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Simply superb food and outstanding service”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were in Indonesia taking a barista course from Illy university and the manager recommended us this restaurant. We were pleasantly surprised to find affordably-priced wine (by Indonesian standards, meaning the Chateau St-Jean Pinot Noir is priced around 75$, which is much better than the $120 we normally see for that same wine in other restaurants). We settled for a Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon and decided to order the first steaks we had in our 3 weeks in Indonesia (again, about haft the price of other places for very high quality Australian tenderloin).
The meat was cooked to perfection (one rare and one medium-rare), which alone is quite impressive, it was juicy and tender with an amazing choice of sauce. The Porto secret sauce is to die for, and the waiters kept an eye on our plates to bring some more when needed.
The staff was attentive and caring, frankly the service was outstanding.
The chef came to our table and to our surprise spoke French with us since he was trained in Toulouse. He sent us complimentary dessert ice cream that he made right in front of us. A superb experience in a lovely terrace setting - not to be missed if you are in Bandung!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noctanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tea Perfume Making Attraction”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

You will be amaze with the tea perfume making attraction. It is not literally perfume, but a tea with a fruit or flower syrup. The bartender will show you the making of the tea in front of your table. Nice and weird taste but its good. Great place to hang out and come at noon for best restaurant view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank santicahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

i was very impressed the way they arranged and cooked the food, it was fantastic, the Beef Fondue Steak was superb, Napoleon Fish was good. Manager Irpan was very kind and gave us a slice of cake to try, it was covered with caramel and nuts , anyway the food, service, surroundings was best..Will come back again. Wishing everyone a Happy New Year 2014 and all the best, especially Mr Irpan..Thank you once again and God bless all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grace t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“east european cuisine”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Port tries their best to be different. Knowns for east european cuisine. I must admit, this dine spot is excellent. We stop by close to lunch time. They have outdoor area for smoker, but we choose indoor. Every 2 months, they rotate their specialties. On this january, they serve Czech cuisine that are varies from snapper, salmon, baramundy, duck and chicken.

Our daughter attracted to their rainbow cake which is soft, not too sweet but right. My wife choose Fish Fondue which is snapper served with wedges and variety of balsamic oil. While I decide Cuban Baramundy with mashed potato. And we glad all of them are satisfied us.

The atmosphere is nice, its merely like you are visiting grandma's house in the outer area. They're renovating old house. Its a colonial house that are widely spread in Bandung area. If you

If you are expat from western. This spot might not perfect, but It can be close for you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I love the steak with 4 sauces (sorry, can't recall the name) - two of the sauces were especially delish (mushroom cheese and blackpepper sauce) and the other two were OK. The steak came with fresh sauteed vegetable and french fries. Originally wanted to order cheese fries (again, forgot what it's called) but they didn't have it anymore :(
My order of Belgian Nachos is not as pleasant, though. it was very salty and I think I'll stick to mexican nachos lol..didn't like this one at all.
We also ordered niji cheesecake (the rainbow cheesecake) which was delish, every layer has its own taste. yum.
The atmosphere was very nice and lovely, comfy and fancy. I love. Sometimes it's difficult to call the waiter from where we were seated, but most times the waiters were attentive and quick to serve. Will be back to try other food - their food and dessert and beverage selections are intriguing (unlike other restaurants - just different). I wish they'd open a branch in Jakarta *wink to owner*.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing