We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great appetizers & dessert, horrible mains, terrible drinks”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 1,921 Restaurants in Bandung
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Porto serves its menus in a very appealing presentation. They look very neat and beautifully done, but the sizes are small and the taste are not of prime quality.

I've eaten here four times. And all of those I went for the atmosphere and coziness instead of the food. Porto is plagued with a weakness that most hip places in Bandung has; it serves the appetizers and desserts much better and more seriously that its main menus. While the soups and salad are great, the steaks, pasta, and patties are not something I would recommend. They either not tasty, not distinctive to regular meat you can find anywhere else, or too small.

The drinks are bad as well. I've ordered so many varieties of drinks and almost none of them satisfies me. It's like they just mix various ingredients up without knowing if it'll work out well.

Go here for the ambiance. Go here for its homey atmosphere for a casual chat over brunch. But not for serious lunch or dinner.

3  Thank MPandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965DaisyG, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Mr. MPandu,
Thank you for your visitation to our restaurant last year. We are glad to hear your feedback regarding our restaurant., and we are happy to know that you are satisfied with our food presentation. We are noted for the food quality that is not meet your expectation, hence we would try to work together with the kitchen team to improve the taste and the quality. Please let our waiter/waitress know on the spot if the taste of our food hasn't meet your expectation for your next visitation. Our kitchen team will improve the taste up to your satisfaction.

We are glad to know that our dessert, soups, and salads fit your taste well. However, we also noted well that regarding the mixture ingredients drinks at our restaurant doesn't really fit your taste. We will work on it for better mixture in the future. Thank you for the feedback, it will always be our lesson to solve the matter in near future.

On behalf of PORTO restaurant, I would like to thank you and we are looking forward to welcome you again to our restaurant. Should you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience. Email: porto.restaurant@yahoo.co.id, phone: +62 22 2041993

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Porto is clean and cozy. The waiter (I didn't ask his name) was polite and helpful. The food is excellent ( taste and plating). Portion is adequate. I like the atmosphere. The toilet is unique!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965DaisyG, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Christine H,

We'd like to thank you for the great review you have submitted for us.
We hope to serve you better and create another culinary adventure for you and your family.
We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Porto Restaurant Bandung Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

worth dining for eat steak in bandung.Porto menus like fondue steak and napoleon fish. I think the best in bandung

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank robiyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965DaisyG, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Robiyanto,
On behalf of PORTO Restaurant team, we would like to deeply thank you for your recent visitation at PORTO. We are really glad to know that you are satisfied with our beef fondue steak and Napoleon Fish. Our kitchen staff would be very happy to hear the positive review from you. PORTO Executive Chef Lowell, Restaurant Manager Mr. Pirmansyah, and all PORTO FORESTA team member are looking forward to serve you again in next future.

Should you require any further assistance , please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenient. Email: porto.restaurant@yahoo.co.id, phone: +62 22 2041993

Kind Regards,
Theresia Sonny
PORTO FORESTA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

love the food here..esp the organic burger.it is a must try! :) i've tried all 3 and it is all good :) service and the food presentation both excellent ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank syazwaniali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965DaisyG, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Syazwaniali,

Thank you so much for your recent visitation at PORTO restaurant. We are very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our organic burger. I have passed your comment to our chef as well the food developer. We are also very happy to know that our food presentation and service could meet your expectation. We are welcoming to serve you again in near future.

Should you require any further assistance , please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenient. Email: porto.restaurant@yahoo.co.id, phone: +62 22 2041993

Kind Regards,
Theresia Sonny
PORTO FORESTA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The chef recommended us a smoked steak. I never had it before but I was in the mood for a new experience.
It was a superb steak, soft smooth and very tastie and least of all powerfull.
My wife had a fish fondue, also very good and excellent served.
If you visit Bandung and you are looking for a nice restaurant with good steaks, you should visit Porto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
965DaisyG, Manager at Porto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Oak,

Thank you for you kind feedback regarding PORTO Restaurant. Your opinion is a great value to our restaurant for our refference in the future. We would appreciate your positive feedback and looking forward to serve you again. We are more than happy to welcome you to PORTO restaurant and would like to give you another good experience by providing you finest food with the finest service.

Should you need any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience. Email: porto.restaurant@yahoo.co.id, phone: +62 22 2041993

Kind Regards,
Theresia Sonny
PORTO FORESTA Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

 
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing