We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Papandayan Hotel experience”
Review of The Papandayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Papandayan
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2007

me and my friends stayed for 2 days in this hotel during our last visit to Bandung. The hotel is in dire needs for renovations. The bed was quite old and not comfy enough. The hotel personnels were very helpful to us.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Maverick69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papandayan88, Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and send in your review to TA. We are so happy to let you know that we have just come out of an 18 month renovation and we hope you will give us a try on your next visit to Bandung. In the meantime, please see what our new current guests are saying about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for The Papandayan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 471 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2007

The lobby looks ok, but the rooms are in need of major renovation.

When I checked in, the non-smoking rooms are all sold out thus I had to settle for smoking rooms. I must say that the smoke smell is very intense. After I complained, they sent housekeeping to spray perfume all over the place. This solved the problem for some time, then I had to call again to had the room sprayed again.

The bedsheets had some small holes already, and are still in use anyway. The pillows and mattress are not that bad, but not nice either.

There were no slippers, no bathrobes, etc. Even no available plug for mobile phone/notebook chargers. Had to unplug the floor lamp to plug in my charger. The electrical outlet was broken too.

The bathroom wasn't nice either (looks old), and wasn't quite ergonomically designed (for example: the clothes hook was really at the top of the door which made it hard to reach).

The TV is old, and the furnitures are old and rather not well maintained. Even the hotel directory wasn't well maintained as it fell apart right when I opened it.

The hotel claimed to be a 4-stars hotel, but I think it's closer to a 3-stars hotel.

Clearly, the hotel is in a major need of renovation.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papandayan88, Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to send in your review.....we certainly agreed with your observations in 2007 and we recently just reopened completely renovated after 18 months.
Please come check us out and see what our new guest are saying about us! If you contact me personally at gm@thepapandayan.com we will be more than please to provide you with a special return guest amenity in your room upon arrival. Kind regards,
Richard Mau - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2005

The lobby looks nice but the hotel rooms are in need of big renovation. For a USD50/night hotel in Bandung, this is not worth to live, rather pay more a little bit and stay in better hotels. Bandung hotels are always crowded on weekends due to the visit from Jakarta people. And apparently these hotels never bother to take care of the hotels. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicholasdamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papandayan88, Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and send in your review to TA. We are so happy to let you know that we have just come out of an 18 month renovation and we hope you will give us a try on your next visit to Bandung. In the meantime, please see what our new current guests are saying about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2005

We were on a tour on Java, when we stopped for 2 nights in Bandung. We did not choose the hotel, which had been arranged by the tour operator, and our driver got us there safely.
The town is typical indonesian, with a lot of businesses around, but not especially touristy. It is crowded and busy. The hotel is at most 3 stars, according to european standards. Nothing fancy really, but the way it should be. The lobby and outside ramps are a bit overstating ; marble is used extensively.
The rooms are a bit of a disappointment. They are not small, not new but well kept,and very clean. You would expect better towels and toiletries.
Restaurant is not bad, and serves indonesian food only. We rerasonably enjoyed it, but had dinner at the Hyatt Regency the other night, for a change. No al-fresco option. Good buffet breakfast selection, but there again, nothing to die for. Great service, very helpful.
They have a large swimming pool, nice and well attended. The only minus is that there is so much pollution (car exhausts), that the floor is very, very dark. I would not even consider walking barefoot.
Rates are very, very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papandayan88, Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write and send in your review to TA. We are so happy to let you know that we have just come out of an 18 month renovation and we hope you will give us a try on your next visit to Bandung. In the meantime, please see what our new current guests are saying about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pilih kamar dengan view Kota Bandung saat melihat keluar jendela
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlviJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby R, General Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank NtiMuchtar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby R, General Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com
Thank WilliamAdiNata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#9 of 230 in Bandung
1,415 reviews
5.3 mi away
GH Universal Hotel
GH Universal Hotel
#1 of 230 in Bandung
1,387 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
4.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 230 in Bandung
1,783 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Papandayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Papandayan

Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bandung
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#6 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#18 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range: $72 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Papandayan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most elegant, luxurious 5-star hotel, The Papandayan unveils the art of hospitality, committed to delivering the promise in every moment of every stay where impeccable staff prides themselves in exceeding your every expectations. Centrally located in the most strategic location of the thriving business hub of Jl Gatot Subroto 83, it is set away from the congested one way thoroughfares, offering many avenues of accessibility to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Papandayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Papandayan Hotel Bandung
Papandayan Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing