We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Italian restaurant, but still has room for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Papandayan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Papandayan
Ranked #14 of 223 Hotels in Bandung
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant, but still has room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Based on a friend's recommendation, I took two friends to dine at the Casa Cantigi restaurant in the Papandayan hotel. We arrived at around 8.00 p.m. and were somewhat surprised that there were no other guests; in fact, we remained the only diners throughout the evening. The ambience is very classy without being over the top. Service was very friendly and attentive. We liked the extensive wine list and went for a Bardolino, which was excellent. Unfortunately, the menu lacks any prosciutto, salume (even bresaola), which would make excellent starters. Definitely a shortcoming. We settled for minestrone. Recalling our friend's recommendation (who had particularly pointed out the pasta on offer), all three of us chose pasta dishes as main courses, and I can say that they were delighted with our respective choices. The dessert menu includes some wonderful favourites. I went for the tiramisù which was great in its texture, but it tasted devoid of any Marsala (or, indeed, any other liquor), which also marks it down. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for its pasta, but would welcome a somewhat better choice of cold starters in the form of cured meats. And a bit of a kick in the tiramisù.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    141
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
134
51
18
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a hotel that not only gives its best to accommodate you, it also delivers such great service from the word go! The team behind this wonderful hotel headed by its GM Mr Richard Mau must have put in a lot of thought and effort to ensure that each guest is attended to promptly coupled with a tinge of human touch that goes a long..... way for travellers whom are away from home.

The hotel staff were more than courteous and efficient during our short retreat in Bandung.


The Premier room was spacious with a bathroom to match.My children thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool which was truly inviting even with the likes of me who is not a water person!

Everything about this hotel exudes warmth with a first class service!

Kudos to The Papandayan!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stay one night during Hari Raya holiday at premier room. The room is spacious and well maintained. Our bed is king size bed and it's big king bed. The bathroom is also modern and well laid out. Breakfast is one of the best among many hotels I've ever stayed in Bandung. We definitely want to stay again when we visited Bandung again. One minor is the twin bed is very small and we asked for change and the hotel quickly move us to king size room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Room was spacious and modern. Stayed for 3 days. Location wise was good although not close to Factory Outlets. Service was commendable and friendly. All in all a fine hotel befitting its 5 star status.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pyan ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stay 3 night for some training session.

Room is very good and convenience.
Food taste good and have enough variety.
Hotel amenities is complete with number of choice of coffee and tea pack.

Overall Service is good.

Just Little thing about complimentary soda drink at meeting room, it's should be better if the expires date not within 1 week again. :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin_adjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Glad I made the choice to stay at the Papandayan Hotel in Bandung on my recent holiday trip with my family. I found the hotel team members extremely helpful and was always eager to explore ways to create memorable experience for my family during our stay there. We thoroughly enjoyed the great breakfast & dinner buffet spread at the Pago restaurant. The restaurant even serves sashimi & waffles with ice creams!! The Superior Suite was spacious and comfortable ...great for family and there was a nice workstation for me too :-) One of the front desk concierge team member (Sakti Imansyah) was extremely helpful with his advice of local attractions and helped us with all our travel arrangements. Glad to have met the GM of the Hotel during this visit Mr Richard Mau and I must certainly congratulate him and his team for making our stay Amazing and Memorable!

Room Tip: If you need a spacious room with a good workstation, consider the Superior Suite which has a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLTrailBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is nice, swimming pool is good and the garden is large. The breakfast menu is various. Hotel lobby is large and comfortable for big groups. Hotel amnities is complete with number of choice of coffee and tea pack. The thing I don't like if come to Bandung in weekend, the traffic jam is terrible
and the hotel is far from the shopping center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENNY0768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
4.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 223 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#6 of 223 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
#8 of 223 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bandung
Crowne Plaza Bandung
#18 of 223 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Papandayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Papandayan

Property: The Papandayan
Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bandung
#9 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Papandayan 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most elegant, luxurious 5-star hotel, The Papandayan unveils the art of hospitality, committed to delivering the promise in every moment of every stay where impeccable staff prides themselves in exceeding your every expectations. Centrally located in the most strategic location of the thriving business hub of Jl Gatot Subroto 83, it is set away from the congested one way thoroughfares, offering many avenues of accessibility to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your The Papandayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Papandayan Hotel Bandung
Papandayan Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing