We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service level but noisy rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Papandayan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Papandayan
Ranked #13 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service level but noisy rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed in the Papandayan for a week during business trip. The atmosphere and level of service in this hotel are exellent. My leaking aircon was solved within 30 minutes with a lot of "sorry sir" and I was offered an other room. Food and entertainment are high quality.

Annoying however was the noise that the service elevator engine radiates troughtout the whole structure of the building. On the 5th floor near to the elevators it is really disturbing. The lift runs day and night and really kept me awake. Time for some isolation buffering of the elevator engine maybe?

Room Tip: Dont choos the chambers on the top floor close to the elevaters due to the noisy service elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 335FlyingDutchman_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papandayan88, General Manager at The Papandayan, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your fair, accurate and most positive review. We really appreciate your feed back and after just reopening in April after a long renovation, the last item to be changed is our elevators. We are please to let you, all of our past and future guests know that by late December both elevators will be changed (as we are in the process of changing one now). Please let me know if and when you plan on returning to Bandung as I look forward to meeting you personally at gm@thepapandayan.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    151
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
147
56
19
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Your arrive in Bandung from a long journey and know that a point of relaxation is due. I cannot express how soothing my stay was at Papandayan, the moment I arrived the people and smiles were a greeting to remember. My checkin was without effort, my room was roomy, clean & the bed was a cloud for my dreams(comfortable). The room decor was very nice, modern an Indonesia touch with a future look.

Being a active person, the next day I decide to look around and try the hotel facilities. The pool to nowhere (infinity as it's called) was perfect, clean, relaxing along with great poolside service. The health fitness center has everything you need if your into a daily workout, but I chose the Spa and found the harmony and staff knowledgeable and on their game, getting my muscles & mind back in order.

I was quite taken by how the staff seem to be train to be specific to your needs both in the restaurants & general hotel needs from room service to housekeeping. While I could go on about a few other items, I must say that I am not one for Artwork in hotels...but Payandayan hotel has some excellent pieces, like a tasteful modern museum without the stuffy feel.

My complements to the General Manager & staff for this fine gem in the Indonesia world.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaye c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Was impressed with the fresh new facilities at the Papandayan but what really dazzled me was the service ... it was amazing. Hotel was completely staffed up and ready for anything I needed. Staff were well trained and friendly. They really went out of their way to make sure I enjoyed my visit. Great value for the money too ... will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

at first i saw the hotel lobby, never thought the facilities and the hospitality inside would exceed my expectations. me and my mom were arrive at the hotel at night, and surprisingly one of the staff offered us to drive around. the facilities was also very nice, they have gym, nice open air swimming pool, even the waterfall and a cozy place to sit. we were stay at the 5th executive floor, they have an executive buffet there with a homey living room which made us very lazy to get of. staying at The Papandayan was an amazing experience for me and my mom. we are very excited to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Spending 2nights and 3 days at The Papandayan is marvelous. Not only all of the staff are well trained on how to deliver the service, but The room, the living room at executive floor at 5th, is just like a home. Every time I spend time in Bandung is always at Factory Outlet, but this The Papandayan makes me stay at 'home' ! Very nice!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

From a sleepy mountaintown retreat to a comfortably luxurious getaway. Hotel Papandayan is now a viable option to Bali and other weekend resorts for overstressed Jakarta residents. The renovations done are high quality yet homey. Upgrades to rooms and facilities are nicely done. Recommend this to anyone seeking five-star treatment that's affordable and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mister m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

As Bandung people, we know Papandayan hotel since forever. We knew it as a great five stars hotels, where a fancy wedding being held. But never have a chance to stay there, as our house also in Bandung. Years back, we recognized that this hotel's quality decreased, looked old and quiet. But then we heard it was renovated and became posh and shiny again.

So last week, we have a chance to stay there for two nights, checked in on Saturday and out on Monday morning. Me, my husband and our 6 yo boy. We get this 2 classic rooms, with connecting door and a livingroom. When we arrived, there was a refreshments (peanut, cookies, date, fruits) on the table. The room are spacious, comfy couch, LCD tvs, and bathroom are so clean. There was either a shower and a bathtub in the bathroom. I like the shower room, it just felt right from the floor, soap, large showerhead (feels like shower in the rain, hehe), faucet and water. And my boy, was very happily taking a bath (and playing, of course), without we were worry for his safety (the bathroom has a window to bedroom).

Breakfast and dinner buffet was other happy things. We experienced one time breakfast at executive lounge, dinner buffet at restaurant and rooming service dinner. Breakfast buffet offered various meal from indonesian, asian to western food. I love the sushi and sashimi. Dinner was also great, there are various food but mostly asian food, the soup was so yummy. Room service also great, the waitress came to our room for taking order, we order caesar salad, oxtail soup and pasta, there were still hot when came to our room.

The pool was nice. We spend our sunday morning for swimming. It's not olympic size pool, but the atmosphere was so relaxing. Many kids enjoy the pool also, make our son happy.

Location, it is on the gatot subroto street, should take Buah Batu exit from outer ring road toll, about 3 km to Riau (the heart of Bandung factory outlet). The main attraction in this area is Trans Studio Bandung and Bandung Super Mall, just about 500 meter from hotel. Trans studio is the biggest indoor theme park in the region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitaYuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
5.1 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
#8 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#6 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
4.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
0.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
5.3 mi away
GH Universal Hotel
GH Universal Hotel
#3 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Papandayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Papandayan

Property: The Papandayan
Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto 83, Bandung 40262, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bandung
#8 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#18 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Papandayan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most elegant, luxurious 5-star hotel, The Papandayan unveils the art of hospitality, committed to delivering the promise in every moment of every stay where impeccable staff prides themselves in exceeding your every expectations. Centrally located in the most strategic location of the thriving business hub of Jl Gatot Subroto 83, it is set away from the congested one way thoroughfares, offering many avenues of accessibility to the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Papandayan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Papandayan Hotel Bandung
Papandayan Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing