We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel combines history with a modern flair” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prama Grand Preanger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prama Grand Preanger
Ranked #27 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This hotel combines history with a modern flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I recently had the chance to travel to Bandung West Java and stay at the Grand Hotel Preanger.Centrally located this great hotel is a mix of Art-Deco from the 1920's to modern rooms and suites with Sundanese touches.The Hotel has all the things you would expect from a great resort including a Large outdoor pool, well equipped gym, sauna and spa facilities. I Loved the Museum attached to the hotel which featured photos and articles from the 1920's including Letters and info on famous clients who stayed at the Hotel such as Charlie Chaplin and Amelia Earhart. We had a lot of fun in the Night Club that had a great atmosphere and a good band playing. Best of all the Staff at the hotel could not do enough for me . Nothing was too much trouble.Although I have been travelling to Indonesia for over 30 years this was my first trip to West Java and I was really suprised at what a lovely city Bandung was.So much to see and do including a visit to a live Volcano and the Hot Springs at the Sari Ater Hotel and the best outlet shopping in Indonesia. I would recommend a visit and a stay of at least 3 or 4 nights to get a feel for the city and the countryside. I look forward to returning soon. Sandy Brasier Harvey World Mt Waverley

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr.Harveyworld


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially for our propertys like Art deco design, Nice pool, gym and sauna.

yes, we are agree the hotel location is at central city of Bandung, close to tourism attractions, factory outlet, Shopping center and museum.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    211
    77
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
82
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Excellent Service!!! It's a nice hotel and located in historical area in Bandung. I was upgraded to executive and suite rooms, which is big, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the staffs also very helpful.
A right choice to stay in the heart of Bandung City.... Definitely will be back again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mrs.Yona M


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write and shared your experience through TripAdvisor during you stay at our hotel.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially for our properties and services like Excellent Service from our staff It's a nice hotel and located in historical area in Bandung. big rooms , Cleanliness and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the staffs also very helpful.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Being the oldest in Bandung, the warmth of a"mother's" bosom could be felt once inside. Staffs are well trained and super courteous. Breakfast is fantastic with the addition of traditional "jamu gendong" ( Javanese herbal drink). Taxi service at click of fingers by ever trying to please and smiling staffs. Feels like service one gets in A real top notch establishment.
Definitely will be back for another visit of relaxation from hustle and bustle of home.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aden A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr.Aden A


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially our staffs, Staffs are well trained and super courteous, fantastic break fast, I shared your kind comments to Our staff , who one friendly and helpfull, I,m sure they will be very happy to hear your compliment.

Thanks also for good comment regarding our hotel as a your expectation :excellent service from all of staff, and thanks also for your recommend to our hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has change with upgraded hospitality. This hotel represent old building that has already renovated with modern style. All the employees are friendly and caring. The room are wide and comfortable and has "bolster" in everyroom. Staying in this hotel feels like

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Parlindungan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mr.Parlindungan M.

Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially for all of our Staff is very accommodative and friendly,

All Employees are friendly and caring, i shared to all team members, thanks a lot.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A pretty hotel with carvings and soaring columns, but definitely a little worse for wear and dated. Writing desk did not have a power socket, which is a bit unimaginable in this day and age. Staff were helpful, and there was free wifi throughout the hotel. Spa was adequate and staff cheerful, but it's not that well maintained (I wouldn't use the bath in the spa. Just saying.)
Good for a few days stay and visiting Bandung, but it's not the Four Seasons. (Then again, it doesn't charge Four Seasons prices, so you get what you pay for.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMI_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, Front Office Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Mrs.SarahMI_2012


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially our staffs,.Staff were helpful, and there was free wifi throughout the hotel. Spa was adequate and staff cheerful, I shared your kind comments to Our staff , and who one friendly and helpfull, I,m sure they will be very happy to hear your compliment.

However, Writing desk did not have a power socket, we are apologize it.s not your expectation, actually power socket available at under writing desk with three plug, behind of coffee maker, and at the bath room. for the future we will provide all of the room with power socket .

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the middle of Bandung. Situated near Pasar Baru area. Shopping and nightlife all within walking distance. Staff is very accommodative and friendly. Breakfast spread is lavish and suitable for all dietary needs. Rooms are spacious with adequate bathroom facilities. I would definitely come here again next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hakimiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mr.hakimiz


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially for all of our Staff is very accommodative and friendly, Breakfast as your expectation.

yes, we are agree the hotel location is at central city of Bandung, close to tourism attractions, factory outlet, Shopping center like Pasar Baru.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Prama grand preanger has excellent service and I highly recommend others to try staying in this hotel to experience it yourselves. The staff here such as sugeng.s is very friendly and helpful. Me and my family are looking forward to stay here again in the future. Overall I could give 5 stars

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Badrin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr.Badrin J


Warm greetings from Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share your experience through TripAdvisor.

I'm delighted to know that in overall you had enjoyed your experiences at our Hotel, which I look forward to share it to other team members who had make your stay more memorable, and especially our staffs, Sugeng . I shared your kind comments to Our staff , and Sugeng who one friendly and helpfull, I,m sure they will be very happy to hear your compliment.

Thanks also for good comment regarding our hotel as a your expectation :excellent service from all of staff, and thanks also for your recommend to our hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us and we all look forward to welcoming you back Home here at The Prama Grand Preanger Bandung,

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#31 of 225 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bandung
Crowne Plaza Bandung
#18 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Papandayan
The Papandayan
#12 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park View Hotel Bandung
Park View Hotel Bandung
#32 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaroossa Bandung
Amaroossa Bandung
#45 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Grand Preanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Grand Preanger

Property: Prama Grand Preanger
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika 81, Bandung 40111, Indonesia (Formerly Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger)
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#12 Family Hotel in Bandung
#16 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#16 Business Hotel in Bandung
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Grand Preanger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prama Grand Preanger Bandung opened in 1920 and now this hotel combines colonial elegance with modern facilities and luxurious hotels . The hotel is centrally located and close to many interesting locations , shopping centers , business district in London which is the third largest city in Indonesia . The hotel is owned and inspired by Aerowisata International , which is one of the pillars of the tourism and hospitality industry in Indonesia . Guests can relax and comfortable with the high standards of services and facilities available , ranging from rooms and suites to a wide selection of local and international meals are served at the three restaurants located in the hotel . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung also has business facilities and extensive conference , making it the right choice for seminars and corporate meetings . There is a choice of nine meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 900 guests . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung is The first 5 start hotel in West Java since 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Prama Grand Preanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing