We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass This One”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prama Grand Preanger
Ranked #27 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Pass This One”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Currently under renovation, a dated hotel with old rooms. If staying near Jalan Asia Afrika is all you care about, stay in Savoy Homman instead of Grand Hotel Preanger.

They provide thin blanket, with even more chilly air-conditioner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear applecart3355

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    221
    81
    20
    9
See reviews for
167
88
17
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

A nice hotel in a good location. We had to switch rooms because the first one smelled strongly of smoke, though the staff tried to tell us it was a non-smoking room. But after we insisted that it was smoky we were given a new room on the "non-smoking" floor.
Unfortunately we could not get a single queen size bed, but we're given two twin size beds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noveez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear noveez

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

If you using 'promo', only expensive one that still available

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvasierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest Value

Warm greeting from Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung

Thank you for taking the time to write and give us your valuable feedback and thanks for posting in TripAdvisor ,
I have shared your kind comments to all departement concern who were equally delighted to hear them
On behalf of all staff here, I look forward to welcoming you back and to enjoy another wonderful experience with us .

We look forward you return to us with others facility and services.


Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here for many times for different occasions. One of the most reliable hotel in Bandung. Professional and easy to communicate with the staff, luxurious rooms and good price. Its an old hotel so I encourage them to renovate without changing the nostalgic feels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest Value

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Grand Preanger has the potential to be the top hotel in Bandung. Unfortunately, it does not live up to this. There are two main reasons: First, the service is awfull. Table cloths are not refreshed after lunch nor after dinner, ordering food is a painstakingly slow process, staff refuses to offer compensation for indicated agrievements, etcetera. Second, the rooms on the streetside are so noisy, that it seems you are sleeping on the street. Even with earplugs it is hard to find some rest here! Yet, the rooms are spacious and feature the best shower you will get on Java.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C00lJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest Value

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I and my family stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.. we always come here.. the service is always good, the location is really strategic, just a few minutes walk to braga, and situated in the business district of bandung and legendary asia-africa conference building back in history time.
surrounded by old and well maintained colonial buildings. the environment is surprisingly quiet, although located in a business district.. the room is spacious and i think has been renovated. cheap local foods are a lot nearby, on the pedestrian on the side of the hotel.
unfortunately, the spa is too old, and the fitness and the locker really needs a makeover.. the pool was ok and the hotel food is good.
we always stay here..
we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolmodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest value

Warm Greetings from Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung !

I am pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and that we contributed, to making your experience at Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung and memorable one.

Thank you for good comment and posting in TripAdvisor, thanks also for your comment regarding Excellent hotel,

I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung in the near future.

With best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Internet, like towels, isn't a luxury. We rely on it to plan our trip with sites like TripAdvisor. This hotel advertises with free wifi. As that was totally useless, I paid 50.000 rupiah for 1 hour of "fast access". It needed several minutes to load Google's home page after several failed attempts that timed out. I gave up on loading mail headers only because it was too slow. The network cable on our room wasn't even connected. As a nice touch: it was the first hotel that used a PIN for our credit card so technology was not an issue. And no, after complaining they did not refund the 50.000 rupiah which would buy you a nice dinner for two in Bandung.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UserID0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest value,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, hair dryer we provide already every room ,we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services also we have free of charge internet services with high speed technology.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#28 of 231 in Bandung
531 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Papandayan
The Papandayan
#10 of 231 in Bandung
460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aryaduta Bandung
Aryaduta Bandung
#19 of 231 in Bandung
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aston Braga Hotel & Residence
0.5 mi away
Golden Flower
Golden Flower
#34 of 231 in Bandung
809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
Ibis Styles Bandung Braga
#31 of 231 in Bandung
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Grand Preanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Grand Preanger

Property: Prama Grand Preanger
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika 81, Bandung 40111, Indonesia (Formerly Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger)
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#12 Family Hotel in Bandung
#16 Business Hotel in Bandung
#16 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Grand Preanger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prama Grand Preanger Bandung opened in 1920 and now this hotel combines colonial elegance with modern facilities and luxurious hotels . The hotel is centrally located and close to many interesting locations , shopping centers , business district in London which is the third largest city in Indonesia . The hotel is owned and inspired by Aerowisata International , which is one of the pillars of the tourism and hospitality industry in Indonesia . Guests can relax and comfortable with the high standards of services and facilities available , ranging from rooms and suites to a wide selection of local and international meals are served at the three restaurants located in the hotel . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung also has business facilities and extensive conference , making it the right choice for seminars and corporate meetings . There is a choice of nine meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 900 guests . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung is The first 5 start hotel in West Java since 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prama Grand Preanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing