We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhelpful staff and much street noise” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prama Grand Preanger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Prama Grand Preanger
Ranked #27 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unhelpful staff and much street noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Grand Preanger has the potential to be the top hotel in Bandung. Unfortunately, it does not live up to this. There are two main reasons: First, the service is awfull. Table cloths are not refreshed after lunch nor after dinner, ordering food is a painstakingly slow process, staff refuses to offer compensation for indicated agrievements, etcetera. Second, the rooms on the streetside are so noisy, that it seems you are sleeping on the street. Even with earplugs it is hard to find some rest here! Yet, the rooms are spacious and feature the best shower you will get on Java.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C00lJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest Value

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    211
    77
    19
    9
See reviews for
160
82
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I and my family stayed in this hotel for 3 nights.. we always come here.. the service is always good, the location is really strategic, just a few minutes walk to braga, and situated in the business district of bandung and legendary asia-africa conference building back in history time.
surrounded by old and well maintained colonial buildings. the environment is surprisingly quiet, although located in a business district.. the room is spacious and i think has been renovated. cheap local foods are a lot nearby, on the pedestrian on the side of the hotel.
unfortunately, the spa is too old, and the fitness and the locker really needs a makeover.. the pool was ok and the hotel food is good.
we always stay here..
we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolmodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest value

Warm Greetings from Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung !

I am pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and that we contributed, to making your experience at Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung and memorable one.

Thank you for good comment and posting in TripAdvisor, thanks also for your comment regarding Excellent hotel,

I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung in the near future.

With best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

Internet, like towels, isn't a luxury. We rely on it to plan our trip with sites like TripAdvisor. This hotel advertises with free wifi. As that was totally useless, I paid 50.000 rupiah for 1 hour of "fast access". It needed several minutes to load Google's home page after several failed attempts that timed out. I gave up on loading mail headers only because it was too slow. The network cable on our room wasn't even connected. As a nice touch: it was the first hotel that used a PIN for our credit card so technology was not an issue. And no, after complaining they did not refund the 50.000 rupiah which would buy you a nice dinner for two in Bandung.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UserID0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest value,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review about your experience in TripAdvisor.

With regret I've noted the inconvenience you had encountered during your stay relating to the your comment, Please accept my sincere apologies for these. I've personally shared and discussed with related department heads to fix the problem and to ensure that similar comments will not re-occur in the future.And know, we face off already especialy Brasserie Restaurant facility,Menu at Breakfast very variant , quality of room, hair dryer we provide already every room ,we has renovated .We'r back to natural services "The heritages Hotel with great services also we have free of charge internet services with high speed technology.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback,
We all look forward to welcoming you back here so that you could see the improvement of the feedback you are addressing.

Best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

For service, public area presentation and a certain old world charm this hotel has it in bucket loads. Interestingly previous comments about being a bit tired are partly true but this hotel is about to receive a massive work-over and upgrade. Firstly a whole new apartment room complex will come online in mid-2011; with that the existing premises will be given a refurb. As for my room, I was fortunate to get a smoke-free superior room booked through Agoda and service which far exceeded what I expected. Help with tours, help with dining, options and superb service nightly in their bar and lounge area adjacent to reception. Concierge, door people, reception and restaurant staff just couldn't be more helpful or charming. A totally enjoyable experience and not from previous reviews what I thought I would experience at all. I selected on price and feature set alone and was blown away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gtasoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest Value,

Warm Greetings from Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung !

I am pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and that we contributed, to making your experience at Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung and memorable one.

Thank you for good comment and posting in TripAdvisor, thanks also for your comment

I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung in the near future.

With best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and helpful at every turn. The spa very cheap and providing a free 10 minutes trial massage for all rooms. They serve a variety of foods for breakfast. At night, we just stay at the hotel because they also have karaoke n pub. On our last day trip, we have a problem with our transportation service. AirAsia Go Holiday Package cheated on us. They had promised us free transportation from hotel to airport for our journey back but no pickup. Luckily, the hotel staff had tried to help us. They made a phone call to the travel agency but they refused to provide any transportation for us. Finally, the hotel called a taxi for us and surprisingly it’s for free!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trigono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik T, General Manager at Prama Grand Preanger, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear trigono

Warm Greetings from Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung !

I am pleased to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel and that we contributed, to making your experience at Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung and memorable one.

Thank you for good comment and posting in TripAdvisor, thanks also for your comment regarding Excellent hotel, Good breakfast, free pick up service

I look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger Bandung in the near future.

With best regards,


Erik Tumbelaka
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#31 of 225 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bandung
Novotel Bandung
#20 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bandung
Crowne Plaza Bandung
#18 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Papandayan
The Papandayan
#12 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park View Hotel Bandung
Park View Hotel Bandung
#32 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amaroossa Bandung
Amaroossa Bandung
#45 of 225 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prama Grand Preanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prama Grand Preanger

Property: Prama Grand Preanger
Address: Jln. Asia Afrika 81, Bandung 40111, Indonesia (Formerly Aerowisata Grand Hotel Preanger)
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#12 Family Hotel in Bandung
#16 Business Hotel in Bandung
#16 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prama Grand Preanger 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prama Grand Preanger Bandung opened in 1920 and now this hotel combines colonial elegance with modern facilities and luxurious hotels . The hotel is centrally located and close to many interesting locations , shopping centers , business district in London which is the third largest city in Indonesia . The hotel is owned and inspired by Aerowisata International , which is one of the pillars of the tourism and hospitality industry in Indonesia . Guests can relax and comfortable with the high standards of services and facilities available , ranging from rooms and suites to a wide selection of local and international meals are served at the three restaurants located in the hotel . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung also has business facilities and extensive conference , making it the right choice for seminars and corporate meetings . There is a choice of nine meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 900 guests . Prama Grand Preanger Bandung is The first 5 start hotel in West Java since 1989. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Prama Grand Preanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing