We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued by angelic boss”
Review of The Stone Cafe

The Stone Cafe
Ranked #12 of 1,795 Restaurants in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Rescued by angelic boss”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my wife were in bandung for a short while and took a cab to stone cafe.We were greeted with pavilion that had amazing view across bandung.

The main we had ordered was nasi goreng stone & ayam bakar bali with appeitizer of zuppa zuppa & avacado fresh shrimp salad! It was a really nice meal and the amibence was perfect that night.

As we were heading back and awaiting for our taxi who was suppose to return did not, I was upset and understand from the staff we had to call for a cab till we met a concerned individual who asked about our well being and offered a ride down and to cut the story short, thanks anton and danny for the ride back to our hotel with an enriching history of indonesia and what to expect, we were not expecting such hospitality from stone cafe owner anton and his crew.

From SG; ET


  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Etanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    174
    71
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“great meal with a great view”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

not really much to dislike. but lots to like. the view for dinner are great. watch the light of the city while having dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
“Extremely Disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Once our favorite place to have some of the best grub in town, the restaurant has fallen to being one of the worst in a span of a couple of weeks.

Their, once expansive, menu has been reduced by 1/4th to resemble a run-of-the-mill pub menu AND they have increased the price three-fold!

The service and ambiance remain excellent, but that is not something that differentiates restaurants in this town - there are other places with equal or better ambiance and staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Saved by the angel 'boss'!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just completed my trip in Bandung 28-30 June. Made reservations at The Stone Cafe for dinner on 1st day of arrival for 6 pax.

I should have asked for the individual pavilion tables, but was instead lead to GIOK. Another mistake I made was I should have asked for GIOK ATAS, where the view was phenomenal. Everyone, please go ahead and order the Strawberry Mojito - simply heavenly!! Order a pitcher, it is more worth it. We finished 2 pitchers without any problems!

As we have not been to Bandung or Indonesia for such a long time, we did not ask the taxi to wait for us. So by the time we finished, it was already 10.30pm, and the staff stared at us in bewilderment when we requested to call for a cab. We were told it will take FOREVER for the cab to arrive. Note : please ask you cab to wait for you. It costs only another USD 5 or so!

But the restaurant owner (bless his heart), decided to take us 6 ladies directly back to the hotel in Cihampelas! WOW!! We were all so thankful and relieved. Thank you again, Anton! You have made our trip in Bandung exceptional wonderful and a truly memorable one!!

You got to go try out Stone Cafe!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SugarCrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“finger licking good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The foods was good that we went back for second time.
The price was reasonable. The night view for the cafe was spectacular and the place was cool with breeze.
The service was good .and with live band

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Cafe also viewed

Bandung, West Java
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to The Stone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing