We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taste”
Review of Hummingbird Eatery

Hummingbird Eatery
Ranked #2 of 55 Dessert in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Taste”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hummingbird is located not far from the most crowded area fro tourist, Riau Street. So you can expect, it is always full during holiday season. The cakes are excellent. You should try Russian something (I forget the complete name). Cheers.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    304
    96
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast and Brunch in Bandung ”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I have been here a few times now and every time it has been amazing.

The decor is quaint and comfortable. The staff is pretty welcoming and accommodating. The atmosphere is a great departure from Indonesia and into western delights. It's a nice place for friends and family and significant others. Sit inside or out and the experience is equally comfortable.

The menu is extensive and mouthwatering, from Western to Asian to pasta and Hummingbird specialties. Portion sizes are generous for both food and drink. My favorite dish so far has been the cheesy rendang fries. Honorable mentions include the muesli, angel hair pasta and seafood, and any of the breakfast options. My favorite drink is elderflower tea, though with endless varieties of tea, it's admittedly hard to choose, citrus lemongrass tea comes with a scoop of sherbert.

There is even a bakery with heavenly cakes and cookies. Promotions such as a free canvas bag or cookies for taking a picture of your food and uploading it to social media are common and add a bit of fun to the dining experience. Wifi is free and fast.

Great value for the price. You should go. Now.

Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food yet a good place.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Been here for three times. I dont have word to describe this place.
I really love the american breakfast, the sparkling white wine, the pancake. And if you are single, be brave to take a closer seat with some cute girl who eat on this place. ;)

Helpful?
Thank Aditya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Actual menu different from online menu”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I went to Hummingbird after looking at their menu online and seeing a sandwich that I really wanted to try. However, upon arriving at the restaurant I learned that they do not serve this item. I was quite dissapointed. I then opted for chocolate mousse instead. The mousse part of the cake was delish. The rest was ok. They do have free wifi and a non smoking section. Some servers were good while others just stood around talking. My piece of cake after tax was about 42.000, so they are a little pricier than other Bandung restaurants.

Fyi, it was the grilled portabello mushroom and swiss cheese sandwich that they do not serve.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3caballeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Delightful setting, nice food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

But the service standards were bad. The waiters seemed not bothered about customers who arrived and sought for a seat. When we tried to discuss seating arrangement, waiter suddenly turn and talked loudly with his colleagues and then walked away. When asked how long approximately would the queue be for a table, waiter shrugged and then walked off. It's like "if you want to eat, then queue, don't ask too many questions" - at least that was the impression given. I think having nice setting and good food with nice prices are important, but I think hummingbird needs to emphasis on staff training. Waiters should not be giving a proud impression that they are working in Bandung's best restaurant or cafe. The fact is, with them around, the cafe is definitely not the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Hummingbird Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing