We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for hang out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hummingbird Eatery

Hummingbird Eatery
Ranked #2 of 49 Dessert in Bandung
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place for hang out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good first impression. From an old house turned into a nice cafe. Try the cakes, you will love it. The beverages are various. Romantic place to visit for couple. Lack of parking area, very crowded in the weekend. Got goodie bag when you tweet and posted a photo.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y4nn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    294
    93
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great tasting cakes and coffees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Atmosphere is upbeat, bright, cozy and welcoming. The coffees we had was well prepared and nicely presented. The cakes and crepes we ordered were rich in taste and portions were big enough to share. We arrived late at night and hence did not order a full meal, but looking at the menu list and peaking at neighboring tables... I think we'll be back to give the rest of the menu a try :-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank UmiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Catchy yet Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

+ The place is right in the middle of Bandung happening area
+ The décor and interior is catchy
+ The outdoor staffs are very friendly
+ The inside staffs are busy doing I don’t know what
+ They sell some delish cakes, you just want to have it all
+ The food are okay and the price is a bit overprice for the taste imho
+ The bathroom is okay

- We came at lunchtime on Sunday, very crowded, and end up having a bad seating
- You might wanna reserve or avoid coming on crowded times
- Staffs needs to improve on guests greeting even when it’s crowded and hectic

* They also have a room to rent, interesting :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoorAisyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“More hip than taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hummingbird's choice of colors and furniture are very cute and a bit too girly for my taste. You can't take the restaurant seriously by looking at how the place is presented. But this is the place that everyone's talking about, and it's no wonder that we see so many socialite-looking teenagers and young people here.

The choice of menu are standard and similar to many other Bandung's trendy places; pasta, patty, small steaks. While they're not bad, I find them not tasty enough and not recommendable. The restaurant, expectedly, offers desserts more seriously than its mains. And the desserts tasted pretty good. Again, I don't think the cakes tasted too different from other similar restaurants in Bandung such as Fabrik or Hartwood.

The way the seats are laid out makes the place feel a bit too cramped up, especially with many teenagers with loud noises all over the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MPandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food was ok, but takes HOURS to be served.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I went to this restaurant last weekend. I like the vibe. Very homey but kinda packed during the weekend. The chocolate mousse was exceptionally good and I loved it. The only downside of this place is it takes forever for the food to be served. If you're starving or don't have patience, I suggest to eat somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SundayRose13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hummingbird Eatery also viewed

 
Bandung, West Java
 

Been to Hummingbird Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing