We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artist Residence or Robber Residence ?”
Review of Imah Seniman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imah Seniman
Ranked #161 of 226 Hotels in Bandung
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Artist Residence or Robber Residence ?”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Imah Seniman, pronounce as An Artist Residence. A friend refer me this resort. They have suites in the wood, named "TI'IS" and "CA'ANG". Therefore I made reservation on Dec 16, 2013 for Dec 26 - 28, 2013. The FDO told me that TI'IS and CA'ANG already booked by that day. However they still have another suite in the same wood, called "DAUN RONTOK". I think that'll be fine, what else could be wrong for a suite. The FDO asking 30% Down Payment upfront for confirmation. Therefore I transfer the amount immediately

We arrive on Dec 26 earlier for lunch before check in. After my lunch I went to FD for check in. They prepare the room and escort me to "DAUN RONTOK". What surprise me is that "DAUN RONTOK" completely different from TI'IS nor CA'ANG as reference. It have wall brick view instead of forest, it located at the back of another suite that more closely for maid's room. Quite disappointed at first appearance, I went back to FD asking if they still have another suite available. They offer me another suite which face the fish pond. I thought it'll be ok. Fish pond sounds better than brick wall. Again the room boy escort me to the room. What a surprise, the window don't have glass on it or anything for it. You can jump from terrace to the bedroom from it. The door lock is broken. Guest can not lock their door. That makes two. Again I went back to the FDO. This time, their supervisor I guess approach me and told me that they still have one executive room available. For this, they won't charge me for extra cost. I believe that the best they can do. Once again the room boy escort me to the executive suite uphill. Far further from the suites in the wood. I'm expecting a better one that the other two. When I arrive at the executive what surprise me is they only offer spacious bedroom and nothing else. The building itself looks more older than the suites in lower class. One more thing, they are building concrete road right in front the rooms with their dust and noise.

I can't understand it. More expensive rooms with lower services. I think this is enough. So I went back to the FDO and cancel the reservation since they cannot give me what they offer first. The suites in the wood. They said it is OK for cancellation, however they cannot refund my upfront 30% down payment. It's house rules. A house rule they never explain when guess make reservation. At that time i feel more in Robber Residence instead of Artist Residence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
36
26
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
jakarta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Vit takes only 2 hours from check in to check out. the room is totally different from what we saw on the web. the hot water is not working properly, the line telp was not working and we had to move to the next room. the hotel surrounded by dirty environment. the spa service was not available, the security said the spa staff was gone home already, while the FO staff told us they are in service. We wonder, why miss world came to this place? it is not a resort hotel that we expected.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rraymond29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandung hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The resort is quite okay, very natural place back to nature, love it.

Some minor need to be improve, like the executive suite resort we stay is attach with the neighbour, and the sound from next room you can hear clearly in our room and its quite annoying.

The water system also need to be improve, the water from the drain is to small.

Overall the resort is quite okay if you want to go back to nature

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Junardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in suite room, imah apung. The room is large enough, there's a cracking sound from the wooden floor. The bathroom is poor, dirty and smell like cockroach living there. There's a problem with our water heater that we can't take shower with the warm one, fortunately we had our family staying in executive room, so we took our bath there in the tub.
By the way, there were many ponds there, you can fish or take the kids feeding them with bread or rice, or going around with canoe (free, but you should row the boat yourself), there's a horse riding too. Hadn't try the resto. And maybe the spa is nice (wanting to try it, but it'quite pricey)
Hadn't explore much there because we have other places to visit. Overall, it's a good hotel but just don't expect too much

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pettarosetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Come to this place for relaxation and a touch of nature. This place is "something different" from all the holiday spots we stayed in before. I prepared my kids beforehand to manage their expectation of their idea of a "hotel". We got two connecting rooms of "Kliningan" and "Ronggeng" with the lake right out of our windows. We researched the place and brought fish food, and the kids are thrilled feeding the fish every chance they got. We were there at the middle of the week, which was great and we practically had the place to ourselves. We enjoyed fishing, boating around the lake and my kids got some painting instruction from a professional painter. I really suggest that you try the spa. You can call the therapist to your own room. My therapist's name is Vina, and she combined relaxation and Thai massage. I know a thing or two about messages, and she was good. So good that I asked her to come back the next day.

I have to note that breakfast was rather limited. It was not buffet style. They claimed it was because there were not many people in the hotel at the time.

I do have to mention the friendliness of the staff. All of them are very helpful, down to the security guards.

All in all I enjoyed our short holiday at the resort. Lembang itself offers quite a number of attraction around and the location of Imah Seniman is right in the middle of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccrcnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tremblay-En-France, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked Gamelan Junior Suite for 7 - 10 Sept. It's the room with lake view and closest to the small waterfall. We opted for this hotel for it's natural surrounding and since it's in Lembang, it's already fresh without air-condition. The rooms have nice design and spacious. I personally love the old fashion green tile in our room that reminds me of my great grandmother's house. They dont make those tiles anymore in Indonesia.

There's a canoe your can use for free on their lake, a swimming pool (not heated), a fishing pond and a spa.

During weekend, the breakfast buffet is open air style on the restaurant area, food stalls / carts are available along the restaurant street, you take what you want then find your seat. During weekdays, breakfast will be delivered to your room with the same choice as you found on buffet (Bubur Ayam, Kupat Tahu, Nasi/Mie Goreng, Nasi Uduk, bread & surabi, omelet, fried traditional snacks along with coffee,tea and orange juice).
Something a bit funny, my husband loves bubur ayam so much that he only eats that in the morning, every morning when I called for breakfast, they always said it's unavailable (they do have plenty of other choices though, it's just us being picky) but after we said "it's ok, we'll just take the drinks", someone suddenly come with 2 bowls of Bubur :)

The staff are very helpful and they react quite fast to your request.

We'll consider it excellent if they improve several things :
- They put wooden branches for natural touch under the sink but it doesn't cover the pipes so it seemed unfinished.
- A shower curtain would be great so the toilet & toilet paper, which is next to the shower, wont get wet.
- No hangers for clothes in bathroom.
- The hot water runs out very fast. Luckily the staff react very fast if you point this out but if you're not a morning person or in the middle of shampooing, you might be grumpy.
- As indonesian people tend to throw things in running water so there are garbage in the river at Imah Seniman (except the one under the entrance bridge).
- I understand that the idea is natural atmosphere and fortunately their property is huge, but there are some ruined buildings, stacks of wood and tires that's not exactly pleasant to see. Some cottages look old too.
- After the first night, I notice some odor coming out from the bathroom. Howeverit's gone by the time we returned from sightseeing.
- During weekend, the hotel opens their ground for public, they sometime leave trash on trees and on the ground, quite noisy too when they take pictures. So if you want to be here for romantic getaway, weekdays are better.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites or Honeymoon suites are newer and cleaner, but if you're a light sleeper, dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DY_Moriniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived at night and already tired. We really wish to have a nice rest, but we got mouse on top of our bed! When we asking for change, we got a dusty room with spider as accessories. Also the bed is so damp. 1 night is enough and we don't want to come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Listiyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandung
1.3 mi away
Puteri Gunung Hotel
Puteri Gunung Hotel
#87 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lembang
Grand Hotel Lembang
#146 of 226 in Bandung
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.3 mi away
VillaTel Salse
VillaTel Salse
#2 of 9 in Lembang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gumilang Regency Hotel
Gumilang Regency Hotel
#81 of 226 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stevie G Hotel
Stevie G Hotel
#88 of 226 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Green Forest Resort
Green Forest Resort
#107 of 226 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imah Seniman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imah Seniman

Property: Imah Seniman
Address: Jl. Kolonel Masturi No.8, Cikahuripan, Lembang Indonesia | Lembang, Bandung 40391, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 226 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imah Seniman 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Imah Seniman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imah Seniman Hotel Lembang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing