We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restored mansion in the better part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vio Hotel Cimanuk Bandung
Ranked #39 of 327 Bandung B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Vio Cimanuk Bandung hotel is managed by a local Indonesian hotel chain. The building itself looks like a refurbished mansion in the affluent & quiet leafy neighbourhood of Cimanuk surrounded by plenty of trees & is within walking distance to the grand Art-Deco inspired Gedung Sate building.

The hotel itself is a corner house design. Its front entry is facing the street corner with the sides being 90 degrees from each other which actually opens up the lobby to appear much larger than a rectangle building, together with the atrium at the heart of the structure this creates the image of a wide open building. I have to mention the great ambience of the exterior lighting which brings to life the colonial character of the building at night. Like many heritage buildings the lighting is soft & warm in colour, only spoiled by the neon purple of the hotel name out the front.

Our Deluxe View Twin Bed room was a small 16 sq/m room with high ceiling & polished wooden floorboards. The room furnishings were new with wall mounted LCD TV, mini-fridge, quiet aircon & a glass balcony door with steel frame that didn’t open. Our beds featured good quality sheets, quilts & firm pillows. Our beds were made with a folded top sheet with matching white mattress sheet showing good international standards. Disposable slippers are always welcome & the bathroom was clean & free of mould, a surprise. The shower featured a clean glass screen. The room had both lace curtains for daylight hours & a thick one to block out morning light. The door locks use modern electronic cards & an electronic safe is located in the built-in wardrobe.

Wifi was not accessible from our room & was under 100 kb per second, ok if surfing webpages but slow for downloading.

The reception desk was manned 24 hours a day & there was a guard outside even at 3am when I went sneaking around. Staff spoke little English but the iPhone translation Apps worked well using their free wifi. The reception guy had no problem calling for a taxi at 5am in the morning but our guy showed up on time. At such an ungodly hour, a flat rate was agreed to beforehand. The hotel has 1 elevator which happened to be out of service. We booked our room via one of the major hotel websites the day before & did not have any problems. Breakfast was included in our rate. The hotel is advertised as a business hotel for professionals with conference & meeting rooms. We mainly encountered fellow travellers & foreigners looking to avoid large Chinese tour groups

Travellers arriving by train or bus should consider a taxi as the walk from the station might take a while. Guests unhappy with the hotel chef can walk around the corner where there is a small Korean hotpot-noodle restaurant. I noticed a KFC nearby that does delivery.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love to stay here. Not very far from main street, and lot of trees around.
Also, fast free wifi too
But I think the management should improve the quality of room's wall, since I can hear people talking in the room next to mine

Room Tip: Ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stillold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We accidentally chose this hotel last December since we had to extend our stay in Bandung on chrismast eve. We felt lucky we still got a room on this peak season though the price that time was not too cheap (we paid IDR 600.000,- for 1 night). On January we came again to Bandung and got special price IDR 360.000,- for regular weekend from Agoda. The location is our first concern, since for my husband and I, we had good memories when we lived in Bandung couple years ago in Jalan Progo, very close to this hotel, so it's kinda nostalgic for us. I still even remember this building before it becomes a hotel. The room is basic, a bit too minimalist for me, with no view. The breakfast is pretty awful, better to skip it and just go to Hummingbird. There are many nice cafes, restaurants, and cute shops nearby. And if you have children, you could take them to a horse ride in that area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is, obviously, their location! It was unbeatable.

Jalan Cimanuk is just a very nice neighborhood with a lot of greens surrounding. The hotel is just few steps away from one of the most happening hang-out-places in Bandung, Vanilla. And furthermore, you can find Jalan Progo with the various hip eateries (Hummingbird, Tokyo Connection, etc) just about 7 minutes of walking. And jalan Riau with the numerous factory outlets was 15 minutes away (on foot) or 7 minutes (by car).

You can also find a traditional market every Sunday beside the hotel, that sell almost everything! From traditional food, colorful batik, kid's toys, etc.

I booked this hotel 2 days before I came from internet and I get a very good deal, which was a bless considering it was on weekend before the new year's eve. The other options of hotel with the same rate (for budget hotel) was either too far away or too.. budget, if you know what I mean.

The check in process was quick and hassle-free, we had to put a deposit cash (only about 10% from the room rate).

The room was small but believe me it was quite spacious compare to other budget hotel with the same rate in Bandung. The ambiance was warm and modern yet still cozy with brown wall paper.

The bed was quite big (I got the twin bed room), and they had two pillows on each bed! Which was another good point since most of the budget hotel usually only give us one pillow each. The bed was so comfortable, that I had a very good night sleep.

The bath room was small, but again it's still bigger compare to other budget hotel and they had glass wall to separate the shower and the toilet which was good. The towel was clean with standard bathroom amenities.

The TV size was decent -- I stayed at four stars hotel with TV that was waaaay tooo small. With various TV channels -- including HBO, E! Channel, etc.

The bad side of the hotel was the breakfast. The menu selection was sad, not to mentioned the taste. They really need to improve their quality of their breakfast, like seriously.

The security was not really helping when I wanted to park my car (in their minimum parking space). But the rest of the employees was really nice and friendly.

Overall it was a really nice stay. Will I come back to this hotel? Most definitely!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burgundylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a great time in this hotel but at that time the guest lift not working and they said it is under maintenance , so we had to use the staircase until 3rd floor , Huufftttt its a bit not comfort because we still had to use staircase when we come back to hotel at 24.00 hrs and still not working until morning ?? it is under maintenance or damage ?? , Also the taste of food in the breakfast really need some improvement . Good things , the room was really clean , room attendant was great and helpfull thanks to Edy and Gungun for the great service , Check in /out also fast , thanks to the receptionist.

Room Tip: Choose room with the balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Depe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Strategic location of Bandung,saling distance to shopping Street and attraction,the staff friendly.the Room is clean.the sunday morning flea market aka pasar kaget around the hotel is Very Good.need not go Very far

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Novi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

it has a strategic location at the heart of bandung. walking distance to shopping streets and attractions.
the staff are friendly.
it would be better if they allowed us to check in earlier, as the check in time is at 2pm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saw Kun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.7 mi away
Anggrek Gandasari Hotel
Anggrek Gandasari Hotel
#154 of 232 in Bandung
23 reviews
1 mi away
Fox Harris City Center Bandung
0.8 mi away
Meize Hotel
Meize Hotel
#77 of 232 in Bandung
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nexa Hotel
Nexa Hotel
#8 of 232 in Bandung
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitra Hotel Bandung
Mitra Hotel Bandung
#89 of 232 in Bandung
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Paviljoen
Hotel De Paviljoen
#37 of 232 in Bandung
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vio Hotel Cimanuk Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vio Hotel Cimanuk Bandung

Address: Jln. Cimanuk no. 15, Bandung 40115, Indonesia (Formerly Vio Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range: $19 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vio Hotel Cimanuk Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened on September 2011, Hotel Vio Cimanuk is strategically situated behind the famous "Gedung Sate", close to factory outlet and culinary area and walk away to city garden. Carrying the "heritage" concept on the building design, Hotel Vio Cimanuk offers a satisfying service in relatively affordable price. A suitable place for family vacation, meeting point, meeting event yet to celebrate birthday party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vio Hotel Cimanuk Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing