We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serena Hotel Bandung
Ranked #225 of 327 Bandung B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The hotel was a short walk from the train station. The room was clean with sufficient furniture and a basic bathroom. There was no separated shower area in the bathroom, which made the entire floor wet.

A buffet breakfast was available in the restaurant on the ground floor but I had to order an omelette separately.

My impression was brief as I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 59 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

Never stay in this hotel. Rooms are dirty. Pillows are hardened lumps of old latex( feel like putting yr head on a few hard tennis balls at night)!Toilets not working, blocked and leaking sink, filthy mould covered shower area and bathrooms smells horrible. Food for breakfast buffet is either too sweet or too salty and menu is the same everyday. Please stay away from this hotel!There is only one miserable factory outlet within walking distance of this hotel and the prices there are ridiculously expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Red_roses74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel has a great location across the road from the train station. It is down a small laneway so it is away from the noise of the trains and the traffic. The staff were very friendly and helpful even though they looked so young! The room prices are quite expensive i arrived late at night with no booking and it was no problem to get a room. The decor was very dark and old fashioned. The room wasnt as clean as it could have been. The bathroom was very questionable! I was travelling in the wet season and one day there was a particularly bad storm, the rain water was running down the walls in my room luckily I noticed it in time and managed to move my stuff before it got damaged! I mentioned it to staff in reception and I was told Id be allowed move rooms, but nobody came. I ended up mopping up the water with the towels in my room. Breakfast is included in the price but its not very impressive. Rice, noodles bread and jam. The day I was there the toaster was broken! I dont drink tea but the coffee was vile so Im sure the tea was the same! The restaurant had very limited choices for food...but the locals selling foods from the carts on the lane or in the train station carpark were very good! I definately think this hotel is way too expensive for the quality you receive..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carltonblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I paid more than 500,000 almost 600,000. But i just feel it was still quite expensive. The room is quite nice, and the air conditioner is very good. The bed is comfy, and the bath room is quite nice.

But, hot water is not operated properly. Often we have to asked the receptionist so they turn on the hot water.

The breakfast is not very special, quite disappointment in fact.

But overall, Serena Hotel is quite nice and very strategic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soya2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

we paid 438.000 rupiah for a night (weekend rate) and frankly expected a bit more for that rate...no wireless in the rooms, only in the lobby...the breakfast buffet would be ok for locals as it was mostly rice and noodle dishes, only plain bread and jam for us foreigners...the rooms themselves were ok, with the usual amenities like ac, hot shower, fridge, cable tv....but expect a lot of noise as the hotels is mostly used by indonesian tour groups...there was karaoke in the restaurant downstairs and though i had a room on the 3rd floor, it sounded like the speakers were set up right outside my door :(
best asset is location, right in front of the railway station, so that fitted right into our travel plans

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We saw this in the lonely planet and after spending a week in Sumatra in dives with only cold showers we decided to blow our budget for one night and get a decent room in Bandung.

The first room we were shown had a nasty smell and the bathroom looked filthy, we asked for another.

The second was better. It was okay but we expected better.... the room was tiny, the water was far from hot, the fridge didn't work (which we'd paid extra for) and the TV signal was poor. The towels were stained brown and the bed linen had bloodstains on it. Also there was no shower curtain, so after a tepid shower the bathroom floor was flooded.

Lonely planet says the bathrooms are "sparkling" ... I can only assume this was written many years ago as they are now tired and dirty.

Staff were pleasant enough but very young. Breakfast was only Indonesian style, no eggs, cereal etc just noodles and rice. The hot tea they serve was awful tasting.

All that said we had a room on the 3rd floor and a nice comfortable and quiet nights sleep, and good location for train station... but if you're looking for luxury this may disappoint.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halesycrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Good, cheap and good location. Clean rooms good service and a breakfast buffet with hot food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9mbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
Mutiara Hotel
Mutiara Hotel
#115 of 231 in Bandung
134 reviews
3.2 mi away
Guest House & Salon Spa Fora Gegerkalong
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 231 in Bandung
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 231 in Bandung
1,904 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#6 of 231 in Bandung
725 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Bandung

Address: Jln. Marjuk, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range: $19 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serena Hotel Bandung 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serena Hotel location is only seconds from Train Station, easy access to Pasar Baru shopping area, and is only 10 minutes from the Airport. Serena Hotel accomodation features 65 rooms and suites with restaurant, 2 meeting room 30-120 seat capacity, Spa, Drug Store, Sameday Laundry Service, Tour & Transport, free WiFi in public area, Room Service, Major credit card accepted, and etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serena Hotel Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing