We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New home in Bandung”
Review of Hummingbird

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hummingbird
Ranked #23 of 317 Bandung B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service was very good, the bellboy really handy and full of smile. There's an eatery at front yard with lots of visitor, the eatery was awesome designed with big bird nest. First look, I thought that this place was very hectic, but when I walked to the guesthouse behind the eatery, the atmosphere really homey.
Spent a night alone in 2nd floor room "Costas", the room was niiiiice. Clean, cute furnitures, spacious, big closet with a safe box and a very comfy king-bed, hard to leave it in the morning. The bathroom is clean, with pair of towel, bath-kit and big mirror. Free coffee, tea, bandrek, water, and lots of TV channels. But I woke up very early in the morning because the school next to my room was too noisy, students chattering and bells ringing very loud.
The breakfast was good. From 7 to 9 at the eatery. I ordered omelette and melt-cappuccino. Many people had breakfast at the eatery, they opened very early. The guesthouse about 150m to the Riau Street and easy access to get Angkot.
Overall is great, but I thought the room rate is too high.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Hummingbird
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Bed room and breakfast is great but they need to make the bathroom floor much higher than shower. There is no lift. So u need to use stairs. The neighbourhood is calm and peacefull. There is not much view from the balcony. Cant smoke in the room but u can smoke on terrace

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renojakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Thank you, Tripadvisor, for a fabulous find! The Hummingbird totally exceeded our expectations. Spent 3 nights with a girlfriend - we had asked for a room on the 3rd floor but they were fully booked. We had a 2nd floor room "Ruby".

Pros:
Friendly service, helpful staff, who helped with all our travel arrangements.
Fantastic location, walking distance to all the factory outlets and easily accessible by bus or taxi.
Lovely neighbourhood, hip and happening, yet laid-back. Cafes and eateries along the entire stretch.
Amazing choice of food and drinks at the eatery in front - don't miss their cakes!
Very spacious, clean and comfortable room. Simply furnished but more than adequate.
Unlike most b&bs, towels, linen, coffee & tea services, even a safe, are provided.
Prompt and easy reservation - we did our booking via email and didn't even have to pay a deposit.

Cons:
Bathroom, although large, could have been cleaner. Plumbing sometimes choked, and smelled.
Water was lukewarm sometimes, instead of hot - and the nights can be a little chilly!
Mosquitoes came in through the ventilation shafts and were irritating.
Noise from the crowds at the cafe went on until late every night.
Not much English spoken by the staff. A bit frustrating if you don't speak Bahasa.
Beds were a bit too soft, gave us a backache.

Overall, I gave this property five out of five because it had so much character, and just made our stay so much more memorable. Even though we were two girls on our own, the Hummingbird made us feel safe and happy. A real home away from home!

Room Tip: On the 2nd floor, Ruby has the best view. Not sure about the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank robnadcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Happened accidently found this place available on my date of visit a week ago, the guest house was integrated with eatery at front yard. I thought it was quite stuffy surrounding since visitors were parking their vehicles all around the area-but we could not expect progo street could be more spacious-it's a housing area turned business place nowadays. Room was nice, modern-furnished, brilliant bright color paint initiated feels of spacious and sunlight. Aircon was helpful though to keep it cool though. The service were average for guest house level, food were quite satisfying, we eat like three times in the eatery tasting on their signature dishes. Breakfast was exceptionally generous we can pick from early-riser menu they provided until 11am. Its surrounding were some advantages too for the traveler, shopper, even those who fancy sightseeing in Bandung. Hummingbird were surrounded by Gedung Sate - the old monumental landscape with Satay (Sate-traditional Sundanese signature dish) on the top of its roof, also those who likes shopping could easily access Riau area in like 5 minutes, Dago area could also be accessed for 10 minutes depends on the traffic. Over all location is an advantage. And our stay was satisfying. Definitively best to offer in the class.

Room Tip: Those who prefer stairs exercising could ask for 2nd/3rd fl room, they who don't ask for 1st flo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank semestakecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Overall, we thought this was a superb hotel/B&B, and would have given it top marks except for some minor things that mar what could be a wonderful experience. But that said, I would certainly stay there again, and would recommend it highly. It's a small boutique guesthouse with only a few (8?) rooms, so book early. Let's start with the good points.

The rooms are very large, nicely decorated, and well appointed. Bathroom is also huge. Excellent for the price. Its an old house (well, two in fact, one for the guesthouse and one for the restaurant) that has been very attractively renovated.

The restaurant has an interesting and varied menu, and the food is very good indeed. Breakfast was fantastic (many choices, all very tempting) and the coffee (I had a caramel latte) is top class. If only Starbucks sold coffee like this, instead of the bitter and crap coffee they actually turn out! The restaurant has both inside and outside dining, the inside is stunning whilst the outside is... curious and pleasant.

The location is very convenient, near to the city centre, the fashion outlets and to Dago . And its located on a nice, pleasant street.

Sounds like a dream come true. Well almost.... if it were not for a few minor things.

Firstly, when we arrived the place was having its monthly "clean up and staff motivation day". Nothing wrong with that per se, but in practice its inconvenient. Not only could our car not enter the car park, but also as you walk in, you are met with what appears to be the start of a student riot! Okay, maybe I exaggerate a bit.... but there are a lot of staff and they were all gathered and rather boisterous. I am sure it would phase the average Indonesian, but foreigners are not used to such gethering, and it can be off-putting at best and intimidating at worst.

Next, rather than send you through the beautiful restaurant to check in, they send you down the side alley (passed a row of staff motorbikes) and then passed the gas tanks to the guest house reception. Not a good first impression at all, and there is no reason to do that. I hope the management reads this, because its a quick and easy fix, a no-brainer. The restaurant would make a 5 star impression, versus the zero- star staff motorbikes! Screening the gas tanks would be a good idea too. And surely they want guests to appreciate the quality of their superb restaurant?

Finally, a minor design fault with the rooms (we stayed in "Ruby"). There were two open, wooden louvre windows (one to outside, one to the upper lounge area). They look nice, but dont do such a good job at blocking out noise! So we could here guest and staff noises from outside, and guests from the room opposite. Again an easy fix... put glass in place to retain the stylish look but help reduce outside noise.

Okay, maybe the above 3 points are nit-picking. True. But I dont give out "5"s unless its truly warranted. Though Hummingbird was very close to a "5" in my book, and really the comments are more directed tor the management of Hummingbird. We would certainly stay their again (if we can get in: we wanted to stay there 3 days but we could only get 1), and would highly recommend both eating at Hummingbird and staying at Hummingbird. Or indeed both of those :)

Thank you Hummingbird!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I've my breakfast here... They have a great quality breakfast! But the price was also not so cheap! Maybe we should spent 70.000IDR for F&B... But i think it's worthied with the quality!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyYoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I fell in love with the design from the first time I saw it on the website. And the reality lived up to my expectation. Homey, equipped with amenities, easy access to shopping hubs and public transportation, within a nice neighborhood to stroll along the streets, surrounded by so many interesting eating places (including the Hummingbird eatery right in the front of the guesthouse), and reservation can be easily done by phone or email.

Room Tip: they are at the top of their game, so book a room as early as you could or they'd all be full-bo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vira_Zoelfikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#7 of 230 in Bandung
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serela Riau Bandung
Serela Riau Bandung
#53 of 230 in Bandung
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Luxton Bandung
The Luxton Bandung
#50 of 230 in Bandung
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
M Premiere Hotel
M Premiere Hotel
#72 of 230 in Bandung
66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
3.1 mi away
Cottonwood Bed & Breakfast
Cottonwood Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 317 in Bandung
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird

Address: Jln. Progo no. 14, Bandung, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range: $29 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hummingbird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing