We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is awful”
Review of Maja House

Maja House
Ranked #108 of 1,795 Restaurants in Bandung
Cuisines: Fast Food
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is awful”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ordered the Buffalo wings & Tongseng, lamb soup. Taste is very plain, and the service is bad.
Manggo Juice & the Drinks are OK.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    108
    52
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
langkawi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food n service n view!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Theres nothing to dislike! The view, the food, the service is very good!if i lived there, for sure ill go there again n again

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashikin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply chic' and romantic”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First impression was 'wow' when coming to this place, set on a hilltop of setiabudi district in Bandung, the place was majestically done, although you should well be quite fit if you want to reach the resto area due to the staggering stairwell.

The architecture of the place is sublime, the view scenic, overlooking the Bandung area, it gets even better at night where the sparkles of the town sends out this romantic vibe, coupled with the chilling weather, making any couple wish to cuddle even more. The place is separated into few areas, with the winning spot facing the hillside. There's also an indoor club lounge & the lower level for the more fine dining area I guess.

The cuisine fashions a mere selection of International menus, ranging from pastas, grill selections to local delicacies. We tried the hungarian goulash soup, cheese fritters & tongseng kambing. The soup was quite nice, it has the strong spices aroma, although it could do with more beef chunks just like the tongseng. The cheese fritters is a quite unique menu at first, but they should use a more crispy batter instead, or even cocoon it with some sort of breadcrumb to make it crispier.

All in all, this place has all the potential to be a winning spot in the highlands of Bandung, on a note that it doesn't turn out to be a mainstream hang out place like the rest. Definitely worth a return visit for me.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Perfect for sunset”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The place is quite far from the CBD area since it is located nearby The Peak. After almost an hour drive I expected it to be good but it was quite alright. I made a reservation in the outdoor area hoping that while I was having dinner I can enjoy the scenery. But I was disappointed with the table. The table is so low that we had to sit on the floor. Not recommended if you want to eat. So we moved to the indoor area. Again I was disappointed that the indoor area supposed to be a non-smoking section but the group sat next to our table smoked and the waiter didn't say anything. The foods are alright. Not worth the drive. But if you are looking for something different then you can come and try out. Service was bad. Only a few waiters were really helpful, the others were ignorant and seemed "occupied". Bring a warm outfit since it is quite cold here. Reservation is recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikieMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pretty”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Wear smthg warm so you can sit for hours to experience bandung city night view, but be there early so you can see the building in daylight, good design.. I've been there twice, but for the first time i came there when sky already dark so i can't see the architecture in a good light, yesterday i arrived at sunset and i got time to enjoy the design too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maja House also viewed

 

Been to Maja House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing