We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All is small about this hotel,pleasant stay though”
Review of Amaroossa Bandung

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amaroossa Bandung
Ranked #22 of 228 Hotels in Bandung
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All is small about this hotel,pleasant stay though”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just stayed 2 nights here with my husband and 3 kids. The hotel is located in a hectic area,on the corner of the road. If you arrive by car its confusing where to park. The security at the lobby told us to drive back and take the street at the side of the hotel where the parkinglots were. It was so narrow and small but somehow people here are acrobats in parking their car.
We arrived at the lobby to check in and at first sight,i was a bit overwhelmed by the so-called-boutique-style of the hotel. Everywhere big chairs,pillows, shiny tables,thick carpets, so purple, so blue ;-). The room was clean,big bed with lots of pillows, cozy chair,clean simple bathroom. All you need,nothing more or less.
The swimmingpool is small. If you want to go for a real swim,dont come here. Since there were not that many guests in the hotel,you have to serve yourself and look for clean towels.
The fitness room is a small room with basic equipment. Here, too, serve yourself to switch on the ac, switch on the electricity for the treadmill and find somewhere a small towel.
Breakfast is good. There are both Indonesian and European dishes which all taste good. Enough waitresses walking around but no one really pays attention to refill the empty plates. Too bad. If you want to eat a pancake make sure you order right away if you arrive. It took the girl in charge about 20 minutes to prepare one (but she did make some mobile calls and chitchatted with her colleagues though).
Its a bit annoying to ask the front desk every day for a free wifi access. If it worked. Good thing we brought our own coz the one at the hotel is not that reliable.
Location wise, the hotel is strategic. Nearby BIP, Bandung Indah Plaza, a small mall with a supermarket (hypermarket), Starbucks, JCo donuts, bookstore, etc and some restaurants as PizzaHut. Driving from BIP in jl. Merdeka in the direction of Dago, the place of numerous factory outlets.
If you bring children with you, this hotel is quite ok. Although the swimmingpool is small,who cares,water is all kids care about to splash. There is some sand to play with too. The kidsclub looks abandoned but if you pay some your kids can play with lego bricks,draw,watch tv, ... Its small,very small (4 square meters at the most) though. There are some kids tv channels for the lazy hours.
We had a nice and pleasant stay for 2 days, a new experience in Bandung. At least i know now what a boutique hotel is ;-)

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking floors,very convenient. We had a room at the 3rd floor which was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henriette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaroossaHotel, General Manager at Amaroossa Bandung, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Costumer,

Warmest Regards from Amaroossa Hotel Bandung!

Thank you for your reviews and we would like to extend our deepest thanks for your confidence to have chosen us as the Hotel for you to stay in during your visit to Bandung. It was our greatest pleasure to be able to serve you as our guests, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Your voice as a guest is our greatest asset in improving our services, and thus we would love to hear your opinion.

Once again, thank you for your stay with us. We are looking to seeing you here again. Stay in Love with Amaroossa Hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Iwan Darmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    225
    85
    29
    14
See reviews for
207
140
42
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying in Executive Twin Room in Amaroossa Hotel for 4 nights with my colleague. Get a rate with IDR 804 per night (weekdays) all in (breakfast for 2, internet access).
Positive:
- good internet access. doing my work was a breeze (only 1 line of LAN though, no WiFi, so you have to share it with your colleague if you go with one)
- breakfast - only for guava juice and its scrambled egg. thank you, egg station's guy
- bed size, decent size for twin bed
- decent room size about 30sqm (well with IDR 804 I would have expected to be this big, not a big surprise actually)
- left my earphone in the bed, and they returned it to me
- close to several FO (if you are so into shopping thingy and nice restaurants/cafe just around the corner)
- provide smoking floor (I am in 505, with connecting room)
- when I stayed here the hotel is fully occupied with several office gathering, so almost no children or baby around

Negative:
- no hot water in day 3
- poor quality of towel (looks like old towel, with yellow/brown stain in my towel on day 2-euuw)
- average to low quality of breakfast (croissant, fried rice, potato, etc was dissapointing)
- dim lighting (can be good if you are in your honeymoon but it is truly hell when you have to do your work till late)
- a really thin wall. especially when you got connecting room. you can hear ANY SOUND from the next room. literally, anything
- check in and check out process were really a disaster. took a looong time to get things done
- refrigerator in our room is just slightly cool
- serve mineral water in bottle, but provide no bottle opener (they said it actually provided on bathroom, but bottle opener in our room is broken)
- low quality for some employee like receptionist and operator but high quality for bell boy, doorman, security and room service

Summary : I will not come back to this hotel again, neither for business nor leisure.

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, heritage FO is just stones away for shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabrielleUtomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaroossaHotel, General Manager at Amaroossa Bandung, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Costumer,

Warmest Regards from Amaroossa Hotel Bandung!

Thank you for your reviews and we would like to extend our deepest thanks for your confidence to have chosen us as the Hotel for you to stay in during your visit to Bandung. It was our greatest pleasure to be able to serve you as our guests, and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Regarding the negative things such as hot water, towels, breakfast quality, dim light, noisy sound of connection room, check-in and check-out process, in room refrigerant, bottle opener and employment quality, we do maintain, training and coaching all that things related.

Your voice as a guest is our greatest asset in improving our services, and thus we would love to hear your opinion.

Once again, thank you for your stay with us. We are looking to seeing you here again. Stay in Love with Amaroossa Hotel.

Warmest Regards,
Iwan Darmawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I visited this hotel over the weekend with my husband and stayed in the executive room. It was a great room at a corner and it was very quiet.

The rooms were fantastic. Big, comfortable beds and spacious. Liked the decor and the nice big bathroom.

Location-wise, knowing the legendary jams in indonesia, we're near 2 big shopping areas (about a 10-15 minute walk) from Heritage/Cascade and Summit. If you're planning to maximise your time shopping, I'd advise that you walk (get a map from the hotel) because jams around the area can make a 5 minute trip by car become a half-hour trip.

We're about a half hour drive from Rumah Mode (another famous shopping area) and the city central as well. Also about half an hour drive from the airport.

Breakfast was a big spread, with local and international offerings. Quality was average although there was a lot of variety. Best in terms of taste were the Indonesian dishes.

The staff are very polite - helps if you can speak bahasa indonesia so that communication is smoother, but they're extremely patient.

One thing we learnt a bit late was that they offer free shuttle services to the airport. Wish they had told us that when we were ordering a taxi to the airport!

We'd definitely come here again because of the comfortable rooms and convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - it's a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ningherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It's rare for a hotel to actually look as good as its website pictures but the Amaroossa does! This gleaming, glitzy palace of glass and chrome and shiny marble is beautifully presented. The rooms are spacious and stylish; our bed was comfy with huge squishy pillows; and the bathroom was scrupulously clean with plenty of hot water. (Oddly enough the handle to empty the basin is UNDER the unit, along with a bottle opener.) The second floor pool and bar area is pleasant as is the dining room/bar. So on the surface, this presents as an excellent hotel. Unfortunately, the standard of service lets it down. (However before I complain, I must add that one manager did go out of his way to make arrangements for a trip for us.) The staff is friendly enough but all too often, orders simply failed to materialise. A 30-minute wait for a round of drinks is unacceptable (and then it only arrived when someone complained). Cups of tea at breakfast never materialised. Sadly, these weren't isolated incidents. Language difficulties? The dining room ran out of bread, butter, milk and worse, Bintang beer and lots of items on the drinks menu were unavailable. One staff member dealing with food was in a uniform so dirty and stained that people commented on it. The food was tasty but almost always tepid or cold as the bain-maries are left open, defeating the purpose. What a shame, as this has the makings of a very good hotel and perhaps with a bit more training and/or supervision, it will get there, but it's not there yet.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building overlook a noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had a chance to stay at this hotel during my one day trip to attend a function at Bandung.
My first impression upon entering this hotel was the hotel reception area is quite small and not so 'grand' for a 4-star hotel, and as I arrived on saturday night, I could immediately see the coffeeshop just beside the lobby full of people having buffet dinner upon entering the lobby door. I was actually kinda 'shocked' by the appearance and size of the hotel lobby and coffeeshop cramped into one, because for what i'd paid, I was expecting a 4-star type kinda hotel.

But the feeling of disappointment is totally gone by the next day, here is what happened:
1. Check in process was quick, no hassle. Very friendly gentleman at the reception, greets and smile on guests.
2. When I entered the room, I was amazed, the room had a nice design, clean, comfy bed and sheets, and it's spacious
3. Ordered a room service in the middle of the night, and they arrived on my room without delay. Very prompt service, top star.
4. Breakfast was amazing. I was amazed by the quality of the food and the spread / varieties. They are delicious.
5. Check out service was also quick.

I'd definitely come back to amaroossa. and would recommend it to anyone who love a simple not-so-crowded hotel, with top quality rooms and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiaJianetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spend two nights over the weekend at this so called boutique hotel.We booked thru their hotel website.Requested for airport l transfer but no one was there to pick us up.After a few phone calls, we were picked up almost 1 hour later.No apology..

The room is nice and staff friendly.The water shower was not hot enough and got it fixed after two reminders. Somehow or rather, on both nights,we had a few mosquitoes buzzing in our room.

The bath robe had a little tear (previous lodger?) and I was asked to pay for it at check-out. After complaining that the tear was there to begin with,they backed off.

There was a wedding reception on Saturday.Frankly, this is not a big hotel & using the Cafe as the wedding reception area is not appropriate as the lobby is not big enough to cater for the crowd.

The location is quiet and about 10 minutes walk from Jalan Riau.

Overall,overpriced.I am sure that I can get better accomodation for the price that I paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hakim_Omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just came back from a 4 nights with my wife. We're very impressed with the services of all staff members from this hotel. We'd problem with the room on the 1st night due to noise from the main road. The reception staff was very prompt to help us to change to a room away from the main road on the 2nd day. We'd encountered problem to connect to the wifi using tablet, Mr. Yudi Eka Kurniawan of the hotel has personnally helped us to rectify the problem as well as provided us with excellent recommendations for our stay in Bandung. The hotel is within walking distance to the factory outlets at Jalan Riau - about 5 mins walk. The room is comfortable. Service personnel at the cafe are very helpful and attend to request promptly with a smile. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who plan for a short trip in Bandung.

Room Tip: Try to request for a room away from the main road as the noise from motorcycle is very disturbing at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanhhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.6 mi away
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
THE 1O1 Bandung Dago Hotel
#36 of 228 in Bandung
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Royal Panghegar
Grand Royal Panghegar
#28 of 228 in Bandung
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Luxton Bandung
The Luxton Bandung
#48 of 228 in Bandung
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
0.4 mi away
Aryaduta Bandung
Aryaduta Bandung
#18 of 228 in Bandung
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#7 of 228 in Bandung
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaroossa Bandung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaroossa Bandung

Property: Amaroossa Bandung
Address: Jl. Aceh no. 71A, Bandung 40115, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 228 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amaroossa Bandung 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amaroossa Boutique Hotel Bandung Amaroossa Hotel Bandung is a Luxurius boutique hotel that combines modern style with great facilities and services, providing its guests the chance to experience the finest boutique hotel Bandung experience possible. Every facilities and services available in Amaroosa Hotel Bandung are engineered and crafted to give you great value for the money you are spending, and thus if you are looking for the truly definitive hospitality experience, than you should look no further than Amaroossa Hotel Bandung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amaroossa Bandung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing