We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel if you have to be in Bandung”
Review of Guntur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Guntur Hotel
Ranked #197 of 317 Bandung B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were passing through Bandung (wouldn't recommend the city unless you need to go) and spent two nights at the Guntur Hotel. It was a slick, modern place verynear the train station. The staff were helpful and the breakfasts good. It was also good value for a standard room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Guntur Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had 2 rooms for 1 nite on Nov2011. Booked direct by calling to the hotel as they have no arrangement with online agent or travel agent.

Overall it was satisfactory. Our Room was decent though our first room smelt of cigarette smoke. The hotel surrounding was very clean and the staff was friendly. It has Aircon, hot water and cable tv though we hardly watched any tv.
Breakfast was good, with toast, fresh fruit and traditional "lontong opor" for heavy appetite.

The location was close to train station and Kartika Sari, famous cake store in Bandung. We didn't have enough time to go to Ps Baru but chose to go to famous Ham and sausage store in Jalan Pasir Kaliki and had our lunch from various vendors in front of the store :)

It is good value for the money. The rate was IDR320,000/nite for weekend and it is on the same location, same street with Swiss Bellhotel and Vue Palace Hotel which were definitely pricier. If you just need a good place to sleep, this is a better choice.

Room Tip: Higher floor might have less mosquitoes. Cannot order extra bed for standard room. Bring your own t...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank augin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights (15-18 june 2011) .. anesa and indra, in fact the whole staff was very accomodating.. their service was prompt. a friend of mine had serious diarrhea very early in the morning (4 hours before our flight home), and the staff were concerned, the bellboy sent a pot of bitter and strong tea (without any extra charge), locals said it is good to ease diarrhea, then after 20 minutes, the boy once again appeared in front of our room with some medicines..

the room was excellent, and value for money. the best thing about this hotel is its location. only 10 minutes walk to Pasar Baru..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nadiah n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I would say that for a very moderately priced hotel, the hotel was an excellent choice for me and my group of friends. My room was quite adequate although I would have liked it more if the bathroom was a tad better. Providing tooth brush and paste was a wonderful surprise for such a hotel and the service was very good. Breakfast was good although it could be better. The tropical resort like garden on the ground floor outside the rooms was a welcoming respite from the goings on outside the hotel. Location of the hotel was quite central and very near to "Pasar baru" shopping area. All in all, I would say that if you intend to spend most of your time outside the hotel enjoying what Bandung has to offer, this hotel not only could adequately meet your needs if you are on a budget but might also be able to surpass the expectation of some.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank s_nasadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Haha, i went again to this hotel when i was in Bandung ~1mth ago. Got a room on 1st flr this time, no mosquitos this time around, yes! And yeah, the staff is very nice, food -so-so. By this 2nd trip, i already know that the staff is very kind except for the 1 young 'dragon' lady manning the reception counter (in my 1st trip, met her, very calculative)....this time around, again met her...very serious-like in attending to me...drawn a conclusion that she's the only 'garang' one there. the rest are very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shela_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Hotel is rather small, i think less than 30 rooms. However it's really clean. and have a new feel. Found out that it was just renovated 8 mths ago. Sleep qualtiy is good. I got a room on the ground floor.

Only thing i'm unhappy about is the mosquitos...perhaps a room on 1st floor would be better then. Staff is generally nice, though they couold be make more effort...i waited for 30 minutes for my tour driver before proceeding to the counter staff to get help fro a public phone. There was none and she doesn;t want to help by calling using the hotel's phone as she claimed they don't have a charging system. It was a local call anyway, so i persisted and she finally relented and made a short 2 mins call. It would have been better if she/the hotel is not so calculative about a minor thing like that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shela_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Standard B room type with rate of IDR 270,000 / night. The room is very clean with aircon, hot/cold water. Actually the room itself is able to accommodate for 3 persons but I went only with girl friend.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful, especially for us which 1st time visit Bandung.
Wifi connection is available as well for free. Both of us satisfied with the hospitality.
We recommend Guntur Hotel to all backpackers .

Russel

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank RusselSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.3 mi away
Fabu Hotel Bandung
Fabu Hotel Bandung
#107 of 230 in Bandung
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Citradream Bandung
Hotel Citradream Bandung
#60 of 230 in Bandung
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mutiara Hotel
Mutiara Hotel
#108 of 230 in Bandung
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Sovia Hotel
Grand Sovia Hotel
#96 of 230 in Bandung
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Serela Merdeka
Serela Merdeka
#45 of 230 in Bandung
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Cavana Hotel
El Cavana Hotel
#151 of 230 in Bandung
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guntur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guntur Hotel

Address: Jl. Otto Iskandardinata no 20 | Bojonagara, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range: $22 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guntur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Guntur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing