We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wifey heaven”

Pasar Baru Trade Center
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wifey heaven”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

3 times in 4 days. Nothing I can say anymore. Cheap and good quality. Tips: Bargain till you satisfy wi the prices. Be careful of pickpocket. They are anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NazaSidek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    131
    86
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Shopping”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you go to Bandung and you want to go shopping and buy something cheap,just go to Pasar Baru..
Pasar baru is the five storey..with lots of shops..it is very crowded..and many pickpockets here,so you must be careful here.
You can find lots of batik,moslem shirt/dress,bags,and many others..in good price,if you go to the basement in the morning,you can find food,meat,vegetables here.
If you bring children..it's better for you to go to higher level in 4th or 5th level..so it's less crowded..

Helpful?
2 Thank chrysantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Surprised by the wide range of goods here!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I thought Pasar Baru only sells Muslims clothing. Not true! U can find almost anything here. Arrived 9am on a Friday morning, shopped mainly on 3rd-5th floors, no crowd at all. Our driver told us to be careful of our belongings, I guess so when it is crowded like the other reviews say.

U can buy cheap souvenirs & T-shirts here, and kid clothings, bags, etc. But haggle hard! Vendors are friendly & helpful. Though we did encounter one guy who kept asking us for Msian Ringgit for keepsake. We just told him we had none & he scattered off.

Worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank yenbenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Worth a visit..”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When I'd first heard of Pasar Baru (translated New Market in English & almost never mentioned as Pasar Baru Trade Centre), my first impression was that it is a market place with lots of stalls (ala Chatukchak Market in Bangkok). Upon my first visit here last year, I, of course, discovered that is a large building with 6 floors packed with row upon row of little shops & stalls.

There are lots of shops offering furnishing fabric, garment fabric (gorgeous ones especially for kebaya), clothes, shoes, batik wear & various item made from traditional Indonesian batik fabric (i.e. bags, laptop covers, etc.) a wide selection of fashionable Muslim ladies wear, Muslim prayer items (i.e. telekung, sejadah, telekung with matching sejadah!), goldsmiths, souvenirs - the list goes on & on! Many of the stalls also offer additional services such as tailoring, alterations. There is a food court on the 6th floor & lots of peddlers selling drinks & local delicacies at every corner.

With so many shops/stalls, I reckon, you would need a whole day to cover every floor from end to end! However, there are many stalls that offer same or similar stuff & the stalls are not segmented. The prices are pretty standard but prices are reasonable (cheap even!)

This place is definitely worth a visit & once familiar, you can just return to particular stalls to buy what you want/need instead of wandering (almost aimlessly) on your initial visit.

Helpful?
4 Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shop till you drop”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Bargains prices. Haggle begins at 50%. If you drive, park at the very top. There is a musolla (prayer hall) at the top as well. Try to shop at the very beginning around 8.30-9.30am as this is a very auspicious time for traders. They believe in breaking the egg or "pecah telur" where any first customer that enters their shop must buy something and not leave the shop empty handed as it would be bring bad luck for that trading day. Eating out, just go to the food court and sit at the middle seller island where they have the best fruit juice. Some traders take Malaysian Ringgit or Singapore dollars. The best batik will be on the ground floor on the left.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shahirshamsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasar Baru Trade Center also viewed

 

Been to Pasar Baru Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing