We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price”
Review of Hotel Progo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Progo
Ranked #119 of 323 Bandung B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Been staying in this hotel everytime I go to Bandung. Location is great, next to Jonas studio, 3 min walking to Jln Riau Factory Outlet - Heritage, Secret etc.. Decent breakfast, friendly staff. They are upgrading their rooms and adding another floor to their hotels and a lift by end of 2012.

Room Tip: Get rooms other than on the ground floor, can be quite noisy during breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank azharvedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

seems like i cannot find the room rates and contact person.
can anyone help me?
going to bandung this 25-28 nov..7 person
do this hotel has extra bed?

please email me at hajarizzati@gmail.com

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hajar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location of this place is wonderful - it's just a short walk away to the main road (Riau/Martadinata) where all the factory outlets are and there are many cafes/restaurants and food stalls around the hotel.

The hotel is small, quite old and very, very basic. Let's just say that if you are the type who wants all the trappings of a proper hotel, then, this may not be the place for you. But, have I mentioned, the location is great!

There are no lifts and the staircase is quite narrow. The room we had (and a few others that we managed to peek into) are quite spacious and while most, if not all, of them have windows, not all of them can opened out (ours looked out to the staircase!) The furnishing is simple but big plus - flat screen TV, many, many, many channels! While there is no kettle available in the room, complimentary bottles of water is provided. The attached bathroom is one area that can be improved big time - the shower stall had no curtain or door, so, the floor will get pretty wet and glass partitions could use a good cleaning. As far as the hot water is concerned, there is hot water but you need to turn the water to "hot" (red) and keep it running for a couple of minutes for it be become hot. Sadly, the sign that tells you to do so is in Bahasa Indonesia, so, not everyone will understand it, fortunately, we understood the sign!

The room rate is inclusive if breakfast. Breakfast is a simple fare of local food and is pretty OK. While some of the dishes were cold, they were tasty and definitely not the worst breakfast we've ever had. You may wanna bring along your own (sachet of 3-in-1) coffee or teabag though. The staff, from the reception right down to the security guard, are courteous and helpful.

On the whole, this is not a bad place. Would we stay here again? Yes, I really don't see why not! Oh, and, have I mentioned that the location is great?

Room Tip: Most importantly, opt for a room away from the staircase as it can be quite nosiy with all the comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I got a very bad experience at this hotel on August 29, 2011 last. We were given a sheet which contained former menstrual stains and other bedding looks brown like never washed. I took picture of that. I tried to complain to Customer Service but the response is slow, then I called the hotel manager and he did not give a positive response, will only crack down on the problem internally.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sumo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

As Bandung can be quite cold in the morning, will only recommend to others only if the hot water in the bathroom is fixed, particularly on room 307 & 308. Other rooms seems to be not having same problem. Unfortunately we've taken the wrong room. Other than that, this hotel has a good, helpful and friendly staff as expected, free parking, and good location. Moreover, the price also considerably fair, if not cheap. Locationwise, this is the right place if you're a shopaholic (located near and in walking distance from Jalan Riau's factory outlets).

Pros:
- Hotel location on walking distance from nearby Jalan Riau with line up of factory outlets.
- Reasonable price at peak-season/new year with ~IDR 400k-ish / nite (Type : Royal suite room with double bed). Price is considerably fair, if not cheap.
- Line up of chic restaurants located on the same street with the hotel.
- Great staff, very friendly and helpful.

Cons :
- Avoid room 307/308 if you can, the hot water wasn't worked at all. (Stayed there 31 Dec 2010 - 3 Jan 2011, not sure if now already repaired, I hope so. Checking first is a good idea.).
- Avoid rooms with windows facing street (facing entrance of hotel). You'll hear voices from the parking lot/streets. I found this sound pretty annoying.
- No elevator.
- Breakfast could be better.
- Bed is OK, but easily moved if you move too much. Beds need to be nailed to floor.
- Towel wasn't available at room, they'll deliver to you later on.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravvlivius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

i have been staying in Progo whenever i go to bandung. back in 2007 once, 2008 thrice, 2009 twice. was recommended by a bandung friend. i stayed in different room for each visit. overall, i'm happy of their cleanliness and friendly staffs. i can say staying in Progo is a great deal. it is 2 minutes away from Heritage FO, Cascade FO, Terminal Tas. if u wanted to visit Pasar Baru for shopping, u can hop in any blue bird taxi and it's 15 minutes awa ( provided traffic is ok). all in all, i can say that i am statisfied staying in progo. recommended!!

Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
3  Thank shida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I went to bandung in dec 2009. i had booked progo hotel, after i've read reviews that its very near to factory outlets, and viewing the website on the internet. but wat crap! the photos are far from what they post on their website. guess they have just picked the photos from other websites.

i reached the hotel around 3pm, but the room was not ready. so i went for lunch and came back around 6.30pm, they gave me the room just next door to their lobby door. the room is facing outside, so insecure. the bed linen is so worned out, the toilet is so run down. no cafe bar. i need a hot flask to boil water, actually coz i'm with kids. i request to be upgraded to another room, but they said that is the only room with queen bed. my kids being playful, jumped on the bed, and all the dust flying all over the room. i just left the room that night and checked into Novotel. i feel cheated as they had post illegal photos on their web.

http://www.hotelprogo.com/
the website shows nice bedroom pics, but that was not the actual photo from the hotel. THEY ARE A CHEAT!
. its budget - yes, but they don't have to resort to cheating people by putting some 5star bedroom pics on their web rite?

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wahwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.2 mi away
Serela Riau Bandung
Serela Riau Bandung
#60 of 231 in Bandung
535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 231 in Bandung
1,498 reviews
2.9 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#1 of 231 in Bandung
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Grand Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
0.2 mi away
Tebu Hotel Bandung by Willson Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
Ivory by Ayola Hotel
#6 of 231 in Bandung
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Progo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Progo

Address: Jl. Progo No.6 Gedung Sate, Bandung 40114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Bandung
Price Range: $23 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Progo 3*
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing