We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel breakfast in Bandung”
Review of Golden Flower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Flower
Ranked #35 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Last 2 weeks we went to Bandung via Jakarta. When we arrived at the hotel at 3.00 pm, the receptionist informed that our rooms were not ready and we had to wait for almost 1 hour to get our first room and another half and hour for the 2nd. room. Since we were too tired after a hectic journey from Jakarta, we just sat at the lobby waiting for the rooms to be available. While waiting for the rooms, we were each given a glass of fruit juice - at least something to clench our thirst.
The rooms were clean and cozy. After 30 minutes in the room, we were given a slice of banana cake as the hotel complimentary. That evening, we just stayed in the room and rest, to gain our energy for the next day. The washroom was clean and cheerful (the orange tiles really lift up the mood). No charges for extra towels - bravo.
In the morning - the breakfast was superb. Varieties and tasteful. Both western and local dish were available. Best hotel breakfast in Bandung I had.
Swimming pool - average size.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Liza N

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review, and apologize for inconvenience happen during check in process, we will keep review regarding check in process to minimize our guest wait for the room during check in time.

Once again apologize for inconvenience and thank you for your review. Always looking forward to have you here again at GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung.

Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 833 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. The staff smiled and helpful in registering and showing us the room. We were tired - long drive from Jakarta and it sure brought about a relaxed feeling. Booked 3 rooms with an extra bed in one. A call and 10 minutes later the extra bed was in place. Room were clean as expected. Air-conditioning and the hot water shower worked well.
Breakfast was good with variety of Indonesian dishes plus the normal bread, butter and eggs.
Location - relatively close to shopping areas and one of the historic building in Bandung, the Masjid Agung or Grand Mosque, is about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BmTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear BmTee,

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review, it's our pleasure to know that we able to give you our best services. We do have variety breakfast starting from Indonesian until International, and should you happen to stay during weekend we provide jamu traditional.

Once again thank you for your review and always looking forward to have you here again at GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung.

Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Friendly staffs..great environment. .good food. .best service.
Plus Point -our days always been greated by the awesome, beautiful and wonderful hotel gro, Miss Fanny..
Followed by the smile of other staffs (frm housekeeping to security), will make you holiday being blessed..Hotel room..service n food is great..location strategic for shoppings
Minus point -1) its not the hotel fault for the area conditions..but always beware of pick pockets while you are on d way (walking) to the shopping areas..anyway hotel staff won't give up to remind u regarding this safety concern becore u step out from the hotel..
2)Spa-not under the hotel management...so don't expact to much about the service..by the way..bring cash cos u can't bill it to your room..

Overall - 7 half frm 10 point. .

Surely we coming back to Golden Flower for Bandung next trip..

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aznizam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Aznizam,

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for giving us a review, it's our pleasure to know that you enjoy your stay here and that we could delivered our best services to you. We try our best to keep our area clean and to do our best to always remind our guest regarding pick pocket. And Spa even though not on hotel managment but it's still on our supervision, as your review regarding their service, we will keep remind them on and on.

Once again many thanks for your review and always looking forward to welcoming you again here.

Warmest Regards
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Bandung a great city for shoppers as well for pickpockets to strike in broad daylight..the hotel is great and value for money..near to airport and others place of interest...for one's the GRO of the hotel name Fany is one that very helpful and thoughtful towards our stay in Golden Flower...Guys if you ever thought that nothing will strike you while you in Bandung ...Think Again!We were robbed in broad daylight just in front of the hotel traffic light towards Pasar Baru Centre.Their modus operandi ..it will strike just when you walk into a small alley near the congested traffic light and BANG a group of four or five mans will confront you from all angel and in a fews second all your valuable gone...My advise to you guys with familys and friends ...never never be off guard and always take a taxi to each destination even though people says its near ...its worth to be safe rather than sorry...Nothing is more important than our family safety.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharimadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear sharimadon,

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review, and apologize to hear regarding what happen to you during your stay. This matter had been our concern and reported to police station. And we do hopefully this matter could be resolved.

Once again thank you for your review and we do really apologize for inconvenience


Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

At an average usd45 for a room per night its reasonable for a short stay for shopping n seeing Bandung City. The staff service was good n English speaking.Room is clean , though room no.235 - the water drainage is stuck. No wifi in the room area, though its strong in the lobby area.the main shoppimg area is Pasar Baru which is about 400m but dis is for low bargain items.Bandung train station is also about 400m walk away but you can't walk there with your bags as the roads are terrible n pedestarians lanes are blocked n numerous potholes.for Muslims,the 'Masjid Raya/ Agung' is about 200 m away.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear mohzan, Mr.

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review to us, apologize for inconvenience happen during your stay, drainage at your room had been checked and also all rooms is on our progress to do the cleaning. Wi fi hopefully will bi installed this mid 2014 so next on you could have wi fi connection in your room also.

Once again thank you for reminding us, looking forward to welcoming you again here at GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung.

Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed with my family for 4 nights...20 mins to airport in good traffic, nice breakfast spread, service staff were friendly and helpful, clean room. Looking forward to come back again especially when the wifi system is upgraded.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear yhjt,

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review to us, we do very happy to know that you enjoy your stay here with us, always looking forward to have you here again.

Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

That's the summary of my review.

LOCATION

Like other reviewers have said, it's within walking distance to Pasar Baru.

This was our second trip to Bandung and previously we stayed in another hotel which required us to either take a 'beca' or 'angkutan kota' to Pasar Baru. The close proximity to Pasar Baru meant that some members of our party went there at every possible opportunity resulting in big holes in our pockets.

Less talked about is a shop on the right of the hotel. It's a little shop that will cover all souvenirs needed for little girls (and big girls too) - beads, rings, hairbands, brooches, bracelets and all such accessories.

A member of our party was injured during the trip and he had to be rushed to a hospital. We never thought about distance to hospitals when it comes to choosing a hotel, but, thankfully, we
were close enough to one.

ROOM

The room size - I was pleasantly surprised by how huge the room was. There was plenty of space AND on top of that, there was also an outdoor jacuzzi tub! That was great. The unfortunate thing was that the water wasn't very clear. It was the colour of rust and does not smell too pleasant either. So, I refrained from soaking in the tub. Such a bummer.

CLEANLINESS

Other than that, the room was clean. In my own home, I would brush the grouting between tiles and corners with a toothbrush so I have a tendency to notice things like corners being dirty. Well, the corners of the bathroom (somewhere below the shower spray beside the toilet bowl) was quite dirty. Not that there's fecal matter, but there are water stains and marks and dirt but I could live with that for the three nights I was there.

PLEASANT HOTEL STAFF

Almost everyone greeted us warmly and I liked not having to tip staff for doing what they are supposed to do. In Indonesia, I'm never sure if I'm supposed to tip staff or not. But, in Golden Flower I knew that tipping was not necessary as none of the staff lingered for a few extra seconds after providing a service. They would give us the item we need and would go after thanks are exchanged.

COMING BACK?

If we go back to Bandung, we will stay in Golden Flower again. :)

Room Tip: 5th floor - same floor as swimming pool/spa/gym if you plan to use those facilities often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddynaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomgf, General Manager at Golden Flower, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear maddynaddy,

Warmest Greetings from GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung,

Thank you for your review to us, apologize for inconvenience happen during your stay, regarding bathroom cleanliness we are now on our project to do general cleaning to all of our room especially the bathroom.

Once again apologize for inconvenience, we always looking forward to have you again here at GOLDEN FLOWER Hotel Bandung.

Warmest Regards,
Nandang Djuarsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.5 mi away
Gino Feruci Kebonjati Bandung
0.3 mi away
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
Gino Feruci Braga Hotel
#55 of 231 in Bandung
847 reviews
3.8 mi away
Banana Inn Hotel & Spa
Banana Inn Hotel & Spa
#16 of 231 in Bandung
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HOUSE Sangkuriang - Bandung
1.5 mi away
Tebu Hotel Bandung by Willson Hospitality
1.4 mi away
Serela Riau Bandung
Serela Riau Bandung
#61 of 231 in Bandung
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower

Address: Jl. Asia Afrika no. 15-17, Bandung 40111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bandung
#8 Business Hotel in Bandung
#8 Family Hotel in Bandung
#20 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#23 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
Price Range: $31 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden Flower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Flower Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing