We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-of-a-kind hotel architecture”
Review of GH Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GH Universal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in Bandung
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One-of-a-kind hotel architecture”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is really one-of-a-kind in Bandung. I have never expected to find a hotel with such a castle-like design in this place. It is really a huge hotel with huge lobby and the guest rooms are also big compared with other hotels. Upon check-in, we were served a welcome drink (which is common in other hotels) and an extra voucher for tea time at the 5th floor where incoming guests are served with tea or coffee and a cake. So that makes the guests have a feel of their restaurant set beautifully at the roof top with the view of the swimming pool and the whole architecture. I felt like I was in a castle (really!!!).

The breakfast is also huge, as they offer lots of choices and if you are not in a hurry to go out, after your first serving, you can explore other upper part of the hotel, take pictures in the nice view and come back for the main menu. Dessert is also fine. I enjoyed the peanut butter pancake from my fav resto in the Philillipnes that I missed since I stayed here in Indonesia. The cakes though are not as delicious at they look.

The dinner is as enjoyable. You have a choice to sit in a dimly lighted romantic place or at the outside seating to enjoy the atmosphere (if it is not raining). The restaurant has a live entertainment, and guests are free to jam with the singer.

The rooms are also well appointed, with carpeted floors,except for the fact that they seem to like the color "black" which is apparent to their interior design. Maybe to others, this is the reason why they get the "creepy" feeling when staying here. The toilet in the room where we stated is also clean, with the showers enclosed in a glass. There is no bath tub, but I don't really use bath tubs in the hotels, so I don't mind that.

The service is good, with the service crew attending to our requests in just a minute or so. I had my laundry express without the "express" cost.

I will definitely comeback here.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the 3rd or 4th floor and request for the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    170
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
560
237
17
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel layout is very unusual and almost unpleasing, despite the gothic-victorian style it tries to bring out. Toilet booth are exposed along corridors, there's no change or shower room in the pool. Interior finishing is very poor despite the luxury atmosphere it tries to present. Instead it gives a creepy feeling to the guests. It is apparent they don't pay attention to details. Cleanliness is also a big issue here. Rooms and corridors are dusty and smelly. I am not going to spend another night here.
Price $$$$$
Ambience ☆☆
Cleanliness ☆☆
Amenities ☆☆
Food ☆☆
Service ☆☆☆


Cleanliness

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Erwin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Amzing to stay in this hotel, I like the breakfast.. many choices for you to enjoy..
All the food and beverages alsome..
The room is comfortable and the architecture give me a different atmosphere
I would stay in this hotel again if go to bandung again..
Keep continuing the best service

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed 1 night with Ramadhan promo.Without promo I think rate is overprice.But it's still nice because when I stay the hotel not really crowded.I can't imagine when the room are full and high season maybe not comfortable to stay. You can clearly hear voice from outside of the room. Bed is comfortable enough.Overall inside room is average for 5* hotel.A little bit dirty and not good maintenance.The plus in this hotel is they provide pet kennel.Nice and spacious but unfortunately my dog almost in the cage all the day,except I come.Breakfast is good,nice view.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked thru agoda and called the hotel a week before our stay to request for babycot and pool view room.

Check in was quick, babycot provided, room was given according to our request. The hotel provides baby and kids room. Very helpful for family travelling with baby and kids. Other than Playstation and toys, Gh Universal also provides babycots, storybook, baby toilettries, microwave, milk bottles, bottle sterilizer, and baby portable bathtubs. Pretty impressive.

Superior room size is quite small for twin bed and a babycot, bathroom is very very standard with no tub, simple ammenities provided. Breakfast at the rooftop was great although more varieties of food to be served will be great.

Beautiful architecture building and pretty view from the rooftop. Most Staffs are friendly and very helpful. Definately will come back to stay in the GH Universal hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sheantripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I stayed for 02 nights with my family. First, they gave room on the ground floor. When we saw the room, my children did not want to stay, because there was no view. After a long and hard discussion with the reservation, finally they gave us another room on the 4th floor. Much better view.

I thought they claim for 5 stars hotel, but to be honest, it's more suite to be no more than 4 stars. The room was very basic, and also the amenities, looked cheap. Basically everything was very basic if you want to see the detail. But the price was too high compare to other same grade hotel.
Breakfast, nothing special. We also tried the restaurant on the top floor. So-so.

The difference only the exterior theme or architectural. Yes, they built something different, but that's all. Lack of hospitality, lack of atmosphere.

Maybe it's only good for trying, or maybe it's good when you need to stay nearby. But for me and my family, once is enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ismoyofx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

i stayed in the governor suite and my parents in the king suite. both are beautiful, with spacious rooms and very comfortable pillow and mattresses.
+ king suite: jacuzzi, kitchenettes with a microwave, and guest bathroom in the living room
+ governor suite: spacious living room and a plasma tv on the bath tub area.

i love the beautiful building and the view on the 5th floor as well. very romantic and classic. overall i enjoyed staying at G H Universal hotel, but since the room rate are pretty expensive for those suite rooms (it's around 9-10 millions per night), i think they should improve the amenities in the room (i cannot find a hairdryer in the bath room, they didn't change the shower gel on the next day and i had to ask them, no cotton buds, body lotion, and all those amenities i usually found in other 5* hotels, unstable WiFi signals) and also their services on the restaurant and reception area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 230 in Bandung
1,681 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 230 in Bandung
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
4.9 mi away
New Naripan Hotel
New Naripan Hotel
#3 of 230 in Bandung
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GH Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GH Universal Hotel

Property: GH Universal Hotel
Address: Jl. Dr Setiabudhi 376, Bandung 40143, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GH Universal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G.H. Universal Hotel Bandung is a five star hotel located in northern Bandung City near to tourist attraction. The hotel is designed particularly for the travelers who place the great value for luxury and comfort with 105 rooms and 9 meeting chambers, completed with Courtyard of The Royale Swimming Pool, Spa, Kids Cub, Fat Dragon Chinese Restaurant, Belle Vue 24 Hours French & Italian Bistro, and the only one pet hotel in Indonesia, G.H. Universal Pet Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GH Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g h Universal Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing