We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Europe Magnificent View & Architecture in Asia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GH Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GH Universal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 225 Hotels in Bandung
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Europe Magnificent View & Architecture in Asia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 14th Dec recently. Fascinated by the architecture when we passed by the hotel to Tangkuban Perahu last year so this year I took the chance to stay in this hotel. I was awed by the hotel gothic architecture. If you are into scenery than this is the hotel to stay coz this hotel is far from shopping outlet and town. Since the hotel is on top of the mountain, the weather is very cooling like as tho you are in Genting Highland in Malaysia.

Booked a room with 2 Queen Deluxe bed with breakfast. The room is spacious for 2 Adults and 3 children with a magnificent view of the mountain and the balcony facing swimming pool. Tho this hotel welcomes pets like dogs but the dogs will be in another area in the hotel compound so to those Muslim travellers, do not worry, the dogs don't roam freely in the hotel, the dogs are placed at the designated place in the hotel compound. Tho the hotel architecture look like you are in a chapel in Europe, the breakfast counter is manned by 80% staff wearing hijab. The breakfast have wide varieties of food, local (Fried Rice, Nasi Uduk aka Nasi Lemak) and western selection such as spaghetti for breakfast. The staff are friendly and approachable, will greet you with a smile and the female staff wore French Maid uniform with black leggings just like those nanny in Europe. There's a Kid Play Room equipped with a playstation and toys and a staff supervising the kids. Great Family Hotel.

The only downside of this hotel is the wifi in the room and there's no bathtub for 2 queen beds deluxe room. I think the hotel should improve the entrance of the hotel as mention by a reviewer earlier, you could easily missed the entrance with such a small signboard and it doesn't match the hotel architecture @ all. Travellers to Bandung should try to stay in this hotel even for just 1 nite for the ambience.

Room Tip: To get magnificent view, ask for higher floors and to those travelling with families, choose a 2 Que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SitiNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    163
    83
    27
    16
See reviews for
393
193
14
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The entrance to the hotel looks classy(or plebeian??) with the 5 star symbol on the signboard.
The entrance to the lobby looks like other normal hotel. Nothing grand.
The standard rooms are very small for a 5 star hotel, similar with cheap hotel in Japan.This definitely not the norm in land rich Indonesia.
Other than that, Location is also not that fantastic, as it is in the middle of no where. U must have a good reason to stay here, or else you are better off in town
We check in at 14PM and check out at 19PM.
Will not coming back.
Stayed Desember 1,2013,room 405.

Room Tip: Do not used superior room,because very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iqbal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

thnks to rajakamar..i got cheap offer for only 750K instead 1,75 m IDR.The sign to the hotel is not really clear..a bit difficult to find it. but the area is queit. parking is easy. Minus is only cold swimming pool and un adequate fitness room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
Thank Deddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

When drive to lembang, we will always pass this hotel and stuning witj its architecture, its look like castle in UK. But with darker color so its more gothic.
I want to celebrate my wedding anniversary, so i think everything muat be special, so i choose this hotel. When i see the price in web, its sooo pricey, but i contact my travel agent and he give me 40% lower price than in web. Its still expensive, but if only in special occasion i think it not a problem.
First impression when entering the hotel, architectural quite impreaive, with europe style especially castle in UK. And friendly staff, when we meetin the hall, the elevator the always asking and smilyling.
The room, my pictire can tell all, very spacious. I think it worthed the price, bathroom had bathtub, shoqer and even tv. Nice to relax in bathtub, with hot water and tv sattelite.
The bad part is internet, there no free internet, witj the price, they should be free.
Breakfast is wonderfull, at the top ofhotel excellent view, many choices of food and delucious.
For dinner we eat also in top of hotel but different side, it called belle vue cafe. Nice cafe, highclass cafe i wouldsay, the food not much choices the price expensive, but maybe they offer night scenenary of bandung. Simce it amazing.see surrounding by light.
Overall we glad we spend our anniversary here. And i will recommend stay here for your special day only. For regular i think to expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The room is just ordinary.. frankly I expected more from GH universal. The air condition was not working very well as we were sweating the whole night. The room is very small, we barely had space to move around. The toilet is small and a bit dirty. Location of the hotel is far from the city so it is a bit quiet. Overall I am disappointed as i expected it to be much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vini_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived to the hotel and found that the place was not exactly as huge as we thought it would be, as what we have seen at the website. The lobby was small, and even the car lane in front of the lobby was only for one car.

Check-in experience not to good. We booked a DELUXE room, and were given a room which turned out to be below our expectation. The room is not a 5-star hotel standard. When you enter the room, you feel like you are entering an ordinary apartment room. Room lighting was really poor, the hotel equipped this with a standard yellow bulb (energy saver type) which you will find in your ordinary homes. Sanitary is also horrible. We found stains on the bed sheet & pillow covers. Bathroom also full of water stains, indicating lack / minimum maintenance.

We did called to operator to change the bed sheets and pillow cover. Three hours later, no-one came, and we have to file a complaint to the hotel, before someone came.

The only good thing about the hotel was the breakfast and the quality of the bed, which were okay.
The other things was terrible (no doorman, no greetings from the front door man, no newspaper, no nothing).

We left the hotel feeling dissapointed, considering that we are paying to one of the most expensive hotel in Bandung. We do not plan to come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
4 Thank ehadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I spent 5 nights in this hotel for company training. I stayed at the deluxe room with a king sized bed. The room was pretty big but the bathroom was disappointing as there was no bath tub for such a fancy room. Rooms are not soundproof though. Facilities are good: swimming pool in the center of the hotel, a complete kids room, amazing view from the 5th floor restaurant that serves breakfast. Complaints: towels are smelly, location is relatively far from the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Median S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
#8 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#6 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
4.9 mi away
New Naripan Hotel
New Naripan Hotel
#1 of 225 in Bandung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GH Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GH Universal Hotel

Property: GH Universal Hotel
Address: Jln. Dr Setiabudhi 376, Bandung 40143, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#2 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GH Universal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G.H. Universal Hotel Bandung is a five star hotel located in northern Bandung City near to tourist attraction. The hotel is designed particularly for the travelers who place the great value for luxury and comfort with 105 rooms and 9 meeting chambers, completed with Courtyard of The Royale Swimming Pool, Spa, Kids Cub, Fat Dragon Chinese Restaurant, Belle Vue 24 Hours French & Italian Bistro, and the only one pet hotel in Indonesia, G.H. Universal Pet Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your GH Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g h Universal Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing