We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“palace van java”
Review of GH Universal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GH Universal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 230 Hotels in Bandung
indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“palace van java”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

First time look at it..woow..it's palace build in java. The hotel have a very pleasant view, architecture, and atmosphere as it is spot on lembang hills, Bandung. Nearby, there're some FO and restaurants, but hotel restaurant "Belle Vue Restaurant" will give you a private diner experience, it opens 24 hrs. You can also dine in Kampung Daun, 30 mins driving, it is a great back to nature resto, give you a pleasant breeze in night. Overall, it is a great hotel, but fair superior room which I'm expecting more for a 5 stars hotel. And its check in time is 2 pm so hold back, plan the time before driving all the way here..

Room Tip: if you can afford more, don't stay for superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfa_bintoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    170
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
554
237
17
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Few time ago I stayed at the GH Universal with the family, I got room with view the mountains. We stay overnight at the hotel and all the facilities was exxelent and friendly service from all the staff from the front office to the back office.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
Thank TonyHendrawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has an amazing architectural design. The room is in adequate size, however there are some areas that need attention. The bathroom doesn't have a bath tub to my surprise.
We tried the room service menu, the food is also nice.
The location is a bit far from where the main activities are. So it will be very hard if you're not traveling by car.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Helpful?
Thank ekosasih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Do not stay here,seek other hotel,this is my story of my stay
I stayed in this hotel last new years eve,i just wrote this review coz i just knew about trip advisor,and just passed by this hotel last week on my trip to bandung
I went there with my wife and kid,i'm not just complaining about the room size,the unfriendly staff,but something more that i will never forget,it was new years eve so i thought i wanted to play with my son,i bought a lot of fireworks and betwen those i bought 2 extra huge fireworks that was written 100shots,those 2 were quite expensive,when we checked in the reception guy told me that due to safety reason i could not take them to my room,i understand that and i totally agree so he save them in the reception and put a tag of my room number
And then at new years eve,almost midnight so we gather at the swimming pool to watch the fireworks show by the hotel,there was a lot of fireworks and quite really nice one,so after that i decided its time to start our own fireworks,i went to the lobby and then to reception to find my bags of fireworks almost empty and only few small fireworks left,i asked the reception guy and what he answered really surprised me,he said they have lighted them for me but since i was not in the room they could not let me know,i said of course i was in the swimming pool to watch the event held by the hotel,and then he said nothing to worry about since i watched the fireworks coz some of them are mine and they helped me to fire them up
I was really mad they don't have my permission to do that,and even if they wanted to do that?they should say my name when they light up the fireworks and its not some of the fireworks show,most of the fireworks in the show were mine,i was mad and complained to the hotel,the reception guy said just write them in the guest comments cards,that was the worst hotel ever,they didn't even say sorry or feel sorry after taking my stuff like that they also don't care and not even thanked me
And when i checked out i was furious to find extra charge for bed down,why would i do that?i took the suite room,and i stayed only with my wife and 1 and a half year old son,so why would i put the bed down for?it was ridiculous
Worst hotel ruined my new years eve

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Soelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

we stay in superior room, its so small size room. i think this not worthed with the price. not really comfort with the room. but i like the lobby desaign, classic. the breakfast menu overall nothing special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

me and my wive were spent 1 night in this - European middle age design- 5 stars hotel. we ordered superior room.

we were shock when we found the room was so small.
the staffs were not friendly, they didn't ask the bell boy to carry our luggage, maybe because we are locals. He just give the card for the room and turn to another guest without even told us where we can redeem the welcome drinks.

our disappointing was cured when we have the breakfast. it was very various and taste good also. the morning breeze in lembang, bandung plus a cup of hot tea really made our morning fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DimasP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

the hotel lounge and dine area are very beautiful
great place for shooting.
the dessert and the drink are refreshing.
staffs are friendly.
the layer colorful indonesia cake looks attractive, can try but dont have too high expectation.
all the best

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saw Kun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
1.2 mi away
Padma Hotel Bandung
Padma Hotel Bandung
#2 of 230 in Bandung
1,673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bandung Setiabudi
4.3 mi away
Hilton Bandung
Hilton Bandung
#7 of 230 in Bandung
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Trans Luxury Hotel Bandung
4.9 mi away
New Naripan Hotel
New Naripan Hotel
#3 of 230 in Bandung
487 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Bandung Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GH Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GH Universal Hotel

Property: GH Universal Hotel
Address: Jl. Dr Setiabudhi 376, Bandung 40143, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bandung
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bandung
#19 Business Hotel in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — GH Universal Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G.H. Universal Hotel Bandung is a five star hotel located in northern Bandung City near to tourist attraction. The hotel is designed particularly for the travelers who place the great value for luxury and comfort with 105 rooms and 9 meeting chambers, completed with Courtyard of The Royale Swimming Pool, Spa, Kids Cub, Fat Dragon Chinese Restaurant, Belle Vue 24 Hours French & Italian Bistro, and the only one pet hotel in Indonesia, G.H. Universal Pet Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GH Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g h Universal Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing