We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“pleasant little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Palais Dago Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palais Dago Hotel
Ranked #77 of 216 Hotels in Bandung
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“pleasant little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

we booked direct to the marketing people at Palais Dago and were given group discount as we took quite a number of rooms. deluxe Rooms are quite sizeable and the standard and junior suites are nicely decorated and large but the family room is the largest built on 2 floors. All creature comforts are tip top and of course well taken care of, very clean and breakfast is adequate for a small 21 room hotel. Ms Intan of marketing took some time having a chat with us, thats very nice of her and even offered her help to book a nice large hut for us at Kampung Daun restaurant.

Overall, a very pleasant little hotel, friendly staff.... no complaints at all. Well done guys

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
4
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My title looks a bit confusing perhaps for some. Well, let me explain a bit. The exterior of the hotel, for me is a bit too much. It is not a big hotel, and going with the high domes, Capitol building like design is a bit too much. It is a bit like the tacky houses of the nouveau riche Indonesians would have.

Yet, I was surprised when I entered the room. It is very comfy, modern design and it is very spacious, the shower is very big that I felt it is a bit of a waste to only have a shower in there. The bathroom should have a large whirlpool tub to make use of all of the space in there. One thing that I don't like about the room is the tiny TV. The room I was staying in only use a 21 inch LCD TV. C'mon, the room is almost 25meter square and you only put a 21 inch TV in it? You have to squint your eyes to watch the TV due to its smallness.

Bed was comfortable and the cable internet was very fast. The location itself is nice. It is on the Dago main road, with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The downside:
My room wasn't cleaned up at all on the 2nd day. I admit that I have forgotten to put the 'Clean My Room' sign on the door, yet in other hotels, this has never been an issue before.
Breakfast was awful for my taste. Selection was very limited and the quality is so so. On the 2nd day I didn't bother to eat breakfast and go next door to have a decent local rice dishes instead.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I wish I'd noticed TA reviews on this hotel earlier. Having actually stayed there, would be in a better position to write a review that's presumably fairer.

Palais Dago is a boutique hotel. The hotel is along a busy street but the building that houses the rooms is towards the back of structure so the rooms are free of traffic noise. Within walking distance to many of the Dago FOs so location is great.

The rooms are lovely - we were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a regular room. It was well-appointed, much better than many of the 4 / 4.5 stars hotels that we've stayed in, especially at that price. The photos of the hotel website do not do it justice. The real thing was way better. The bathroom was large, and the hotels keeps it well stocked with amenities - the most I've ever come across in any hotel. Everything came in two sets for both room occupants and they refilled it everyday. The bed was one of the best I've slept in. It was so comfortable and made it very difficult to get up and leave the room in the morning.

Hotel breakfast wasn't extensive but was more than adequate. The porridge set they served was the best I've ever had. It came with an assortment of stuff to add to the porridge and it was very yummy. We had dinner there on two nights and the food was good and inexpensive. The service was great. Every one we came across tried their best to accommodate us. On one of the nights when we were there, we were really tired, the staff noticed and asked whether we'd prefer to have our meals delivered to our room instead. Unless you order room service in other hotels, you simply don't get that kind of service.

Hotel staff willingly and happily called our cabs when we needed them. They bent over backwards to accommodate us. Hotel provided airport transfer both ways. On the day we departed, we'd checked out, but wanted to do a bit of shopping in Jln Riau area (not within walking distance) and leave for the airport from Jln Riau. They actually arranged for the our bags to be loaded into the the airport transfer car and had the driver pick us up from an arranged meeting point at Jln Riau to take us to the airport. That saved us the trouble of making our way back to the hotel.

We booked a package available from the hotel website - every 2 nights for IDR1,050,000 so it's well worth it so make sure you stay in multiples of 2 nights.

When we were there, they'd just started the hotel massage service. I didn't try it so no clue whether it's any good but it's great that it's available. Very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We didn't stayed at this hotel since it was fully booked but we did try to get a room her. We actually kind of relief the was no room available (it was long weekend and the room available at hotel mostly the suit room) because the reception area somehow looks chessy and it had a smoke smell so bad! This hotel supposed to be new, the outside exterior was stunning.. but once you get to their lobby it feel like a cheap smelly hotel.. I won't try again to come to this hotel especially w small children for the smoke smell and some giant China pot around..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chinggu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Need I say more....... the place is just nicely located, quiet & the rooms!!!!! They're great. It's a boutique hotel hence limited number of rooms. Ideal for a small entourage, advance booking is advisable. The hotel is just about 6-7 months old.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sickt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0.2 mi away
Namin Dago Hotel
Namin Dago Hotel
#73 of 216 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tune Hotel - Bandung, Dago
Tune Hotel - Bandung, Dago
#56 of 216 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.1 mi away
Patra Jasa Bandung Hotel
Patra Jasa Bandung Hotel
#68 of 216 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neo Dipatiukur
Hotel Neo Dipatiukur
#14 of 216 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
M Premiere Hotel
M Premiere Hotel
#57 of 216 in Bandung
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling
Hotel Bumi Sawunggaling
#149 of 216 in Bandung
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palais Dago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palais Dago Hotel

Property: The Palais Dago Hotel
Address: Jl. Ir. H. Juanda No.90 (Dago) Bandung, Bandung, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 216 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palais Dago Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Palais Dago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing