We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and pretty much ticks all the boxes”
Review of Mutiara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mutiara Hotel
Ranked #128 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend in Bandung. I initially decided on this hotel given its close proximity to the station as we were arriving by train and it was reasonably priced.

The hotel is five minutes walk from the station, exit through the North Gate and turn left, you will see it on the right in five minutes. You might find it challenging if you have multitudes of luggage as the road is a little potholed and dusty but if you take a taxi expect to get overcharged so it's your choice on that one.

Check in was quick, the receptionist was rather monosylabic but it was getting late so was probably already tired. The room was clean, simply furnished, the air con worked and the water was hot, pretty much all I need really. Despite other reviewers comments, I did find a lift, and a kettle in the room so I'm not sure why they thought there was none of these. There was also toothbrushes, slippers and tea/coffee and the towels must have also been changed or renewed as they were more than ample.

Breakfast was acceptable, a limited selection of all things Indonesian, not very much for Western tastes but that doesn't really bother me anyway. The hotel was full given it was weekend and the start of the Summer Holidays so it was pretty hopeless to try and get a seat before 9am but after then it was pretty quiet.

The hotel can get a little noisy due to it attracting Group bookings, but the staff seem to be able to control this at night so I wasn't really disturbed in the evening. There is considerable traffic noise from the street so I can imagine that some of the rooms which look onto it may have issues, but I didn't really notice any in my room which was in the inner courtyard.

There is a small swimming pool which I didn't use as we didn't come to Bandung for swimming. The hotel is simply designed, very clean, has good security, affable staff and is primarily catered towards the local market but nonetheless is perfectly acceptable and I would happily stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

My stay here was a forgettable one. It was neither good or bad. Everything was just very average but I guess it didn't matter since I am out shopping most of the time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hyqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had a wonderful time during my recent visit (last 2 week) for 3 nights stay. Given a room at 2nd flr, facing the main road with the view of Bandung Hilton Hotel. Comfortable for 4 - 5 occupant in 1 family room & the room rate is reasonable. Just that there's no hot drink in the room, just mineral bottle. Oh ya! good attitude of the staffs & nice pool. My brothers love it! After all, it was a pleasant stay..

- NAS -

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NASyiekien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and it was a nice stay, good service

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IO_OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you are in transit and want a cheap room for the night as close as possible to the train station, and are traveling solo, I would recommend this. It's basic for sure, but the aircon and shower work, and there is a lot of security. Walk about 300m and the station is there. Staff have a good attitude

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Hdgf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The room at 2nd floor that we have chosen was nice, it is big and receive enough sunlight, except they didn’t provide tooth paste, tooth brush and shampoo (fortunately we brought them with us – we always well prepared) and there was no hot drink water to make milk for my child, but it was okay because we can ask them to supply thermoflask with hot water, for free. I am not too comfortable with the floor, it gets sticky easily. Perhaps they have to change the mob or disenfectant? The fact that the electricity went off every breakfast hours, was also annoying, because every time we get back into our room after breakfast, we always find the electricity went off for room lights and TV and have to report this to ask them to turn on the electricity again.

The breakfast was still need improvement in taste. There were choices we can choose.
I am impressed with the pool, because it was very clean and has separator for children, for safety. My kid enjoyed it very much.

The hotel location is also very strategic, we can only walk from train station and nearby various restaurants, and famous bakeries with variety of prices, although the situation can be very noisy at night, because close by the busy main road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katjilpatty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Four of us (from Singapore )stayed at Mutiara Hotel, Bandung for 3 nights in Jun 201. I found this 3 storey medium hotel very accomodating and very practical. You do not have to book the big hotels and queue with other people for everything from lifts and food. It is a nice experience to be here.

Plus points :

1) Transportation : Hotel is situated along the main road ( one way ) and it is quite near the airport. You just have to step on theroad to hail a blue bird taxi or ask the security officer at the guard post to call for you. It is very near to the Bandung Railway Station - about 5 minutes walk. The Hotel is also near the Pasar Baru - can go there by taxi or ankut which plies infront of the Hotel. It is also easy to go to Dago or Cihamplas ( for shopping and dinner ). You must alway bargain with the taxi driver who will always open with IDR 30,000 IDR. You can go anywhere with IDR 20,000. It is convenient to go around with 4 persons and later share the cost. We did not use the meter.
2) Hotel : This 3 storey hotel is very clean and the service is excellent. I was given an upgrade to Eecutive Room at the price of Superior. The room is bigger with a King sized bed and flat screen TV with around 50 channels. The most beautiful part is the toilet with red coloured tiles complete with shower and glass door. The staff were very polite and the check-in was very quick. The do housekeeing of your room every morning after you left for your outings.
3) Food is everywhere. There are two small shops across the road - one selling Chinese food and one selling Nasi Padang. However, I have never been there. There are more choices if you go further down the road near to the big hotels.
4) The train ride on Argo Gede - Express train from Bandung to Gambir is worth going on to. The trip - one way cost IDR 50,000 - about 3 hours. It is aircon and it chugged into the country side at a normal speed. You can see all the activities as the train passes behind the homes of people - paddy field, farmers, motor cycle riders, and and various intervals your view will be replaced by different lanscapes like valleys, gorges and hilly areas - all green and beautiful. Gambir on the other end is a sleepy town. The station has several cafes but we ate at the food centre. There is one nasi padang stall located on the right as you entre. One meal is around IDR 11 - 12,000. That is lunch. A small cup of expresso coffee at the station cafe will cost IDR 50,000. Not worth. Bring your best 3-in-1 sachet and ask for hot water. At the station we booked another train back to Bandung after 1 hour as we wanted to go to Dago plaza for shopping and dinner.

The Contrast are :
1) The hotel is located along a very busy road and is very noisy. But not at night.
2) The towels are rather small.
3) There is no lift. So stay on the first floor.
4) The road is one way. The taxi will have to go one road before reaching your hotel.
5) The breakfast is meagre but OK - friend rice, noodle and some friend items, porridge. Of course the egg man will be waiting for your order of the toast or omelette. After all you will be rushing to go to places.
Note : Anyway these are trivial issues and your comfortable stay is more important.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bandung hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Citradream Bandung
Hotel Citradream Bandung
#50 of 231 in Bandung
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fabu Hotel Bandung
Fabu Hotel Bandung
#104 of 231 in Bandung
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenangan Hotel
Kenangan Hotel
#195 of 231 in Bandung
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#83 of 231 in Bandung
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Triple Seven Hotel
Triple Seven Hotel
#88 of 231 in Bandung
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
V Hotel & Residence
V Hotel & Residence
#57 of 231 in Bandung
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mutiara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutiara Hotel

Address: Kebon Kawung Street 60, Bandung 40171, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > West Java > Bandung
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 231 Hotels in Bandung
Price Range: $23 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mutiara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mutiara Hotel is only a short walk from Bandung Train Station and City Centre where most of our Dutch colonial period historical buildings are located, and nearby is the Jalan Asia Afrika where the Asia Africa conference was held in 1955. Our hotel interior is admired for a nice blend between the modern and colonial era. The hotel has been personally furnished by the owner with many interesting colonial vintage style pieces. Once you enter our hotel, you will forget the hustle and bustle of the city, and you can then enjoy the spacious outdoor areas and lush garden pool area along with our many green indoor plants many with nice fragrant flowers throughout the property which makes for a relaxing environment and will help you to feel very much at home. Indonesian's are naturally very friendly and our staff have been trained to give their best when serving our guests with prompt and friendly service. They are happy to help with any questions about the local area. The famous Muslim apparel and fashion outlet the 'Pasar Baru' is only a 5 minute drive or Taxi ride. There is a good variety of local eateries and Restaurants in our neighborhood, also Grocery shops. Only a short walk away is the 'Hyper Square' food court which has 1001 kinds of the best local food which Bandung is most famous for. The Oleh Oleh Bandung food gift shop called 'Kartika Sari' is also only a 5 minute walk. Santosa Hospital is 5 minutes drive from our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mutiara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Bandung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing