We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only worthwhile hotel in Timika” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimba Papua Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Timika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rimba Papua Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Timika
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The only worthwhile hotel in Timika”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed for approximately 5 nights in this hotel for business. It has been quite a while since my last visit which was around 8 years ago when it was still managed by Sheraton. You have to know that Timika is not New York so facilities are very limited. This is the only worthwhile hotel to stay in Timika.

Pro:
1) near airport - only 5 minutes drive
2) comfortable room and very big room
3) working aircon

Cons:
1) foor choices are very limited (lunch and dinner are the same and the menu only consist of two pages)
2) transportation is very limited (not the hotel fault though)

If ever you are in Timika, then this is the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
3
3
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here for business trip. This hotel's location is very near with Mozes Kilangin Airport Timika. Compare with another hotel at Timika, I think Rimba Papua is the best one. I have come to Rimba Papua in 2012 and 2013. I stayed in the best viewed room because my room's view is swimming pool, I really love to sit at the terrace, played the music from ipod (they provide ipod's speaker) and saw the pool. For food and beverages are also good, but sometimes I felt bored with the food variety because when you stay longer here, you'll gonna feel so bored with the food's variety. I also enjoyed my weekend at this hotel. I enjoyed the swimming pool area and also the pool bar. I really recommend you to pick this hotel as your business or leisure trip at Timika. Rimba Papua also provide a good spa too. I've tried massage at this hotel, release my back pain after long office hours. For the room service and cleanliness, I definitely say excellent. I feel so comfortable stayed at this hotel for long business trip.

Room Tip: You are so lucky if you got the room with swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peony_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here as a guest of PT Freeport Indonesia. The staff in front desk didn't give a standard level of hospitality of former 5 stars hotel though.

In-room furniture, restaurant and bar still inherit the 5-stars standard of facilities. But they definitely need to replace a more than 10 years old stuff.

I like the concept of the design. Material choice for the buildings is high in quality.

Staff in front desk and restaurant definitely need more trainings, or at least a refreshment training to recall a minimum 4-stars hotel standard, that this hotel has now I suppose.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tembagapura
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently had another nice weekend at this hotel, which is a great escape from home. We love the pool, and the pool bar serves decent snack type foods.
The rooms are spacious and well decorated, especially the renovated rooms.
The staff is very friendly and always very helpful.
Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant is not really up to scratch, too often the food is below standard (overly salted salmon, or miniature sized fish) and usually the cook is right in stead of the customer. Regularly items are out of stock.
A great miss is also the lack of a good child's menu.
Internet is a bit of a problem. There is a hotspot with good speed internet, but it is located at the pool area, so only rooms with a pool view can profit.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms have Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirkSmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in the Rimba over the October 2012 for about 2 weeks and really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are well airconditioned and very nice. The restaurant provides a full continental breakfast and a la cart menu for lunch and dinner. The selection, presentation and taste is good.The Crab pot restaurant at the pool side provides a nice range of light meals and is very tasty. The swimming pool is very well maintaioned and beautiful. The lounge provides a nice spot for afternoon drinks and socioalizing. The gymnasium is well equiped.

Room Tip: 1. For the best wi-fi reception take a room as close as possible to the swimming pool as the rooter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LazenbyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here before when it was a Sheraton and it has inherited the quality of the rooms and beautiful grounds. There is however a massive drop off in the quality of food. Room service food I returned ( rock hard and dry tenderloin with equally dry mash plus an unidentifiable hard object in the food which looked a bit like half a tooth and it certainly wasn't mine. The gravy was not what I ordered and had the consistency of soup) I was still charged for it and no apologies or alternative offered. I can understand that on a bad day there can be a once off bad food experience but breakfast showed cost cutting - the breads were stale and of budget supermarket quality. The canned food tasted off and particularly the cherries were a touch fermented !! The coffee was good and nice to have bacon. When arriving in the room there was a bowl of water presumably to rinse the fruit in the fruit basket which didn't contain any fruit. Besides it looked like the water had been standing there for many days as it was discoloured.

Wireless Internet worked well generally and did not require a password which is a brilliant idea. The front staff on arrival was unsmiling but on departure rather friendly and helpful when they discovered my title. Free shuttle to the airport.

This hotel has the monopoly in the town and is guaranteed brisk trade from all the management, engineers and medical staff who pass through Timika on the way to the Freeport mine. Presumably it doesn't need to try to impress anyone unless a competitor comes along and builds another hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Herbert1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ever since I asked Trip Advisor to introduce this hotel, I've stayed many times because my husband works for the Freeport Mining Company and we use it when we get to the lowlands. It used to be Sheraton, now it belongs to Freeport. The rooms have been gradually reconstructed and are clean, with very good beds, interesting local works of art, good size. The bathrooms have showers and are good size as well. The only thing I dislike about the rooms is very noisy air conditioning.
The restaurant in the main building serves reasonable food although it can become pretty monotonous if you stay longer. There si a very nice swimming pool in a lovely garden and I like to have a lunch in the Crab Pot, open plan restaurant next to it. Not advisable to stay after 4pm due to malaria and dengue fever mosquitoes threat.
We get usually booking through my husband secretaries but it can happen the hotel doesn't have a room for us if some Indonesian VIP arrives; eg a multistar general with the whole entourage...then it is a Freeport guesthouse in Kuala Kencana or a dubious hotel in Timika.
Staff is usually very polite and helpful but beware that their English is very limited, it is not acceptable in their culture to admit that they do not understand and this combination can bring some frustrating moments.

Room Tip: Try to get one with functioning wi fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MorskaVydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timika
0.0 mi away
Asana Biak Papua
Asana Biak Papua
#1 of 3 in Biak
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
24.9 mi away
Grand Tembaga Hotel
Grand Tembaga Hotel
#2 of 3 in Timika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Papua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Papua Hotel

Property: Rimba Papua Hotel
Address: 3 Kwamki Lama, Timika 98663, Indonesia (Formerly Sheraton Timika Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Papua > Timika
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Timika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Sheraton Timika
Timika Sheraton
Rimba Papua Hotel Timika, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing