We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ubud
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great crispy duck!”
Review of Bebek Bengil

Bebek Bengil
Ranked #505 of 1,179 Restaurants in Ubud
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I came here during the lunch rush and decided to sit at the bar - we got immediate service and it was fantastic! I had the crispy duck, he had some fish - although it was a bit expensive, it was worth it for the level of service we received. Our bartender/servers were so friendly! Would recommend trying the crispy duck, and make sure to get extra sambal!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pkaye393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudartaketut, Manajer at Bebek Bengil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Pkaye393,
Thank you for the positive review of you recent experience at bebek bengil ubud.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service,food and ambiance at our restaurant.
Big thank you for praising our bar team. once again thank you very much. Have a good day.

Best Regard

Ketut Sudarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020

Poor Service Very expensive for Bali
Quality of food was poor tried the crispy duck
not much meat had the escargot was very disappointing
the garlic bread seemed like it was a week old the waiter
took it to the kitchen and brought it back and said that is
the way it is suppose to be which is a little weird cause it is
just garlic bread had a bad smell also

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudartaketut, Manajer at Bebek Bengil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jim h,Thank you for sharing your feedback both positive and constructive. I apologize,our food was not up to your liking. We definitely will share this to our chef and all team.
Have a wonderful saya

Best Regard

Ketut Sudarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020 via mobile

One night we decided to try something different to our usual dinner spots and after a few stops ended up at Bebek Bengal.
I would have like to see this restaurant at daytime but sadly I never managed to do so. It seemed to be huge.
Menu rather large Duck is a specialty. Not cheap!!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Ninastyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudartaketut, Manajer at Bebek Bengil, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ninastyl
First of all,thank you for dining at our restaurant and spared time to wrote a review about your experiences. We do apologize your visit was not up to your expectation and than we will share this to all our team.
Regarding your comment about price were too expensive,we can explain that our food price are comparable to similiar restaurant in the area around us.
We hope that your experience Will not prevent you from returning where we hope to offer you a much better experience.

Best Regard

Ketut Sudarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

After visiting Bali for a number of years finally decided to go in and try this restaurant. The restaurant is lovely and stretches out back towards open fields. Service was very efficient and friendly.
The only thing that let the place down was the food! There are other restaurants in Ubud that serve much nicer duck.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank snowflakeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudartaketut, Manajer at Bebek Bengil, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Hi snowflakeson

Om Swastyastu

Thank you for dining at our restaurant and spared time to wrote a review about your experiences. We regret this visit was not up to your expectations,therefore we apologize for this and definitely will share this info to our culinary team.
Please contact me email address,when you return to visit us so we can ensure you get the best experience.

Best Regard

Ketut Sudarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

The restaurant itself is quite beautiful with many of the table surrounding a beautiful Balinese garden. The food however while good is never really excellent and to be honest failed to excite, nothing I ordered made me want to come back. The duck which the restaurant is famous for is nothing really special and the meat is actually a bit dry. Surprisingly, it tastes little different from normal duck so I question the claims that the duck is marinated in spices for any length of time. Overall I give the ambience of the place a 4 and the food a 3 for the price. I consider the restaurant overall skippable, there is better Balinese food around. We also had to wait quite a long to get our order so I would also not suggest this restaurant for people looking for a quick bite.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matthewhE6205SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sudartaketut, Manajer at Bebek Bengil, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Hi matthewhE6205SU
Warmest greeting from bebek bengil ubud,Om Swastyastu. Thank you for dining at our restaurant and spared time to wrote a review about your experiences. We are very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing about our product,we will share your feedback with the team. About your question,we need time 2,5 hours to marinated the duck,hope the spices untill inside the duck.
We hope you Will give us another chance,and hopely we can serve you again with the best service on your next visit.

Best Regard

Ketut Sudarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bebek Bengil also viewed

 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bebek Bengil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing