We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
34
44
26
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
44
26
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe bungalowblack rice puddingmonkey forestolder parttoast and eggslarge balconygardens are lovelydouble bednice poolubud palacetea and coffeethe hustle and bustlea wonderful stayquiet placeother hotelsmonkeysjaffle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 114 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

The kindest staff! They help with all You need. Best bananna juice. The garden is so pretty and the hotel is Close to a lot of great restaurants. Thank You for the Best start on our first vacation on Bali :)

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018

If you need to restore strength and just relax in a calm environment, then this place is just perfect for this! I spent 6 days here, and had a great time. Near the forest of monkeys and in walking distance there are places where you can eat normally. The staff here is very friendly and responsive. Thank you very much for the wonderful vacation!

P.S. And yes! Here is internet very very cool! Its about 50 mbs! For Bali is very very good!
Wi-fi is good signal everywhere (room, lobby, breakfast area, even shower)

Room Tip: I recommend the second floor, its nice view from there
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evgeny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 4 nights- 2 adults and 3 children.
Garden View is lovely and quiet, with beautiful lush green gardens, on a quiet side street. The rooms were very clean, with towels replaced everyday and beds made. The air conditioning was a welcome relief from the heat outside and cooled down the place quickly. We liked that the children were sleeping upstairs, whilst we were downstairs.
The bathroom is open air, with a little garden in it. The shower could do with a little bit of maintenance as the head was quite loose, but other than that, is was nice and clean and did it's job.
The breakfast was cooked fresh, albeit simple, and was great for filling the kids bellies enough for them to be ready for the days adventures.
The staff were exceptionally friendly, always with a big smile and a warm welcome for you everytime you arrived back to your villa. We cannot fault them at all.

It is about a 5-10minute walk to the main Ubud strip (although there are a couple of restaurants right outside your door).
The only issue we had is that to get to the main part of town, you must walk beside the monkey forest. The kids absolutely HATED that, as they were terrified of the monkeys, so it meant we couldn't go out at night at all- the darkness gave a whole 'nother level of terrifying to the experience. If you're not worried by the monkeys though, it would not be an issue.
All in all, it was a really lovely stay, with beautiful service, clean rooms, and a quiet location.
I would recommend it

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Coastal582304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017

Lovely, family-owned and run bungalows and cottages in an older, traditional Balinese style with wooden carved doors and traditional furnishings. Gardens and deep water pool are beautiful and immaculately kept by the staff. The staff are delightful and always smiling, happy, helpful and friendly. Delicious breakfast. Excellent budget price for what you get. Fantastic location right next to the Monkey Santuary, in Nyuh Kuning, a quieter area south of Ubud central. Overall, we had a lovely, peaceful stay and have fond memories of the place and the staff.

Here are some more (and honest) details so you have an accurate picture:
We stayed for 9 nights in a Delux bungalow with our 2 young children (3 yrs and 18 months), so we had 2 floors, with a 4-poster double bed downstairs, and twin singles upstairs. We were the only ones staying there at a quiet time, in November (off season) and with Mount Agung rumbling.

To be honest, it's an older building that hasn't been renovated so there were a few issues and safety concerns for our little ones. The electrics were old so some lights didn't work (or worked sporadically), and some sockets were precariously attached, but we moved furniture around to make the sockets inaccessible to little fingers. The plumbing was old too so it took about 10 minutes for the hot water to come through, and water pressure was very low. The wooden stairs going upstairs were rickety and steep with gaping holes in the banisters, but we kept our little ones away by barricading them with furniture and a suitcase! The Balinese have a thing for shiny tiles, and this cottage was no exception, they look lovely, but are a death trap when they're wet and slippery! Again, a few towels and sarongs on the wet floors stopped slipping disasters with our kids and the staff were very accommodating with giving us more towels. We were there in the wet season so wet floors from the rain was a daily occurrence.

We had an outside bathroom in our deluxe bungalow which was cool, although it hasn't been renovated so the fittings are a bit old and dodgy (shower kept falling out of its mount, for example). The plants in the little bathroom garden pots were dead when we arrived but the next day there were new plants in there, beautifully arranged, so the busy gardeners had worked their magic.

Hot drinking water is only available via the kitchen staff or reception, which is mostly fine except that my kids wake up at 5am, breakfast isn’t until 7.30am and I NEED a cup of tea to get me through the morning! However, I was able to go to the kitchen and either help myself to or ask the very sleepy night watchman for the remaining hot water that was kept in a thermos overnight. I think there was only 1 morning when there was no hot water. This could have been easily remedied by having a tea and coffee ‘station’ in reception like we’d seen in other hotels, and I’m sure that if I’d actually cared enough about it to ask, they’d have made sure I had hot water somehow.

So, once we’d adjusted our expectations, navigated the various safety challenges and worked out how we could make the place ‘ours’ for our stay, it was great!

Breakfast was served in the dining room above reception with a lovely view over the rooftops where we could watch the birds and monkeys! It was delicious, with a choice of Balinese coffee or tea, fruit salad or mixed fruit smoothie, and a choice of one hot dish each – banana pancake, toast and eggs, egg jaffle/toastie, or black rice pudding. We were actually given breakfast for 4 people, which was pretty awesome given our littlies are so young. We tried everything on the menu and it worked out great for our kids (and us!) to have a consistent choice that they got used to and were (mostly) happy with for the 9 days. The black rice pudding and jaffles were my favourite! Being a family with young children, there was often a huge mess at the end of breakfast but they patiently cleaned everything and didn’t say a word about it.

The pool was lovely and refreshing, clean and immaculately kept. It’s a deep pool, so not lots of space for the young ones to play without needing to be held or assisted, but we managed, they enjoyed it and their swimming improved!

There are a couple of fish ponds in the garden with a collection of koi fish. One of the family members comes to feed the fish every day and our kids loved joining in and watching the fish swim around.

The staff can arrange tours and a driver with their onsite vehicle. We had Nyoman Suparna as our driver for a few days and he was a lovely man, very informative about Balinese culture and traditions, and took us to some lovely places and was happy to go where we wanted, rather than to the places where he’d get commission. He was also very tolerant and patient of our noisy and often badly behaved children!

The location was fantastic, right next to the Monkey Sanctuary, and in a quieter area south of Ubud central. We often took the pedestrian/moped path and walked around the edge of the Monkey Sanctuary to get directly to central Ubud, which took about 20 minutes up to Ubud Palace. Note that if you choose to go by taxi, you’ll need to take the road which goes all the way down and around the main roads, so does cost a little more (70K to 100K rupiah). If we couldn’t walk it (due to the rain, heat or cranky kids), we just got a taxi to or from the northern entrance to the Monkey Sanctuary which was cheaper and quicker.

This is a locally-run, family business, and the staff were amazing, mostly had good English and were so friendly and accommodating, and they doted on our little ones, as the Balinese do. I would definitely go back 

Room Tip: All rooms look out onto the lovely gardens and have large verandahs
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RBtravelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

With such an affordable price, we got a big and well designed bungalow. Awesome air in the garden, open bathroom and a beautiful balcony. The breakfast is ok, not special. Staff is very attentive and speak English well.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Vượng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews