We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden View Cottage
Ranked #139 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As a young couple needing a cheap escape this was perfect for us. The shower was working with hot water and thats all we wanted! The air conditioner was great and the hotel in a quiet street away from the motorbike noise of the main streets. Fresh towels and flowers everyday with a great view. The hotel is very quiet which added to the feeling of having a private get-away. Loved it!

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room and dont walk back to the hotel through the monkey forest at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sardevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at Garden view because I like this area of Ubud, but truthfully the places I really wanted to be were booked. This is an OK hotel. It could be a lot better if only the bathrooms were up to standard. The staff are all really lovely and friendly, and seem to enjoy their jobs. The hotel is older, but has a good swimming pool and beautiful grounds with lots of mature trees and gorgeous flowers. The second-floor room was quite nice, and the large balcony with daybed and jungle view was private and relaxing, however the bathrooms could be much better and cleaner. Very weak water pressure, no shower curtain, a grungy tub, and a dirty drain in the corner of the floor were all unappealing. It’s too bad, because otherwise this is a nice place to stay. The rest of the room seemed relatively clean. It’s fairly cheap, but for just a little bit more there are superior options elsewhere. If you’re not picky about bathrooms and want to be in this area, it’s not the worst you could do in Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Well as per my previous review my expectations were high. Way too high. I was so disappointed with this place that I cut short my stay. Where do I start! The overhead fan was broken so had to use the air-conditioner that only had an on or off setting, no just fan. The bed had a piece of plywood under the mattress that creaked and cracked every time you moved. There was a power point hanging dangerously out of the wall in the bathroom. Black mould around the shower and the toilet looked and smelt like it had never been touched with bleach! Forget the in room wifi, if you can get a connection to even send an email you are winning. This sends you down to pay for the computers in the foyer. Pluses ... The gardens are beautiful. The property is set right back from the road. The staff are all very friendly and likeable. This just did not weigh in against the negatives for me. Very disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013
6  Thank Steve JW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a pre stay post. I thought I would share my experiences before checkin, my perceptions before and then compare with my actual experience. I found the Garden View on Trip Advisor. I was looking for a quiet place close to the Ubud sanctuary that I will be attending for three weeks. I was looking for an economical place to say and I believe this bungalow ticks the boxes without sacrificing comfort. I will share more as my stay in Ubud progresses, further to my experiences in Singapore.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank Steve JW R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a nice little hotel with rooms with rooms with air conditioning, free wifi and friendly staff, The Bath room was old, but things was working. There was a nice view form the room, that had a small balcony. The Hotel had a nice little pool, It server a nice breakfirst and was a good hotel considering the price :o)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikkel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

No roosters so the mornings are quiet. Breakfast is great. Staff is superb. Rainy season makes the pool a little murky. Other than that its all you need to relax in a tropical paradise. Not a lot of traffic and off the main tourist paths so you don't get hassled like most of Ubud.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewardwatertaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed for 5 days in October. I love to stay in the Nyuh Kuning area. It is a beautiful walk into Ubud and away from all the business. Because I booked in the last minute, not much was available during this time, so I ended up in Garden View. The Balcony and the view were great.The room was ok. The bathroom was terrrible.I dont know why, but in general the place had a sad feeling to it and needs an Uplift. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Budhi Ayu Villa
Budhi Ayu Villa
#133 of 199 in Ubud
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ubud Raya Hotel
Ubud Raya Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sayan
63 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kajeng Bungalows
Kajeng Bungalows
#166 of 199 in Ubud
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gita Maha Hotel
Gita Maha Hotel
#106 of 199 in Ubud
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abangan Bungalow
Abangan Bungalow
#151 of 199 in Ubud
112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sania's House Bungalows
Sania's House Bungalows
#157 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Cottage

Address: Jl. Nyuh Kuning | Nyuh Kuning Village, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range: $22 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden View Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden view cottage Ubud offers a wide green view of rice terrace to hide out and rest. We are located in the traditional village of Nyuh Kuning. Only 10 minutes to the monkey forest, shopping area, and restaurants of Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden View Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottage Hotel Ubud
Garden View Cottage Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing