We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ubud
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
88
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
88
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cantika zest villa shanti penestanan village rice fields day bed bintang supermarket unobtrusive staff cantika spa private entrance self contained daily cleaning outdoor living slice of heaven village life four nights first trip to bali bedroom villa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 101 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2020

The accommodation is comfortable and in a good location ( if you enjoy walking )
The staff were way too blasé however. As we were in a close villa to the office area we could hear the family who run the place until up to 10 in the evenings. Not that I don’t like children but it was noisy and on holidays you just want some quiet time.
Breakfast was below average so we ate out after the 1st morning.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TRAYCOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devisplaceubud, Guest Relations Manager at Devi's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thanks for your comments. We are sorry our light tropical breakfast did not meet your expectations, and that our in house menu was not able to meet your needs requiring you to eat out for breakfast. We have mentioned to our Bali family about the noise of the children playing in the evening. Thank you for pointing that out. We are surprised to hear that you found our staff to be blase as we have a delightful team who are consistently complimented for their work. We value your comments and thank you for coming to stay at Devi's Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019 via mobile

Devi’s Place provided more than we expected in pretty much every regard. The Mandala Villa was roomy, romantic and beautifully set up for an extended stay. We had everything we needed, and the separation between the living/dining area and the bedroom made it especially easy to keep our bedroom bug-free and cool without running too much A/C or fretting about keeping the dining area door open to the patio and enormous private pool. The outdoor path to the pool came in handy as well. Most importantly for us, the villa felt private, quiet, and utterly comfortable - a great retreat from hours spent in busy, traffic-heavy Ubud. The information booklet in the villa was a great resource, and Putu proved to be a fantastic communicator and host. She set up our airport transfers, delicious ordered-in dinner for the night we arrived, and a couples massage (totally worthwhile and relaxing) in our villa. Penestanan is friendly and convenient to everything, particularly the Campuhan Ridge trail, and we thoroughly enjoyed the early-morning pop-up markets for local breakfast treats; the one closest to Devi’s Place had the best Nasi Campur I’ve tasted yet. Our sole regret was not planning for a longer stay here. I can’t think of a single criticism for this place.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Arunner2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devisplaceubud, Guest Relations Manager at Devi's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review of Villa Mandala and Devi's Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Devi's place worked out well for us on our first trip to Bali. The set up for a small family travelling with a teenager with the two-bedroom villa was a good choice as we each had our own spaces to escape to. The kitchen and common area was well organized and clean. The pool was also very clean and nicely maintained. Lovely view of stars in the evening over the rice paddies in the back.

Staff was polite, attentive and helpful. It is a little distance from Ubud, which wasn't a problem for us. We did try and walk to the closest village from Devi's but without sidewalks and little shoulder on the road with all the traffic and winding roads, it was more daunting than we could manage. The driver Devi's provided was professional and kind, but very shy and quiet. He still working on his english, so we had a hard time communicating. We used another driver/guide from town who was less expensive as well.

I would have given five stars, but my only complaint about the unit was the overuse of noxious smelling mothballs. I understand they are trying to keep bugs at bay that most westerners are not accustomed to, however, by the end of the second sleep, my throat and eyes were on fire and I was having a hard time breathing. My husband and my son were fortunately not as affected. I asked the staff to find them and take them out of the room which they graciously tried to do, but I found 3 more directly under the bed, near the headboard afterwards which explained why I was having so much difficulty at night.

All of our clothing for the remainder of the trip took on the smell of mothballs and as we are unpacking there are still things that smell like mothballs. I would have to hope there is something less toxic smelling that could be used?

Room tip: ask staff to remove mothballs if you are sensitive to the smell.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDN_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devisplaceubud, Guest Relations Manager at Devi's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, please note that we will make sure that the camphor mothballs are no longer used in the bedrooms. Thank you for coming to stay at Devi's Place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2019 via mobile

A wonderful place to be out of Ubud, without being too far (25 mn walk) very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are very nice and typical. The staff is very kind. I liked the welcome drink ;)
This place needs renovation but I saw a lot of people painting and improving the place, the rooms. Otherwise, the pool was hot and the view over the rice fields was beautiful, a must at sunset.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank allysunamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devisplaceubud, Guest Relations Manager at Devi's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of the lovely Villa Shanti,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019 via mobile

It was our second time at Devi’s place and we loved it. We very much enjoyed seeing the rice paddies back into being planted again contrary to last year when there was an irrigation issue. So peaceful and it reminded us of rural Bali years back.
Unfortunately Putu’s young family has moved on to other duties, but Ketut, Kadek and Putri were still there and very helpful and engaging.
Thank you all. Hopefully we will be able to return to another stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank briAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devisplaceubud, Guest Relations Manager at Devi's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review, Putu and her family are still with us! She takes care of our bookings. We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews