We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay and good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sama's Cottages and Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Ranked #3 of 513 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Can't say much as it's already been said many times by other reviewers. If you want quiet, relaxed, comfortable accommodation then this is it. The property, with its extensive tropical gardens, has the feel of solitude in a rain forest. It is very peaceful and the property is bordered by a stream. We enjoyed daily coffee/cakes at their cafe "Kopi on Bisma, served by very friendly staff. It's a 10 minute walk to the market, has a swimming pool, cool air-conditioning, adequate breakfast (although, unfortunately no bacon), comfortable bed and pillows. There is no jug for hot water but a large flask of hot water is delivered to the room early morning. If you like milk in your coffee, be sure to ask or write on the breakfast form.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Anthony1962, we are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us at Sama's. We are indeed in a fantastic location, being in the centre of Ubud but still set back from the road enough for you to be able to take a break from the increasingly busy streets of Ubud. We love our little coffee shop too, and it is a winner for our guests who like a brilliant latte, cappuccino or short black. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed it too. We wish you all the very best and thankyou for not only staying with us, but for writing your review too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    106
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
71
174
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Sama's for 5 nights in May in a family room. The room was spotless, spacious and ideal for our family of four, fitted out beautifully. Our kids (aged 7) loved the paths and the pool and especially the coffee shop out the front - Kopi on Bisma. Best salad, coffee and milkshakes!! The Sama's breakfasts were also brilliant and fresh with lots of choices.
The hosts were fantastic, the staff were welcoming and helpful, and the location is perfect, in a side street off one of the main streets. We will definitely return to Sama's, we miss the smell of fresh frangipani flowers in the bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear AnnaM, it was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us, and you were even more special as you were the first to stay in our newly renovated family cottage. I too love the smell of frangipanis, they are such a part of Bali, and so we like to put them everywhere for our guests. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Kopi on Bisma coffee shop too, and that you were able to try not just the coffee! We thankyou so much for staying with us and wish you happy days always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has beautifully maintained gardens and a very high standard of cleanliness. It is in a very convenient location being close to the palace and walking distance to many temples, restaurants and monkey forest road. It is a great choice however I found the staff to be efficient rather than friendly and we did have a minor issue with the bill, however this was resolved without too much drama. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Its all about location, which for Sama's Cottages we think is just about perfect for Ubud. It is very close to the centre of town and yet so quiet and peaceful. The property is long and narrow, working it's way gently down the river bank, with the cottages well separated and set in what can only be described as typical lush Balinese gardens. Our cottage was very comfortable and the breakfast adequate. The staff, as is the norm for most of Ubud, were excellent. At less than AUD60 per night this hotel represents outstanding value in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandGayeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We listen to all our guests comments and take all constructive criticism on board. Over the past 3 months we have added more amenities in our rooms, as well as improving our breakfasts. It is fantastic to hear that these small improvements are being appreciated by our guests. We thankyou so much for staying with us at Sama's, and wish you all the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found this spot for our third night in Ubud. It was by far our favorite spot that we stayed and by no means the most expensive. We wish we had found it the first day.
The whole hotel is set back off the road down a small alley that opens to the beautiful pool. We were greeted at the front desk by very friendly staff. Our room was at the very end of the hotel down a couple different landings. The gardens were beautifully kept. The room was right above the river and we could hear the water flowing which was lovely along with all the animal noises. Very peaceful!
The room was very clean. The bathroom had very hot water with great water pressure which we had yet to find on our trip. It was stocked with all the amenities you would want. The AC was cold and the wifi signal was strong.
In the evening the friendly staff came by to light a mosquito coil on our porch. Breakfast was ordered the day before and delivered to our porch in the morning. It was the best breakfast of all the hotels we stayed at in Ubud and was totally delicious. We spent the rest of our day before checkout lounging by the pool. The pool was nice and clean and relaxing.
I think that it is the best bang for your buck and would absolutely stay there again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6. It was at the very back of the hotel, closest to the river. Very quiet with c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwilenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mwilenchik, what a beautiful, detailed review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we thankyou so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful, positive review. We are all working hard to make Sama's Cottages consistently a special place to stay, and it means a lot to us to know that is what you experienced. We hope to see you back here one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed more!

The property is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful little swimming pool with lounge chairs. Plants and flowers everywhere. An oasis in the middle of a bustling town. Very quiet.

We stayed in a standard air conditioned cottage. Breakfast is served on your front patio! You order the night before, lots of choices, and it is delivered at your specified time. Room was immaculate and comfortable.

Staff booked us on an excellent cycling tour of Ubud through Bali Eco Cycling. Highly recommend that activity and company.

Try to book in advance. Everything done through email, so there can be a lag. We only got to stay because someone cancelled last minute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan S, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Heidi, what a beautiful review, thankyou so much, you have captured in words just what we are trying to deliver to all of our guests here at Sama's. We are a simple, yet clean and peaceful property, with professional, attentive staff. We wish you could have stayed longer too! All the very best to you, and we hope to see you back here one day for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Sama Cottages, Ubud. On arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming and the surroundings peaceful and calm. It was a perfect spot away from the busy main streets of Ubud but only minutes walk from the centre of the town. Each morning we were served with breakfast on the balcony of our room at a time selected by us with a gentle knock on the door and a sweet good morning. Our cottage was really comfortable and clean and little touches like fresh flowers in the room each day made the experience even more special. We also met Kath (a Melbourne girl) and her husband Wayan, who were generous with their time to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. We spent some time lounging by the pool and took advantage of the private massage set up by the pool one afternoon as well (masseurs arranged by Kath and best we had in Bali). This was the best place we stayed in Bali and we would also say the best value!! We can't wait to return and it is without hesitation that we will stay at Sama Cottages again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgieborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#28 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sama's Cottages and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama's Cottages and Villas

Property: Sama's Cottages and Villas
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sama's Cottages and Villas is a peaceful and relaxing retreat in Ubud, yet is located just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of town. Our property has just 9 individual cottages and 3 villas, and all are newly renovated to make your stay more comfortable. You can choose either a fan cooled or air conditioned cottage, or a 1 or 2 bedroom private villa. Our staff bring your breakfast to your veranda each morning, or alternatively you may eat by our lovely pool if you wish. All room rates include breakfast and free WiFi, and are subject to 10 per cent Government Tax and 5 per cent Service Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sama's Cottages and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama`s Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sama's Cottages And Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing