We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Ranked #6 of 536 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“6 nights”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in SC for 6 nights, and don't quite get the glowing reviews. We had a fan-cooled room (mistake), but found breakfasts to be a real weak point. They're bad. Tried everything on the menu, juice was consistently tasteless and bland. The rooms are very basic and quite unremarkable. There were stains on our moz nets and the place generally seems a little worn.

Staff are great however, and the pool area is lovely, as are the grounds. Full of wildlife. Decent place for a decent rate but nothing spectacular

Room Tip: Get AC cooled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Brian, many thanks for your stay with us, and for taking the time to write a review. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I really appreciate your criticisms so that we can strive to improve our service, breakfasts, rooms, everything at Sama's Cottages. I am not sure why you stayed for 6 nights though if you didn't enjoy your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    111
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
180
60
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We and our family arrived late at night and were welcomed by the friendly, courteous, cheerful and helpful staff, we were taken to our separate cottages and helped with our suitcases too! Our cottage was lovely and very clean with a queen size bed fitted with mosquito nets, we never used the nets as we had no problems with mosquitoes. It was quite an experience to be awakened by the neighborhood roosters. Coffee, tea and a fantastic breakfast were served on our lanai (porch) overlooking the gorgeous and well kept tropical gardens.

Since Sama's Cottages are located just off the main road, it was easy for us to walk to the center of Ubud where we found;
Museums, art galleries, the water gardens, the temple, a very smelly but interesting local market, great restaurants and the monkey forest. There is so much to do in Ubud, that after long days of touring, shopping, exploring and eating, it was wonderful to come back to our beautiful, quiet piece of paradise and relax.

Kath, it was a pleasure meeting you and we, as well as Lani's and Chris and my sister from Texas thank you for a wonderful stay. We' ll highly recommend Sama's as a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We started off our trip to Bali here at Samma's cottage. The grounds are well kept and the staff is very nice. The rooms are up to day and clean. Breakfast is simple but good and brought to your terrace every day at your specified time. We love sitting out on the terrace with a nice view of the foliage. The pool is clean and not overly chlorinated. We had a great one and a half hour massage by the pool for 135,000 IDR, about 15 USD. Please tip well as it makes such a big difference in the masseuses life. The location is fantastic in Ubud. You are only steps away but the property is down a long enough walkway to get you away from the noise of the street. The only consideration that I recommend that you make is if you are easily woken by roosters at 5:30am and you would rather sleep in then ask for a room closer to the pool. Our room was closer to the back of the property by the woods and while the privacy and the view is great it may not be worth loosing sleep over. We had the omelette for breakfast which was pretty simple but tasty. We leave Samma's tomorrow to continue our journey but are planning to return to Ubud at the end of our trip for a couple of nights before leaving. One last suggestion is that due to the heat and humidity at this time of the year if its not something you are used to, I highly recommend paying just a bit more and getting an air conditioned room. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Loud roosters to the back of the property at 5:30 AM and a nice view and privacy. closer to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboneabq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Recently I spent 2 months staying in Villa Ayu, with family and friends visiting and staying in the cottages. We were all very happy with everything at Samas. Hosts Wayan and Kath are welcoming, friendly and helpful, as are their delightful staff. Beautiful gardens surround all the cottages, it is quiet and peaceful yet within a few minutes walk to bustling central Ubud. I have been visiting Ubud for many years and Samas is definitely now my No. 1 spot, I've already booked a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samasmaghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear samasmaghi, we all miss you here, it was so wonderful to have you stay with us for 2 months......we are thrilled to know you will be back staying with us again early next year. The boys will still be here ready to serve you again. We can't thankyou enough for being such a lovely, warm guest, and for writing such an excellent review. All the best back in Oz, take care and we look forward to having you back here very soon...you are already part of the Sama's family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I initially booked Sama's Cottages for 5 night, but extended in the end because it is such a nice and relaxing place to stay. The cottages are lovely, traditional, yet, modern and comfortable, very clean. You might get some insects though, but that's to be expected with all the greenery around. The grounds are beautiful, very nicely designed. There are quite a few cottages, but due to the landscaping you have a lot of privacy. The pool area is a nice way to cool off after a walk through the summer heat. Ubud Monkey Forest Rd with all its hops and restaurants is about a 10 min walk away, but there are loads on the way in case you don't like walking that far. Jl Bisma is a nice little street off Ubud's main street so you can escape from the tourist traps and relax i Sama's and even get a feel for how the locals live, if you walk further own the road along beautiful rice fields.The staff re very attentive and help with arranging transportation and anyhing else you might need. I can highly recommend this place, would go back any time!

Room Tip: Standard fan-cooled cottage is fine can get very warm at night though
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is a little piece of magic. We stayed for a memorable five nights. Had intended to stay seven but let Kath know we needed to amend our booking to catch up with friends in Seminyak. No problem. Thanks Kath. Place is spick and span and a gentle sanctuary from what can at times be a very busy Ubud. So peaceful yet you are on Jalan Bisma with everything close by. Comfortable bed. The bathroom was brilliant, modern conveniences with an outlook onto rainforest. Breakfasts delivered to the verandah in the mornings were a real treat. Calm and friendly staff. The pool was bigger and cooler than expected and we easily had access each day to the pool and sun lounges. Highly recommended as a great place to stay in Ubud.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior fan cooled cottage as we prefer fans to air-conditioning and it was great to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Julia, we take a relaxed approach to bookings and feel that everything always works out for the best in the end anyway, so it is never a problem for us if you need to change dates (subject to availability!), we are more than happy to help out! We work on an honesty system and it works for all I think. You were such wonderful guests to have stay with us and thankyou so much for writing this amazing review. Our staff ARE calm, gracious and courteous, we would be nowhere without them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights at this gorgeous property. Cheap, clean, friendly, great location, nice pool, comfy cottage. Really special little precinct is Bisma Street. Keep your plastic water bottles to refil - on Bisma Street there are two businesses that you pay to fill your water bottles. This helps with the fight to reduce water bottle rubbish. The laundry next to Sama's will give you a price per kilo rather than paying per item. Good location to Sari Organic trail - your have to go to Sari Organic restaurant - Amazing scenery and food. I really liked breakfast each morning on our verandah. You order the night before and nominate a time and they bring your breakfast to your cottage. They also ask if you would like a straw with your juice which I didn't really understand but realised they are trying to reduce plastic rubbish. So no to straw with juice! I will always return to this property in Ubud - I loved it and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynfrombroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Robyn from Broome, thankyou so much for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are so glad you had a restful and relaxing stay with us. We are indeed trying to reduce our use of plastics here at Sama's, in an effort to help the problem of rubbish in Bali overall, so thankyou so much for highlighting this to other guests who may stay with us in the future. We wish you all the best in lovely Broome and hope to see you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.4 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.6 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#13 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sama's Cottages and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama's Cottages and Villas

Property: Sama's Cottages and Villas
Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sama's Cottages and Villas is a peaceful and relaxing retreat in Ubud, yet is located just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of town. Our property has just 9 individual cottages and 3 villas, and all are newly renovated to make your stay more comfortable. You can choose either a fan cooled or air conditioned cottage, or a 1 or 2 bedroom private villa. Our staff bring your breakfast to your veranda each morning, or alternatively you may eat by our lovely pool if you wish. All room rates include breakfast and free WiFi, and are subject to 10 per cent Government Tax and 5 per cent Service Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sama's Cottages and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama`s Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sama's Cottages And Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing