We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B&B near centre of Ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Ranked #4 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Booked Sama's cottages as I was looking for a good value stay near the centre of Ubud and it delivered just that. It's on Jalan Bisma which is a nice little street off the main road within easy walking distance of Ubud's centre. We stayed in a standard air con room right at the back of the resort, which starts to lower down at the edge of what is probably a river in wet season.

The breakfast could do with improvements. The omelette was so salty that is was inedible, the toast was cardboard like and the pancakes were only ok (you don't get all of these together - you have to choose one or the other) but it was nice having it delivered to your terrace.

The room was very basic but sufficient. The energy saving lights were inadequate for lighting the room. The bathroom was very basic; a plastic bath with shower over and no screen or curtain (wet floor after a shower). Small sink and not much space to put things.

We had a Geko living in the roof in our room. I didn't mind him too much as he probably kept other insects at bay and apart from saying hello (Ge-Ko) to us when we returned to our room in the evening, he kept himself to himself. I did have to clean his poo up off the floor one time though!

On a final note, I'm glad I kept hold of the earplugs I was given on the plane as those blasted roosters go for it at 4 o'clock in the morning!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Phill, many thanks for your detailed review of our property. We listen to all our guests comments and continuously try to improve Sama's Cottages. We have taken your comments on board re the bathroom and have plans to put in more shelving and a screen in the bath/shower area. Not sure what you mean by a plastic bathtub though........! Breakfasts also are served with salt and pepper served separately, in a effort to cater for those guests who do not like salt and pepper added to their food, which we totally understand. Once again too, I apologise for the roosters but also once again, as per previous comments on TA I need to point out that rooster noise is out of our control.....roosters are an integral part of the culture here in Ubud and are not going anywhere! We thankyou so much for staying with us and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 473 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sama's in September 2012, we picked it based on the name as it is the same as my boyfriends last name and we were not disappointed. It is down a little alleyway off one of the main streets in the middle of Ubud and we were in the very front cottage but there was no noise from the streets and even though there were many people staying at the same time, it was never disturbing. The staff are friendly and very polite. Breakfast is delivered to your front porch at your leisure and it is a great way to start your day. All the attractions of Ubud town are right at your doorstep and easily reached by walking and viewing all the Ubud has to offer. Our only complaint is that there were not enough sun beds by the pool. There is room for more and this would have made us even happier. We just wish we had of stayed longer. Thank you Sama's.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sarak8Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hi Sara, thankyou so much for posting your review for Sama's Cottages. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will one day make it back to us for another peaceful stay. We have noted your comments about the poolside banana lounges and have ordered some more. Most of the time our pool is not busy and the existing lounges are plenty, but on the occasions the pool is crowded we can see there is a shortage. We listen to all our guest comments and are constantly trying to improve our place, so thankyou for your constructive comments. We wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

our stay at Samas Cottage was AMAZING, we spent a wonderful ten days in a lovely room right down the bottom close to the lovely chatty roosters which we enjoyed listening to all day everyday, especially whilst eating our scrumptious banana pancakes every morning. The staff were more than happy to fulfil any of our odd request's and made us feel like family, even helping us with our langauge skills at times. We had a wonderful time teaching our 2yr old daughter to swim in the lovely pool area and are happy to say it is something we will never forget. Thank you for sharing your little slice of paradise with us. Next time i dont think i will ever leave!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Emily, thankyou for such a heartfelt review. It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us, and everyone loved your daughter! We are so happy that we helped make your family holiday special. Take care and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is my home away from home. I LOVE it. It feels like coming home,or staying with family. Jl Bisma is the BEST street in Ubud, with accommodation, restaurants, warungs (for your Bintang), spas, galleries, rice paddies, laundry, internet cafe, Casa Luna Cooking School, all within a stroll from JL Raya Ubud. It is a real working street, just off the main road. Wayan and Kath are the best hosts and they offer a taste of Bali life far removed from the glitz and glamour of places like Seminyak and Nusa Dua. Sama's Cottages is real value for money. I love waking up (albeit quite early) to a rooster crowing, then pigeons cooing, then the sounds of the street's inhabitants starting their day.

Room Tip: You don't need air con so go with a room with a fan. You need to be fit to reach the cottages f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 666Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Sally, thankyou so much for another stay with us, we so enjoyed meeting you again, with your dad this time! Thankyou too for bringing over the NZ mags too for Kath :). Thankyou for being understanding about the roosters too, which we know get comments but which we can do nothing about as this is Bali and part of everyday life here. As one guest said this morning, "they add to the ambience and sure beat an alarm clock!" We really appreciate your wonderful review and are looking forward to having you stay with us again next time. All the very best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Sama's Cottages for one week in August 2012, and we couldn't have picked a better place. As soon as you walk in off Jalan Bisma, you immediately feel a sense of calm. The beautiful grounds are quiet and serene, the pool area is surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and could be miles from anywhere, and the cottages themselves are up to western standards, offering queen size 4-poster beds with mosquito netting, large and clean bathrooms with either a bath tub or a shower, safety deposit box, and a large verandah on which you can sit, be served breakfast in the morning, and laze away the day. The staff are very friendly and courteous, the rooms were serviced every day and were spotlessly clean, and the bath towels were the thickest we have ever been given. Perfect.
Just a couple of small negatives. Rooms 3 (superior fan-cooled) and 1 (superior air-conditioned) are built facing each other, and you come out of your room and look straight across into the other room. We felt that these two rooms would have been better if they had been built facing side on. Also, the hot water tank must be rather small, as the water tends to go cold very quickly into the second shower, and is not adequate for filling a bath very deep. Just about okay for a couple, but a family would find it a problem. Having said that, these are only relatively small negatives, and certainly wouldn't prevent us staying there again. In fact, we are already planning our next stay, as we enjoyed it so much.
Value-for-money, Sama's probably isn't the cheapest accommodation in Ubud, but you get what you pay for, and it's hard to imagine anywhere more comfortable than here. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear valued guest, many thanks for such a wonderful 5 star review. We all take pride in our high standard of service and cleanliness here at Sama's Cottages.The way you describe Sama's is exactly what we are trying to create for you as a guest, so it is wonderful to hear it all confirmed by you. Thankyou.

We are always working to improve our cottages and thankyou for your constructive comments too. The cottages you stayed in were actually first built 25 years ago, so there is unfortunately little we can do about the direction they face. These two rooms are, however, at least 5 metres apart, and we have intentionally planted beautiful tropical plants right out the front of each veranda, in order to create a feeling of privacy. We also have the outdoor chairs and tables on each veranda facing away from the other cottage, again in order to maintain a level of privacy. Our property is indeed not overly big and you will see and hear other guests coming and going.

As for water....I am so sorry you did not feel there was not enough hot water for your bath. Each cottage has its own se3parate water tank and heater. We also have a very real issue facing us in Bali re water shortage, so we are sorry but I can't increase the tanks any bigger than they already are.

To say we are the "perfect place to stay in Ubud" is a great compliment to us and once again, we thankyou so much for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Wayan & Kathy are exceptional hosts who make your stay a memorable experience. Staff are considerate breakfast are excellent and we had the good fortune of spending some days in the private villa which was to die for, fresh frangapinis on the pristine beds every morning, clear cool pool and Wayan's spicy omelette and banana pancakes are the best we've had in Bali. You will love your time at Samas. Annie & Robert

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onetonnerodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went to Ubud for my 6 day Bali getaway (August 4~9, 2012). I have been to 3 different hotels in the area. So far, what I highly recommend is Sama's Cottages as the place to stay. Here are the reasons why:

Perfect location and facilities
- Location is very good. It’s in the heart of Ubud but shielded from the noisy and busy alleys. Convenience stores, museums (Puri Lukisan and Neka), Ubud palace, and restaurants (Murni Warung, Bridges, Babi Guling, Nomad and Melting Wok) are just walking distance from the hotel.
- Rooms and the facilities are clean and well maintained by the staff.
- Bed and pillows are just right for me. I was able to sleep well through the night without any problem. I've stayed in five star hotels around Asia. Comparatively, I didn't have trouble sleeping here.

Excellent service
- No reservation or advance fees. All you have to do is reserve through their website and Kath will respond and confirm your booking.
- The staff is among the more personable staff I have met. They are very nice, accommodating, and always deliver my breakfast on time.
- Massage service is better than the massage provided in the some of the other spas. The rate is the same whether you want to have the massage beside the pool or inside your room. I've scheduled my massage in the evening after a busy day of touring so that I could go to sleep after the massage.
- The Ubud Information Booklet provided in your room is useful as it provides the necessary details on the schedule of the nightly performances, travel tours, things to do in Ubud, and restaurants to try.


I’ll be staying in Sama’s Cottages on my next visit. In fact, I already made bookings this coming November 2012 and August 2013.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlon_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samascottages, Owner at Sama's Cottages and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Marlon, what a statement, "The best place to stay in Ubud!" We can't thankyou enough for taking the time to write such a heartfelt and detailed review, it makes all our hard work worth it! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are all looking forward to seeing you again in November!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#51 of 199 in Ubud
539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#32 of 199 in Ubud
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 640 in Ubud
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#3 of 640 in Ubud
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
0.1 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#11 of 640 in Ubud
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sama's Cottages and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sama's Cottages and Villas

Address: Bisma Street, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: $28 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sama's Cottages and Villas is a peaceful and relaxing retreat in Ubud, yet is located just a 5 minute stroll from the centre of town. Our property has just 9 individual cottages and 3 villas, and all are newly renovated to make your stay more comfortable. You can choose either a fan cooled or air conditioned cottage, or a 1 or 2 bedroom private villa. Our staff bring your breakfast to your veranda each morning, or alternatively you may eat by our lovely pool if you wish. All room rates include breakfast and free WiFi, and are subject to 10 per cent Government Tax and 5 per cent Service Fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sama's Cottages and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sama`s Cottages Hotel Ubud
Sama's Cottages And Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing