We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, convenient”

Cafe Wayan & Bakery
Ranked #129 of 1,182 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cafe Wayan and Bakery Established in 1986 We are happy to have had so many nice guests come to enjoy our food for over 32 years. Cafe Wayan started as a small warung (a local food stall) where Ibu Wayan sold black rice pudding and coffee to the rice farmers on what has now become Monkey Forest Road. Tourist began walking down "the path" to the Monkey Forest and stopped by for a coffee, snacks or to buy peanuts for the monkeys. Ibu Wayans always love to cook as a child and soon the menu began to expand. Return friends to Ubud began helping with recipes of western dishes as long term visitors and residents sometimes miss their own food too. Ibu Wayan began traveling abroad and learned more western cooking with Chef Joe Schultz of India Joes's restaurant in Santa Cruz, California and also learned the art of Thai cuisine in Bangkok.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Menu was big but felt slightly limited for breakfast, however I had apple pancakes(crepes?) for breakfast and they were lovely.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Staplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 4,340 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020

The Wayan restaurant was our favourite in 2008 and we were very happy to find out it still existed, had not changed at all and the food was still very good. Enjoyed it a lot. Of course, in the meantime, Ubud has a lot more to offer, but this place is a bit old-style, like Bali used to be in the past when it was less touristic and more original. Recommend warmly.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snoringBommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

What a fantastic cooking class we did at Cafe Wayan! We learned to make a delicious range of dishes (all so tasty, especially the Balinese chicken salad!) under the expert guidance of Yanak and Made, and with the help of Iluh. The cooks are so informative and patient. We highly recommend this lovely class in the tranquility of Cafe Wayan's beautiful herb and vege garden.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank TinaJamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Can't help ourselves to pop into Wayans and grab a few cakes, once again the coconut meringue pie and cashew rhubarb tart did not let me down.
Cakes are beautiful presented and very fresh.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lorraineb993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful restaurant setting and food to match. Hefty portions of deliciousness. We actually went here with our local driver for breakfast before he took us out on a day trip and they served us before they were officially even open. Great service, great restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank samriggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wayan & Bakery also viewed

Ubud, Gianyar Regency
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 
 

Been to Cafe Wayan & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing