We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoped for better”

Cafe Wayan & Bakery
Ranked #58 of 746 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cafe Wayan and Bakery Established in 1986 We are happy to have had so many nice guests come to enjoy our food for over 30 years. Cafe Wayan started as a small warung (a local food stall) where Ibu Wayan sold black rice pudding and coffee to the rice farmers on what has now become Monkey Forest Road. Tourist began walking down "the path" to the Monkey Forest and stopped by for a coffee, snacks or to buy peanuts for the monkeys. Ibu Wayans always love to cook as a child and soon the menu began to expand. Return friends to Ubud began helping with recipes of western dishes as long term visitors and residents sometimes miss their own food too. Ibu Wayan began traveling abroad and learned more western cooking with Chef Joe Schultz of India Joes's restaurant in Santa Cruz, California and also learned the art of Thai cuisine in Bangkok.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hoped for better”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Cafe Wayan has the most gorgeous gardens, and the grounds are beautiful. A treat for the eyes! Unfortunately, we didn't enjoy the food as much. I ordered garlic and butter pawns which were a little on the dry side with not enough marinating in the garlic. My daugher ordered an Indonesian dish that was a little better. Food was on the expensive side. Service was very slow, and the cafe was not that busy. We would choose another restaurant on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,726
    1,013
    270
    79
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The friendliest, best dining experience in Bali”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have a long history with Cafe Wayan - that oasis of seclusion with its magical gardens and menu that beggars belief range and quality.
I first went there many years ago and so it was a pleasure to later introduce my friends, wife and family to the wonderful people there.
When we decided to get married in Bali, the staff at the Cafe helped us no end and we set up camp in the furthest pavilion in the garden as friends and family ebbed in and out to rest their weary feet after beating the streets of Ubud. It was a truly joyous occasion.
Later I was to find out two of my close friends have become addicted to the banana pancakes there, intending to return to Bali from Australia specifically for them.
Wind the clock forward a few years and it was lovely to return with our baby daughter to the same familiar place to introduce her. We were remembered and welcomed and treated beyond expectation.
I cannot recommend Cafe Wayan highly enough!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We dined here”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The gardens are beautiful, it is candle lit and very romantic. The food is fresh and tasty, great staff. Really lovely people and delicious food.
We also had a take-away for lunch, some sandwiches absolutely huge and very very tasty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phnompenh2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Cooking school and great food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Peaceful garden setting and fabulous ambience at Cafe Wayan and Bakery. Monkey Forest Red location but very quiet. Try the sampler plate - about 8 different traditional Balinese dishes. I keep coming back here. Prices very reasonable and beautiful rambling garden.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to eat in”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were in Ubud from 10 to 13th Sept 2013 and dined at this place 3 times (breakfast, lunch and dinner).What kept us coming back was the nice settings with lots of plants and ponds and variety of standard and floor sitting arrangements.The food was ample and tasty. Price was also reasonable and while waiting for the order to come they provide free tidbits to munch on. Off course there is the usual 15% tax to be added on to your price. We went in without the need for reservation unlike once when we were nearly turned away at Cafe Lotus because we do not have a reservation.There is a Sunday night buffet dinner at 150,000 rupiahs per person but we did not have the chance to try this as we were there during weekdays, This place is very central. Most people in Ubud know where it is. They seems to have a new branch called Laka Leka near Monkey Forest Road where there are also nightly performances. Unfortunately we know about this only when we get back.Great place to eat . You must go further in pass the normal tables in order to experience the nice garden setting and seating. Try it at least once for experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jude2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wayan & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Wayan & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing