We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Cafe Wayan & Bakery
Ranked #63 of 754 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Cafe Wayan and Bakery Established in 1986 We are happy to have had so many nice guests come to enjoy our food for over 31 years. Cafe Wayan started as a small warung (a local food stall) where Ibu Wayan sold black rice pudding and coffee to the rice farmers on what has now become Monkey Forest Road. Tourist began walking down "the path" to the Monkey Forest and stopped by for a coffee, snacks or to buy peanuts for the monkeys. Ibu Wayans always love to cook as a child and soon the menu began to expand. Return friends to Ubud began helping with recipes of western dishes as long term visitors and residents sometimes miss their own food too. Ibu Wayan began traveling abroad and learned more western cooking with Chef Joe Schultz of India Joes's restaurant in Santa Cruz, California and also learned the art of Thai cuisine in Bangkok.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely cafe in leafy surroundings. Not th emost inspiring fromthe street but you will get authentic Balinese food here that is great value and yum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allens_2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,758
    1,035
    276
    81
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Whilst a bit more expensive than we usually spend it was worth while, the food was the best we had in ubud

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janali05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best traditional food on our trip!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came here for dinner and were absolutely blown away by the food! It was beautifully presented and just as delicious as it looks (if not more)! The ambience was superb! Of all the restaurants we have dined at during our stay in Bali, this is definitely one to go back to again and again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What's happened here?”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had some small bites here for lunch, which was very nice. Staff is lovely too.
And we were looking forward to having a romantic dinner in the garden, as we did last year when we visited.
But, they have changed the lighting; what used to be a romantic setting is now a bright-white over-lighted place, just because of replacing the soft tone lights by bright-white lights.
They first placed the two of us on a large, five person table which we did not like, so we asked for something a bit more romantic and were than placed at a two person table, which was made out of white marble which we hardly could look at because of the bright lamp shining at it.
A disappointment because we were so looking forward to the death by chocolate dessert. But atmosphere is very important to us, so we left. I hope they change back to soft tone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cooking Classes”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my second visit to their cooking school and this time was not quite as good as the first time. This was mainly due to the fact that we felt rushed and most of the prep and cooking was done by the teachers. The result was very good though and the food delicious. May try somewhere different next time just as a comparison.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Wayan & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing