We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute”

Cafe Wayan & Bakery
Ranked #56 of 724 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Wayan and Bakery Established in 1986 We are happy to have had so many nice guests come to enjoy our food for over 30 years. Cafe Wayan started as a small warung (a local food stall) where Ibu Wayan sold black rice pudding and coffee to the rice farmers on what has now become Monkey Forest Road. Tourist began walking down "the path" to the Monkey Forest and stopped by for a coffee, snacks or to buy peanuts for the monkeys. Ibu Wayans always love to cook as a child and soon the menu began to expand. Return friends to Ubud began helping with recipes of western dishes as long term visitors and residents sometimes miss their own food too. Ibu Wayan began traveling abroad and learned more western cooking with Chef Joe Schultz of India Joes's restaurant in Santa Cruz, California and also learned the art of Thai cuisine in Bangkok.
Delhi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The loveliest gardens I have seen for a long time, and so evocative of Bali.

Worth stopping by for tea if not a meal. Lovely sprawl of tables across the gardens.

We went for desserts and they were quite average, but overall, well worth just sitting here for a while and soaking it all in.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dolly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,664
    980
    257
    72
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Garden Restaurant Experience Par Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

As ever - the Cafe Wayan Show time goes on - Ibu, Sumi and staff ensure you will have THE Ubud experience to remember - always. We are biased, we have been many times, why many times - because you enter another world and leave yours back there in "ordinary land" - let Cafe Wayan take over and just enjoy. Don't come to rate the food or the wine menu - both are more than you can possibly wish for unless greedy but come for "L'experience" - and try local fruit juices, try local food, ask for the specials, ask Sumi for the "new menu" items, and just enjoy. It's amazing. And please as we do reward the staff when you leave - don't be stingy as one famous New Yorker [as seen below here, oh my God, he's from the land of tips] was - not that I believe a word of his review - this is Bali and people are not paid Euro or Aussie style! So be generous - the hospitality will exceed your expectations. Always - that IS Cafe Wayan. Thank you Ibu, thank you Sumi, and staff. Sampai Juma

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The rest is very dark when you go in. And seating is not too comfy.

Food was ok, nothing fantastic. I was hoping for spicy indonesian fare but was not so. But was not too bad either.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank manhattancard3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cooking class a must try”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We did the 2 hour cooking class for AUD$30. We felt very spoilt after we were picked up by the shuttle and taken to their restaurant to learn about all the spices and vegetables before we chopped and diced, cooked and ate our 6 course meal. You also receive the recipe book and apron. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RosyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been here many times over the years and we like the food and love the view. Go downstairs to eat so you can hear the water and get the best views down below.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Wayan & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Wayan & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing