We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Murni's Warung”
Review of Murni's Warung

Murni's Warung
Ranked #74 of 731 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Murni, the owner of the equally famous Murni's Houses and Tamarind Spa, opened Ubud's first real restaurant in 1974 and it remains first in the hearts of many people today. The menu is varied and delicious and you can enjoy your drinks and meals and surf the Web using the free WiFi on one of four levels overlooking the river. Level 1: When you enter Murni's Warung, the first thing you'll notice is the view of the greenery on the river's hillside. The steel cable in the foreground supports the bridge next door. On the way to your table, you'll walk past a display cabinet of cakes and pastries that you should take a look at -- just so you'll know how much room to save for dessert. The restaurant is decorated with art from Murni's collection, including the small carvings high on the walls. Level 2: The large statue of Ganesha, the Elephant God, that greets you in the Lounge Bar was commissioned in 1997 and completed in early 2002. He and Murni are about the same height. This is a great place to have cocktails or meet friends for a drink. You can also eat here. Level 3: We generally reserve this level for parties, wedding receptions and birthday parties or when the Warung is overflowing. It can seat about 50-60 people. Level 4: And finally you arrive just above the river. You'll enjoy the sound of flowing water with your candlelit dinner in the midst of exotic surroundings. Murni's Warung Shop is a good place to wander in while you are waiting for your meal. And enjoy our books, Forty Delicious Years and Secrets of Bali.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Murni's Warung”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Murni's Warung is more than a restaurant it is an experience in Balinese culture. The art, sculpture, fabrics and artifacts in the shop and throughout the Warung are true Balinese, and of the highest quality. The setting is phenomenal: located along a deep river gorge with rushing water and abundant blooming flora...delightful. The food is also true Balinese. The chef is most excellent utilizing the freshest and tastiest ingredients. A cornerstone of Ubud, Murni's is a must do when you visit Ubud.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful endorsement and for mentioning not only the excellent food but the art, sculpture, fabrics and artifacts. I think and hope that the Balinese atmosphere I've tried to create is a good blend with Balinese food. Thank you also for posting the lovely photos. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    413
    119
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located next to a river, I recommend you visit Murni's for lunch instead of dinner. There are 4-5 floors to choose your seating from. I personally think the Tutu Ayam was delicious while the Soto Ayam was a tad too salty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the great photos and mentioning the good service and food. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking position”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The most amazing location for a restaurant. Situated on four levels overlooking a river, you can eat indoors or out. Food was very good and the service was courteous and very helpful

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for pointing out that we have a most amazing location for a restaurant. It's true. I'm glad that the food was very good and hope that you can return. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Like it Was Last Time - 15 years ago!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Yes the last time we were here was that long ago yet it seemed (thankfully) that little had changed.Still the same pleasant ambience, excellent food and great staff. In short to save me waffling on - if you are in Ubud go here at least once!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garrycathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for coming back after 15 years! We're still going strong! And thank you for recommending us and saying that we still have the same pleasant ambience, excellent food and great staff. Please don't leave it another 15 years! Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Views and Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Murni's Warung was so good we ate there for three dinners and one lunch. When you find a great thing, no need to mess it up else where although we did experience several other highly rated restaurants but none compared to the views, the hospitality and the food at Murni's. Before we left there were sad goodbyes and hugs to go all around. A wonderful spot!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skipper1967vet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murni W, Owner at Murni's Warung, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for saying that no other restaurant in Ubud compared to the views, the hospitality and the food at Murni's. I'm delighted that you enjoyed it so much and kept coming back. Murni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murni's Warung also viewed

 

Been to Murni's Warung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing