We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful trip”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #57 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Peaceful trip”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Crews are very helpful and polite. Swimming pool is nice.The only thing need to be improve will be the breakfast. The variety of breakfast is less but still..it is delicious.I have my pleasant trip with my husband in Bali.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evonne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    287
    57
    11
    4
See reviews for
155
490
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Older Balinese style boutique hotel with limited rooms but with plenty of space. Great value for money, so relaxing and peaceful. Wish I had stayed longer and not fallen of bike so I could enjoy it more. Great staff happy and so helpful. The manager took me to the clinic and staff fixed my scooter. They couldn't do enough. Thanks everyone we will be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarenTeam, Manager at Saren Indah Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
"our lovely customers"

Thank you very much to stay with Saren Indah Hotel
Our goal is"to provide maximum satisfactory service" to customers from the smallest to the most difficult things.
for guest staying here are our responsibility even considered as part of our family

wish you all the best,
Saren Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good: (1) Excellent service by staff. Really friendly folks and they try to help whenever they can. They even remembered my kids' names over our 4-night stay. (2) The pickup and dropoff service to town is terrific: while there are official times, they'd brave the traffic into town, wherever you may be or want to go. (3) Rooms are of decent size and compound kept really clean and comfortable.

Can be improved: (1) Room is showing some age and there is an ant problem in the bathroom. (2) TV reception is poor with few/no western selections. (3) Hotel is not designed for kids: limited kids channels, no baby cribs and pools are too deep (admittedly, we realised that only the large resort-type places in Bali cater to kids). (4) Aircon is underpowered. (5) Bed was ok but getting lumpy.

Overall it's a nice location near to the monkey forest (monkeys will stray into compound occasionally), walkable into town if you are determined enough (25min). Good restaurant next door (Laka Leke). And I guess it's still quite affordable compared to places closer to town, considering the place has a well maintained pool and breakfast included. The padi fields make this place feel bigger than it really is.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had 3 perfect days at Saren Indah! The people were so kind and nice! The room was perfect with a nice view at the garden and rice fields. Breakfast and dinner are delicious! It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Monkey Forest Road.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHennekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarenTeam, Manager at Saren Indah Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
" greet day from Saren Indah Hotel"

thank you very much to choose Saren Indah Hotel as your second home during your holiday.
with a profesional staff,quit location,we offer to our costumer "wow service"more than excellent service
We waiting you on next holiday

have a nice day
Saren Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Great location, traditional Balinese style very clean hotel, great staff with excellent customer service. Beautiful, peaceful rice paddy views from our balcony? We were pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Walking distance to monkey forest, day spas, restaurants and shopping areas. Daily regular shuttle bus service available wherever you needed to go or be picked up from. Manager and staff went out of their way to assist wherever possible. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We discovered the Saren Indah Hotel on Tripadvisor, when our original plan to stay on the coast was changed to four nights at inland Ubud. Right from the start there was great attention to detail. We asked for a ground floor room, to avoid stairs, and received a prompt e-mail describing the garden-view room they proposed for us. I asked if airport transfer was possible and again received a prompt message to the affirmative with the very reasonable cost clearly stated.

At Bali airport we were met by charming Wayan Ariadi, the hotel’s Assistant Operation Manager. Bali’s traffic has to be seen to be believed but Wayan’s careful driving gave us a great sense that we were in safe hands, and an hour or so later we arrived at our temporary home.

The hotel itself has been carefully and sympathetically crafted to feel a part of the local agricultural scenery, and several of the public areas and bedrooms overlook beautiful luminous-green rice paddies with palm trees. While the upper floor rooms command more extensive views over the paddies, the ground floor rooms look out onto a wall of lush vegetation that gives the impression of being in the jungle. Birds and lizards are common sights around the hotel’s grounds in the daytime, and a wonderful cacophony of unseen frogs and crickets begins at dusk. This evening chorus is not spoiled by the sound of scooters even though the road is not far away – you really could be miles away from civilisation.

Our room was very clean and had a double bed with full-size “box” mosquito net. When we were there (March) mosquitos were not a problem. The air-con was effective and quiet, and the shower was powerful and plenty hot enough. A quirk of the design meant that the wash basin and mirror were in the main room even though there was plenty of unused space in the bathroom.

The pool and other public areas are beautifully maintained and you don’t feel that you are in an impersonal hotel block. Breakfast is included and cooked items are prepared to order. Monkeys visited one morning but were not troublesome while enviously watching the feast below. The menu for lunch and dinner is extensive and good enough to encourage “staying in” rather then going into town again. Local tours are available from the hotel and Wayan helped us plan two full-day and one half-day tour of the southern part of the island. They have suggested fixed tours but we tailored ours to suit us and Wayan took over from there. He is clearly very proud of his Balinese heritage and this pride leads to a great desire to provide what his guests want to see, especially amongst the richness of cultural sites. For those a little more independent, the hotel has a two-hourly free shuttle into Ubud but the precise drop-off and pick-up locations can be arranged with the hotel.

The most charming aspect of the Saren Indah is the staff. We were made to feel very welcome and valued by all of them and we will miss the friendly greetings and genuine smiles every time we arrived back or set out on a tour. We certainly hope to return. My only regret? We were so busy that I never got to swim in that enticing pool! Thank you, everyone at Saren Indah, for making our short holiday so enjoyable and worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms look out at a wall of luxuriant vegetation, whereas upper floor rooms look out ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteflyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarenTeam, Manajer at Saren Indah Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
" Warmest Greeting from Saren Indah Hotel"

Thank you very much to choosed Saren Indah Hotel as a short second home during your vacation.
We offer the best service with friendly staff,smart,excellent service,will give fresh atmosphere to feel comfortable,and relaxing day

Once again thank you very much to trusted us during your journey
We are excellent without you

Saren Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We arrived at 10 o'clock at night, 30 celcius temperature and the atmosphere of the lighted pool, the quietness of the surroundings and the soft balinese music playing in the background made us feel like we had arrived in paradise. Everyone of the staff were always very welcoming and helpful during our 4 day stay. The pool was wonderful, perfect temperature for the very, very hot days. You can get a balinese massage in a curtained area right by the pool if you wish. Grounds are very clean and nicely landscaped. Our room was on the ground floor and not facing the rice field but had beautiful view instead of large green palms and tropical flowers, very nice. Inside the room was a large bed with netting, which we didn't need as there were few mosquitos, although it looks very romantic. There are two very small closet areas for hanging clothes, but no drawers. I would suggest bringing several over the door hooks. There is a hairdryer. Shower is fine for short-medium people but a tall person would have to remove the hand-held device as it is mounted too low for a tall person to get underneath it.There are two lovely chairs just outside of your room which I guess would be nice if you were a smoker or just to sit and enjoy the surroundings. The hotel itself is very quiet and serene, however Ubud itself is not. It is several streets of busy shops, restaurants, busy traffic, lots of motorcycles/scooters. There are beautiful temples, sculptures, flowers. It's a ten minute drive by car to ubud but you can walk through the monkey forest (less than 5 minutes away) which will take you into Ubud in a 10-15 minute walk. We are one of the closest hotels to the monkey forest so sometimes a few of the monkeys will come into the hotel grounds but it's not too bad just be aware and don't feed them. The best thing I saw near Ubud was the Tallingate terraced rice fields just north of Ubud (different from regular rice fields) don't miss them! Enjoy your trip to paradise!

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps to get up to the 2nd floor. Ground floor was very nice, had a nice view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OttawaValley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
487 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#55 of 196 in Ubud
652 reviews
1.1 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Property: Saren Indah Hotel
Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing