We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This crazy place actually existed?”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #58 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is amazing.

However, it is not a place for everyone. More on that later.

First thing you would have to wrangle is booking. Called the contact number listed on their website - the staff on duty speaks passable English - helpful in dishing out standard information, not so helpful in helping you out with your travel itinerary needs such as day/time/budget/etc. Was frustrated and went directly to email - took a bit of email to sort things out, at least the booking went through as we were already in Seminyak at the time of booking. This is the first thing Saren Indah can improve on as it is the first touch point for any interested customers.

Check-in process were a mixed feeling as it was slow - perhaps due to the heavy rain the same time I checked in - had some minty tropical fruit welcome drink followed by a brief session on the sights to see/eat in Ubud(comes with map - this saves us a lot of time when we're briefly lost), shuttle service to the Ubud center (Along Monkey Forest Road, if I remember correctly - comes with handy shuttle timing, once every 2 hrs from 9AM till 7PM/9PM). Here's another killer service they shared - should you be dining anywhere in Ubud and you would like to peruse the shuttle service, have your hotel card (Saren Indah's issued guest card) shared with the restaurant's staff - they will call your hotel and wah lah! you'll be picked up in no time.

Tired from the long day trip - the Deluxe Garden room we were in was great! We walked in into a roomy room with welcome fruit basket and a nice twin swan (rolled from towels - realized that when we showered) with a welcome note. Needless to say, we were impressed.

Now straight to business:-

1. The location of the hotel is a bit far from Ubud's town center where all the action is happening. Even the famous "Bebek Bengil" on the outskirts of the town center was roughly 10 minutes away on the bike. Rent a bike / bicycle (the concierge can help out with this) if you can and explore Ubud from one to another end especially if you're more a sightseeing person. Don't skimp on the map as the road signs are scarce and ask for directions if you're lost - most of the people we ask for directions are very helpful. The scenic routes are definitely worth your time.

2. Saren Indah's great for getaways - it is surrounded by paddy fields (big change compared to kuta & seminyak) and a beautiful pool to boot. A surprise inclusion (to us) in our hotel stay was breakfast. Perhaps due to it's location (being far from Ubud town center), including breakfast was a no-brainer. The food selection is wide and good for sustenance. But if you're looking to delight your taste palate with Ubud's long running dabble with spices and all - you'll be left disappointed. It's best to venture out where there's a lot of dining places waiting to surprise you.

3. The concierge was great with our needs despite a bump every now and then - everything we requested (nicely of course), we gotten it within a reasonable time frame such as the international power adapter, bike rental, checking-out and etc.

Saren Indah is definitely the place to go for getaways and if you look closely at the place they're situated at - there's a lot of pedigrees of hotel offerings that charge a whole lot more. With a little more tweaks to their service and offerings - it would be hard to deny this place a second stay.

Room Tip: 1. Pick the rooms on the first floor for better view and better sleep (We were on the ground floor a...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
There are newer reviews for Saren Indah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 914 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Saren Indah for 3 nights, we were greeted with a smile & really can't fault our stay here.

We booked in the accom / meals pkg which was great value.

Our bed / bathroom was covered in flowers for our arrival.

The food was very good, we really enjoyed the Friday night dance performance.

The rooms have a beautiful view around them, they are very clean & Zi was surprised just how nice they were for the $.

Lake Leke restaurant is literally next door.

Monkey forest is 1 minute walk away.

Shuttle bus jn / out if Ubud central run all day.

There are no safety deposit boxes in room, but I believe they are available in reception.

We would stay again without question.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

While this hotel was slightly out of the hustle and bustle (50m walk from Monkey Forest) of Ubud, do not let this deter you. The relatively well exercised shuttle service is easy to deal with. As mentioned previously the staff are lovely and speak passable English, in addition to happily making reservations for what ever you want. The hotel had a nice vibe and this made up for the average bathroom, although the A/C did pack a punch. Monkeys did visit the pool as an added treat during our stay.Fantastic value.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank truffles50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the reception desk and get your welcome drinks to the moment you check out you are treated like royalty by the brilliant staff who take care of your every need and help you to explore Ubud. Free shuttle service, great breakfast, a nice pool area, good-value meals in the restaurant and very nice surroundings make this a truly brilliant place to stay, especially at the low rates offered.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have nice mosquito nets to hang over the bed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was on honeymoon there! And we were really impressed ny the beautiful enviroment, nice location, excellent service, warm-hearted staff. Love it! The hotel is behind the monkey forest, which is quite an interesting experience , coz you got to see a lot of monkeys lol.....

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasin0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel will enlighten you and exceed all your expectations!
From the welcome drink, free shuttle, rooms, free internet, delicious breakfast and more importantly its staff, this place will have a special place in your heart for years to come.
This was our second time at Saren Indah Hotel and our experience at the hotel was just as great as the first time - the service, cleanliness, food, entertainment were amazing!
Part of what made our experience so amazing was definitely the extraordinary people who work there!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursula Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the greatest hotel that I have stayed in, in all of my Bali travels, possibly ever ! I am currently staying in a deluxe view room, 2nd floor with stunning views of the Balinese country side. The room has the worlds most comfortable bed, so big, with feather soft sheets & pillows. It also has a mosquito net, so you can sleep with the windows open if you'd like. But I am definately an aircon girl & the aircon here in awesome ! The room also has a Tv, dvd player, large mirror, desk & chair & wardrobe. It also has a large bathroom with a view, who doesn't love that ?!
Also every room has a large veranda, with outdoor settings & an ash tray which is emptied about 3 times a day. While you are at dinner the staff light a mosquito repellant under the table so you could sit outside if you wish. My room has been cleaned at least twice a day, with fresh towels. While you are at dinner the staff will also let down your mosquito net & turn down your bed. If you want to be pampered, then this is the place for you !

The restaurant is stunning, candle lit & with gorgeous views. Very cheap, especially if you order the special, which is 3 courses & a cocktail/mocktail for 80,000 Rupiah.

The staff here are of the highest standards, always friendly, also more than willing to help.
The Laundry service is dirt cheap & your clothes come back smelling delicious.
The pool is also excellent, as is the free shuttle bus service, which should be renamed taxi service as the staff are more than happy to pick/drop you off anywhere in Ubud.

When you check in you are given a whole information pack, including a detailed map of Ubud, shuttle bus times, hotel contact details & the a schedule of dance performances.

I honestly can not rave about the Saren Indah enough. My experience exceed expectations, & I will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 198 in Ubud
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 198 in Ubud
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#55 of 198 in Ubud
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#70 of 198 in Ubud
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 198 in Ubud
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $43 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing