We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How's the serenity?”
Review of Saren Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saren Indah Hotel
Ranked #59 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at Saren Indah and again we weren't disappointed. You can't beat this place for value for money in Ubud! We had two deluxe rooms; one for hubby and I and one for our teenage daughter - highly recommend this for anyone travelling with teens. We were upstairs and our verandahs had a connecting door which you could leave open, effectively giving us the whole upstairs to ourselves with beautiful views and a gorgeous little squirrel going about his daily chores right in front of us. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable with a huge verandah overlooking the gardens and rice paddies, a peaceful haven away from the bustle of Ubud and great for relaxing whilst having a cool Bintang. Although the village is a little out of town (about 10 mins drive) the hotel shuttle is free to take you into town and pick you up or you can always pick up a cheap driver - this is Bali after all. The staff are amazing and really friendly, some of them are trainees from school but this does not effect the service, they are extremely friendly, helpful and there to please. There is a good restaurant at the hotel with a wide selection of different cuisines. The monkey forest is just down the road but no need to go there, the monkeys come to visit you! We had some hilarious breakfasts (which are also very good) with the monkeys stealing peoples toast! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have the best views but they are all upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for Saren Indah Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 917 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Value, great service, nice staffs, everything are perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzwhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was stunned by its beautiful view and service. Just like staying in the four star hotel, but paying maybe 1 or 2 star price. I just love it very much. Walk to Ubud market about 20mins, however hotel has free shuttle bus to bring you there, you may also rent a motocycle to travel which is cheap. But remember to wear helmet.. if not the traffic police .. you konw it.

Room Tip: Wear helmet when riding motobike. Becareful of monkeys as they may robe your items.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and it was quiet and comfortable. The first 4 nights were in the rice view room and it was lovely. The last 3 were in the garden view and they were okay. The rice view rooms are larger, more attractive and have more storage space, though I actually thought the view of the garden was more attractive than the view of the rice field. Both rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The a/c worked well. The pool is lovely and the breakfast is very good. You can have your choice of cooked to order Indonesian or western food, both complimented with fresh fruit, juice and some buffet selections that change daily. The monkeys often come to visit for breakfast, but the staff is observant and kindly shoos them away...it's a good show.

The free shuttle was reliable and ran every 2 hours...or you can walk along side the monkey forest for free. Shuttle or taxi is recommended at night as the monkey forest is very dark. We did walk it one night and it felt safe enough, but it was way too dark to be comfortable...you can't be sure of your footing.

The best part of the stay was the staff. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. In particular, we bought tickets from a street vendor to see a Balinese dance and when we went to the performance site that night, it was empty. Well we thought we had been taken, but when we got back to the hotel and recounted the story to the young man at the front desk, he immediately made a phone call to the vendor (we had asked the vendor his name and he gave us his business card). The next night, when we returned from a tour we had taken, we were handed back out ticket money. They said the dances had been cancelled due to the Hindu holiday of Nyepi. We were delighted and thankful for the assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdmintucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great rooms with an even better price ! The only downfall of saren indah is that it's next to monkey forest which is the only way on foot to ubud center (shopping)-which is fine with me but my girlfriend wasn't a big fan of walking through,that aside it's a lovely place and I would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I love this hotel!!!
This hotel are suitable for honeymoon couple:
(1)the rooms is nice and good and beautiful
(2)the staff in the hotel is nice and helpful
(3)the breakfast is delicious especially the fried noddles but I think their management need to do some changes for the menu.

The bad things for this hotel is nearby monkey forest, this is very dangerous when you wan walk to the Ubud town you must walk through the monkey forest. The monkeys there are fierce and will come in to the restaurant and stolen the bread when we having the breakfast.

But the final conclusion is this hotel is valuable and nice hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hotel was wonderful. However there are a few things that bear mentioning:
1. The staff is not fluent in English. We ran into a number of miscommunications during our stay. Fluency makes all the difference in the world when visiting a foreign country.
2. The Monkey forest is a DANGEROUS place. We met one foreign national at the Balanese dance show that was bitten the day before (rabies shot $140), and I was attacked with no bites. BE VERY CAREFUL in the forest.
3. We seemed to get consistant bad info on recommendations from the front desk staff. The Balanese Dance that they recommended was bad. It was held in a dump, started 15 minutes late, ended early and was pricier than they said it would be. The restaurants recommended were the priciest in town. There were others we found to be much better and cheaper.
4. The breakfast was mediocure at best.
5. Not the hotels fault, but the view of the rice paddy's from the balcony was not there. The fields are being left fallow for now.

The rest of the comments are appropriate and we would definitely stay there again.

Regards,
Bob Morrison

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#55 of 199 in Ubud
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#71 of 199 in Ubud
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 199 in Ubud
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saren Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saren Indah Hotel

Address: Nyuh Bojog St, no. 30 | Nyuh Kuning Mas, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#51 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: $43 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saren Indah Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst lush paddy fields and only 200 meter from monkey forest sanctuary is Saren Indah Hotel which offers travelers the tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Saren Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saren Indah Ubud
Hotel Saren Indah
Saren Indah Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing