We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinning in Sayan”
Review of The Sayan House

The Sayan House
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 10/25
8:00 PM
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #78 of 1,137 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Sayan House RESTAURANT offers a Japanese-Latin Fusion cuisine. The Chef has used his world-wide experiences of tastes and cooking to unify them in his plates, giving traditional dishes a new look and flavour. In the open-air environment of our home, you may enjoy an elegant yet cozy dining experience in various settings: - Two main dining areas hosting up to 70 seats namely the Dining Room and Veranda. The latter unveils an exceptionally stunning view of Sayan from the edge of its Cliff, overlooking the Ayung river and gorge. - We furthermore provide a private dining space, The Guest Room, which seats up to 10 people. - Lastly, a Teppanyaki grill table with a specially selected menu is available for 7 seats, where our Chef prepares each dish to perfection in front of you. The Sayan House BAR also specializes in beverages - offering a wide selection of drinks from the house's own signature cocktails, wine, to premium whiskey brands. We ensure the quality of our homemade beverages by using only the freshest ingredients. Our bar encompasses three main areas: 1. The main House Pub 2. The first-floor Garden Room where you can enjoy the garden view and gentle breeze, and 3. The Living Room at the second-floor mezzanine, a place to sit back and relax while having a good glass of cocktail or whiskey.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Sayan Terrace and this place only few meters away walking distance.

The few is stunning.
The service is great.

I'm just not really into this kind of Mexican - Japanese fusion food.

If you don't stay in hotel/ villa in Sayan area. I suggest you come and visit Sayan House.
This area have very beautiful view, and Sayan House is an ideal place to enjoy it.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank ClarissaIcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear ClarissaIcha

Warmest greeting from The Sayan House
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience to your lovely family and your lovely friends.
We are happy to hear and read your comment about your dinning experienced at our restaurant, and we are happy too if our service can make you feel satisfaction. And thank you for write your comment on tripadvisor because it is very important for us to increase our service.

Once again thank you very much for visiting our restaurant The Sayan House
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

413 - 417 of 886 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2016

Found this restaurant i Instagram. We found beautifull Restaurant with Valley View. The staff so fantastis and excellent service. Delicious food and cozy place for family and friends

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank restuc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House Team at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2016

Dear restuc2014

Warmest greeting from The Sayan House

Thank you for your reviews and sharing your experience to your lovely family and friends about our restaurant The Sayan House.
Glad to hear and read your comment about our restaurant, our food and our service delivery from our warm staff has live up to your satisfaction. Your comment has been forwarded to our entire team and told them how much you enjoy during you having your meals at The Sayan House as their motivation.

Once again thank you very much for visiting our restaurant The Sayan House.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Yes Sayan House worth a visit.
The food concept is a bit strange but this wa DELICIOUS !
Staff is very friendly and the view... this is just beautiful.
The management should instal lounge sofa in front of the view and upgrade a bit the tables (table clothes, candles..) and this is place will nearly be one of the best in Ubud

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Olivier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesayanhouse, The Sayan House at The Sayan House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Dear Olivier F

Warmest greeting from The Sayan House Team
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience to your lovely family and your lovely friends.
We are happy if our service can make you feel satisfaction during you having your meals at our restaurant. Your comment has been forwarded to our entire team and told them how much you enjoy during you having your meals at our restaurant as their motivation. I would like to inform you that we had implemented a new concept fusion of japanese and mexican food. And we really appreciate about your suggestion regarding " instal lounge sofa in front of the view and upgrade a bit the table (table clothes, candles..)".

Once again thank you very much for visiting our restaurant The Sayan House
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regard

The Sayan House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Our meal at Sayan House was very good. The service is very friendly and we were lucky enough to score a front table with the view. The view is AMAZING so get there when it is still light enough to enjoy. The food was enjoyable; my son loved his chicken sushi and the ribs were tender and the meat fell off the bone. The real highlight though was the seared foie gras sushi - that was a real treat! The cocktails were ok, maybe a bit light on the alcohol and punchiness of flavour.

My only hesitation in fully recommending this restaurant is due to something beyond their control: mosquitoes. You go to a jungle, you get bugs, right? But if you are like me - a mosquito magnet - sitting outside for a few hours, even when smothered in repellent, is an itchy experience. This is something that affects almost all the scenic Ubud restaurants but it is something to consider for diners like me.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

Found this restaurant through Trip Advisor. This was a great find! Went at dusk while still light out and when we arrived there was only 1 other couple. The kitchen and serving staff all came out to greet us when we arrived. Were seated a table with an outstanding view of the Four Seasons resort, rice terrace and jungled mountain with lit torches on the lawn in front of us. We had 2 servers attending to our every need. Luxurious. The service was outstanding, the view outstanding and quality of the food from appetizers to dinner to desert and wine were also outstanding. Although I would say expensive especially for Bali, if you want to treat your significant other to a special dinner out, this is the place. One oddity and unfortunately,a necessity this close to jungle area, is mosquitoes and the have 2 small mosquito repellents on your table for your use as you are outside. But all in all the best dinner and dining experience we had during out stay in Bali. Definitely go while there is still light not only for the view but that it was not busy at all at this time, started getting busy as it got dark. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sayan House also viewed

 
Ubud, Gianyar Regency
 

Been to The Sayan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.