We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Charles C
1 review
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This place was a fantastic getaway from the city, it is located amongst local villages and you can experience the real local Bali culture. It is easy to get around to different places with a driver. The food served at Jendela Di Bali was phenomenal, you can taste the freshness and sincerity put into the every meal. We highly recommend the smoked duck and smoked chicken. Mama Dayu is very kind, hard working and keeps the villa in pristine condition. The staff here are very welcoming, attentative, and kind. We will most certainly consider returning in the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2017
Dear Charles, Thank you for your review and we glad to heard that you and the team enjoyed the stay at our villa. Thank you also for your review about our staff service. We look forward to see again Best Regards Individual Bali Hospitality Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trey H
1 review
“Magical, authentic, balinese experience.”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The location was a little bit of a drive from Ubud but if you want to be a bit remote this is the place to be. My husband and I spent our honeymoon here and the grounds were truly breathtaking. We could book a massage anytime we wanted. The level of service if 5 stars and they are very good at accomodating your needs. We were very relaxed! Thank you for letting us have a beautiful honeymoon.-Sela and Trey

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
"Dear Sela & Trey, We are happy to heard that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our villa. Thank you for your time for sharing your experience during the stay with us. Once again thank you and looking forward to waiting your next coming. Best Regards, Bali Individual Villas team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveLD1
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The 'Friends' who staff it should take a bow!”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a tricky property to revue, firstly I will set the record straight on a couple of things, firstly the property is at least 30 minutes away from the center of Ubud which can only be reached by hiring a car with a driver for half a day ( this is not s expensive as it sounds!) There are no local restaurants within walking distance, however there are a couple of very small local shops. Secondly this is a staffed villa,they are there from 7 in the morning till 9 in the evening with security on through the night. it is not a hotel, so don't expect that level of service - that said, after a couple of days it is more like 'Staying With Friends' If fact the staff are what makes this villa something special and they do their absolute utmost to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible, if they can do it they will, all meals are cooked for you, you select from a large menu and they serve it when you want it, you do need to give them notice for some things as everything is bought fresh if possible. All the meals are excellent and they are mindful that Western stomachs sometimes rebel against 'local' cooking methods so use bottled water for the ice cubes and washing salad etc, so no 'Bali Belly!' The villa is located right in the countryside so is surrounded by farming and locals just going about there daily business, this is the real Bali not the 'Sanitized for Tourists' bit.
The Villa is quite unique in that it comes with several different and separate buildings - slightly more compact than some of the photographs here would indicate - the pool for example is about 6m x 4m, all the grounds are beautifully kept by the on site gardener. It is probably worth remembering that he starts work early and is always around somewhere before you get lulled into a false sense of security and start walking around your sleeping block without any clothes on - as a lot of the windows do not have curtains of blinds! The pool area is very nice although shaded by trees so finding the sun can be challenging which also means the pool does not get warmed much by the sun so is somewhat refreshing! (Cold!!) As the villa is right in the country and next to a tropical forest - expect bites from bugs - normally I don't get bothered much by bites from bugs and usually only get a couple but here I was bitten over 100 times in 10 days, in part my own fault because I only started using my bug spay after about 7 days, but i would now recommend taking industrial strength bug spay and using it all the time ( i didn't!) as you are so close to natural woodland, expect visits from other creatures as well, the lizards are trying their best to reduce the bug population so don't work about them, some of the others are best referred to the staff who deal with them for you. Once you stop regarding the staff as 'Staff' you will have a lot of laughs with them, they are so keen to help, and all have great senses of humor, also remember there is no big supermarket, down the road or food deliveries to site, what ever they need they go and get themselves on the back of a motorbike.
This villa wont be for everyone, it wont appeal to the people who like to fend for themselves, or have total solitude or expect the full services you get from a hotel, it wont be right for people who are not that keen on wildlife or nature. That said if you regard it as 'Staying with Friends' where things might not be quite perfect or to your personal taste, but that's not why you go.
If you meet them half way, you will have a very enjoyable and memorable trip, you will certainly have a lot of laughs, and when the time comes to leave you - like me, will be very sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Liked least: The Bugs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Dear Mr. Dave,

Warmest Greeting from Jendela di Bali Villa!

Thank you so much for your reviews and rating that could help us to make more improvements here!
We are so happy and feeling great to serve you and family.
Thank you again for letting Jendela di Bali as a part of your vacation in Bali,
We are looking forward for your next stay and we can't wait to welcoming you again in Jendela di Bali Villa! :D

Cheers,
Individual Bali Villas
________________
Contact us for more options villa in Bali :)
Putri (Ms.)
+62 811 3885 929 (Whatsapp)
putri@individualbali.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veera1232...
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot praise enough the villa. Its in a small village about 30 mins from Ubud. There's no restaurants, shops etc near the villa but I personally think its much nicer place than Ubud. There are many things to see near the villa: rice fields, rafting, mt. Batur, coffee plantations, waterfall, Ubud ... We didn't have own car and only used the villa's driver every day but there were no problems. The driver was great, he showed us many things in Bali we would't have found ourselves. He got us to the villa from a hotel in Canggu and also fixed us everything we wanted to do: rafting, mt. Babur hiking and even ferry tickets to Gili.

The villa is absolutely beautiful, even more beautiful than in the pictures. There is no air con in the rooms but since its in the mountain climate, it doesn't get too hot with the fans over the beds. The best part of the villa is the greatest staff ever!

Daiyu and her staff are the most wonderful people. They were at the villa before we woke up and left when we got to bed. The food is excellent, we ate at the villa almost 3 times every day. Breakfast is served what time ever guests want. The service in the villa is like in hotel but more personal, rooms are cleaned every day, you can order drinks, snacks etc. We even got a massager two times in the meditation villa and it was great. All the villas service were very affordable.

Only minus is the wifi, not the best connection but maybe you shouldn't use internet in a place like this! :) I've been travelling quite much this was one of the greatest accommodation i've visited, can't recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Dear Veera

Thank you for choosing and staying with us and for your wonderful review in this platform. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay in our villa.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our villa location Surrounded by beautiful nature, next to a small Balinese village and located away from the stressful tourist centers, Although it’s quite secluded and far away from crowded tourism the charming villa is close to interesting tourist attractions by car including Tirta Empul Temple, Kintamani Volcano, Bali Safari & Marine Park, and other historical sites.

We thank you for highlighting the service from our associates. I am glad that they were friendly, attentive and helpful to our guest - just as it should be!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future time. It is been a pleasure to have you here.

Best Regards
Individual Bali Hospitality and Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O9281PWst...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The true Bali experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Jendela di Bali is a unique luxury Villa a short drive from Ubud. The owners of the Villa have a great knowledge of the accommodation industry and this is reflected in the unique location and layout. Even arriving at 2.00am was not an issue airport transfers were very smooth. The Villa is in a picturesque tropical location with a bonus gorge and waterfall and was very comfortable for our extended family of 6 including teenagers. Central to so many historic sites some highlights were, Mt Batur volcano, Tirta Empul sacred water temple and a traditional dance performance and dinner. Ubud provided arts and crafts shopping and we did a family jewellery making class which was really well worth it for our own souvenirs. There were so many restaurants and galleries as well.
The Villa's offer unique accommodation and the White Elephant was our favourite. The Grounds are immaculately kept and the Staff are very good with English and are most obliging. Dayu Made and Sueartini go out of their way to make your stay the most pleasant experience and can arrange anything you need for lunches dinner or transport even some beer. Our meals at the Villa were often better than the restaurant experiences. We even did our own low key BBQ on the Villa's Webber Q with the kitchen assisting with the marinades and desert. Being invited by the staff to their homes and to a family religious ceremony was special and a true privilege. Plenty to do and keep yourself entertained or take a little time out to relax. Ideal for couples travelling together or a family such as ours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The property was better than the photos
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2016
Hi Stevens
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to see you again in the future time. It is been a pleasure to have you here.

Best Regards
Individual Bali Villas Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jemma S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Jendela Di Bali was where beautiful family memories were made. Thanks to the wonderful staff who taught us a bit of the language, cooked very delicious food (inna sacali) and were such a joy to be around. They even invited us into their homes to enable us to experience the true Bali. Couldn't have asked for a more beautiful destination to have stayed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2016
Hi Jemma

Many thanks for your great review for Jendela di Bali villa. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we look forward to welcome you again next time to our villas.

Best Regards
Individual Bali Villas Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil and unique villa”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Jendela di Bali was everything I expected it to be and looked exactly like the images. The villa is about a 40 min ride from central Ubud, however it was very close to a lot of the main temples and attractions, so we didn't mind.

The grounds were beautiful and so were both villa's, very unique decor with nice touches. There was an extensive menu available at the villa in case you want to eat food in and you can even order a beer if you wanted to enjoy one around the pool. The staff cooked for us a couple of times, once for lunch and once dinner and the food was delicious, really flavoursome and great portions.

The driver was lovely and had a lot of knowledge of the surrounding area, taking time to explain the culture and special landmarks when asked.

I really enjoyed my time at Jendela Di Bali, however the only issue we experienced was the upkeep of the living area. I stayed for 3 nights and my parents 5 but during the entire stay our beds weren't made once, the towels weren't changed and there was no general tidying. We had a traditional Balinese afternoon tea one day at approx 4pm and when we came home from dinner late one night at approx midnight, all the tea things were still left out and hadn't been cleared away. It was such a shame, as the villa was so beautiful but not coming back to a clean and made bed after a long day of sightseeing was a bit disappointing.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2015
Dear Lauren

Thank you so much for your lovely review, reflecting on all the positive aspects of your stay at our villa. Dayu Made and Sueartini really enjoyed having you and your parents Jackie and Mike stay and they really appreciate the wonderful review your parents wrote in the villa's guest book. In relation to room service, The entire villa, including all bedroom bales, are cleaned every morning after breakfast and all beds are made up every morning. As we are a villa, rather than a hotel, our sheets and towels are changed every 3 days (or at any time on request, if required). We are sorry if there was any misunderstanding regarding your daily room service and we should also add that if you had asked our staff they would have been more than happy to make your bed in the afternoon had you used it during the day after it had been made up that morning or even changed your towels for you if you requested. Each bale in the villa has a sign inviting guests to ask the staff for anything that they require so we can be sure of meeting guests' needs. We are really pleased however that you have raise this issue which has made us reflect on guests using the beds during the day, because in response we have now introduced a light turn down service in the evenings to remake beds and refresh the rooms if required (or on request, as has always been the case). Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay and we really appreciate the positive feedback as well.

Best Regards
Jendela di Bali villa Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing