We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #82 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent 4 days in one of the studio rooms and could not fault anything during our stay (and believe me, I am quite hard to please). The room was huge and comfortable, resort as a whole, absolutely gorgeous and crammed full of antiques and local arts and crafts. Fantastic grounds and staff could not have done more for us. Highly recommend asking the staff to take you down to the river/waterfall for a swim. Definitely need to be accompanied as the current is deceptively strong but it was a great experience.

In all, can't recommend this place highly enough and will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    85
    17
    6
    10
See reviews for
61
190
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

TANAH MERAH in UBUD is a MUST SEE & STAY place in Bali. I stayed in Studio No. 5, 01/09/2010 to 08/09/2010 - 7 nights, I wish I had extended my stay by another 3 days to a week, 1 week in Ubud is not enough. The artwork in my room was lavish the furniture was excellent, the view from my room, watching the sunset was beautiful, the attention to detail i.e. flowers laid all over the place was thoughtful. The villa itself was amazing, 2 pools, one a horizon pool again watching the sunset and having a nigh time dip was great. Meeting and spending a little time with Peter Bloch, the owner, doubled my enjoyment of my stay, he is highly knowledgeable of the quality things to do and see in Ubud and the surrounding areas, without which I would have wasted a lot of time exploring, his generous and enegmatic personality draws you to him. His gallery is really something to be seen, expensive world class artwork litters the property. His staff are courteous, helpful and of good character. The room service was worth it. You must not miss the breakfast with its view. The restaurant food was cleanly and well prepared, no Bali belly from Tanah Merah. You must take a walk to the river and swim under the waterfall (100 metres away). Free shuttle service to town saved me money and anything free in Bali is rare. It is better to stay in a place away from the centre of town (3.7km away or 5 min by shuttle) amongst the beautiful peaceful rice paddies and with beautiful views. To sum it up I believe the only reason this is not the number one place to stay in Ubud is because of a lack of reviews. Brad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradley39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

15 days at Tanah Merah was definitely not enough!! We are so grateful to have experienced Bali while staying at such a luxurious resort. The rooms are outstanding, the views are incredible, the staff is unforgettable and the owner is gracious & accommodating. It's the safest & cleanest place we've ever stayed!! The wildlife surrounding the area is spectacular! Monkeys, geckos, butterflies, & birds.
The rooms were cleaned & the beds turned down daily. The food was as so fresh and delicious. Waking up to fruit smoothies & young coconut water is nourishing for mind, body, & spirit!! We learned so much about the culture, art, & history of Bali during our stay at Tanah Merah.
I recommend spending time in the art gallery, having breakfast with the owner upon arrival, and tip the staff generously.....they work hard to create a tranquil environment close enough to Ubud for shopping but secluded, romantic, and timeless. Wake up with the sun and swim under the stars. This place is truly magical. Television & WiFi are available but not recommended. Leave your worries at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessaMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Stayed here over Christmas with my wife and 1yr old son. Had a magical time. The rooms were massive and clean. Some times you felt like you were on a sci fi movie set, the views of the mountains and wild life was just incredible. The owner invited us to christmas dinner with a couple of other guests and the food was amazing. Staff are great and you will be well looked after - kiddie friendly staff puts a smile on my face every time. A+

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arathorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

If you're looking for Paradise on Earth - Look no further - We've found it!!!!
This beautiful hotel offers everything you could ever dream off: Tranquility, beautiful surroundings, fantastic rooms, excellent food and the best service EVER!!
You feel like living in the middle of nature, but in absolute luxsurius rooms. Should you need some shopping or sightseeing, the hotel offers driverservice - both to the nearest town, Ubud or for excursions around the island.
The staff are always smiling and ready to do their absolute best to make this a stay you will never forget.
The owner off this Paradise knows all about the places and sights you should visit during your stay.
It's my simple oppinion that this hotel is a place to stay no matter if you are looking for a quite beautiful place or as base for adventures.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stine-AC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

I have just returned from a one-month stay at Tanah Merah, and when I came to post my review, I noted...with total disbelief...the review from org_was from Perth. I have traveled throughout the world and stayed at many of the most highly rated resorts and hotels, and I can state without qualification that Tanah Merah is my absolute favorite. The accommodations are immaculate and cleaned at least 2 times...and often 3 times...each day. The setting is spectacular...high above a deep river gorge in an amazingly peaceful and tranquil setting. The staff is the nicest, friendliest, most courteous and most helpful staff I have EVER experienced. They will literally do anything they can to make you feel welcome and to meet any reasonable need. The food in the restaurant is fresh, healthy and on a par with any of the best restaurants in LA, NY, etc. And while Tanah Merah is situated about 10 minutes from the center of Ubud, the drive to and from town is through some of the most scenic landscape of Bali, with views of terraced rice fields, mountains and the volcano.

The comments about the Wi-Fi, mosquitoes, noisy area and the dogs actually make me chuckle. As I mentioned, I was there for 30 days, and with the exception of a short (approx 20 hour) period, I had absolutely no difficulty connecting to the Wi-Fi. During that entire period, I got maybe 3 mosquito bites, much fewer than I get when I go to the Hamptons in the summer. The “noise” is actually the sound of the river running below, and the sounds of the jungle at night. Personally, I pay extra for these. And the giant lizards are in fact geckos. Don’t come here if you don’t like the outdoors.

And speaking of the river, the world that awaits at the bottom of the steps down to the river is AMAZING. And the staff at Tanah Merah is happy to accompany you down and then take you for a swim up river to an AMAZING waterfall, which is often surrounded by the local monkeys. Again, don’t come here if you don’t appreciate being in a natural and unspoiled setting.

I actually got to know the dogs well over my 30 day stay, and saw them bathed at least 2 or 3 times a week.

Bottom line: this place is fabulous. And not just for me. Over the course of the 30 days I was there, I met MANY very interesting people from around the world...from Australia, the Netherlands, Denmark, the US, and to a person, when they learned that I was staying a month, they ALL told me that they wished they were staying longer.

I have come to believe that Bali is one of the most special places on Earth, but that it only appeals to those with an open heart and an open mind. And for those with an open heart and an open mind, Tanah Merah is THE BEST!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BMK_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Not a recommended hotel. Terrible. Bad service. Liars. Dirty room. Two big smelly dogs are always in the restaurant area and annoyed people who were eating. Noisy area. Hard to get to this hotel from the airport. Terrible location - far from shops. they say they have WI FI, But the fact they don't have. Liars!! Rip off. Owner only cares about what he likes but doesn't care about the concerns from the client. Insects everywhere, especially in the room. Giant spiders, mosquitoes, giant lizards, etc. And the owner doesn't want to do anything about it, because he said insects are everything for him!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank org_waras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
3.7 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Semana
Villa Semana
#66 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Sabandari
Villa Sabandari
#9 of 527 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
5.6 mi away
Puri Gangga Resort
Puri Gangga Resort
#36 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#69 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing