We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place like no other....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanah Merah Art Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tanah Merah Art Resort
Ranked #77 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A place like no other....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

A visit to Tanah Merah is like entering an alternate reality...a place you have never been before and a place you can't wait to get back to once you have left it! Stunning setting along a valley complete with its own waterfall, excellent service, incredible decorating...each room or villa more unique then the last. Peter, the friendly Danish/Indonesian owner, and his friendly and sweet staff has created an experience that you will never forget. I just arrived home yeserday and I am already booking again!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    85
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
58
189
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Only spent two nights at this place. Place was nice and clean when we arrived and staff couldn't of been more helpful. Accommodation included breakfast which is pretty full on. We ordered an American and a continental breakfast which both were ok. We didn't eat dinner or lunch at the restaurant but did notice prices for meals were all in US dollars and not nice and cheap like the traditional Balinese prices (which is the main reason Bali gets all the tourists if the truth be told)
Our room had two king size beds in and were really comfy and then has another room which has the shower/toilet/bath and a small sink in it. It also has a very small fridge in there and a kettle. The villas are like I suppose how the traditional Balinese live, all the studios next to each other and all concrete with a little patio out the front of your window but unless u have the two wooden gates open, there is nothing really to look at except the concrete around you and maybe the water feature in your patio. Not a lot to do around the area. We did walk to the river/ jungle within the grounds and that is spectacular to see but once is enough due to the huge concrete steps u need to walk down and then back up (approx 10 min walk each way). Accommodation provides free transport to Ubud at any time for its guests which is great but you need to catch a taxi back (approx 50,000 rupee if before 10pm and a bit more if later in the night so staff informed me). Room has pay tv on a silly little 32inch flat screen tv attached to wall which was hard to see considering the room is quite large and if u want to watch it in bed. Free Wi-Fi here but the two days we were here, Internet kept dropping out continuously , it was slow and then had no internet connection to the point of me asking staff if the Wi-Fi was still connected to which I was told "I will ask staff to refresh server". Funny enough Wi-Fi recommenced again 5 minutes later albeit slowish. Power went out twice on our first day, first time for over an hr then second time for about 20 minutes. One wonders why owner Peter does not install solar panels around the place as electricity is very expensive in Indonesia and this would be a great Eco , reliable and cheap power source . Studio also supplies universal plug in the room and has complimentary 1.5ltr bottled water per person which we were not aware of until 2nd day. Air conditioner is over one side of one of the beds and did not give off much cool air considering we had it set at 16 degrees. All during the night I had smells intermittently of sewage coming thru the air conditioner and then followed by a stale hairspray smell (best I could describe the smell) during the early hrs of the morning from the air conditioner.
The studios are nice but personally I won't be staying here again, we will try something different.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOLLY_CHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arriving to Tanah Merah was a pleasure. Staff was courteous and owner Peter Bloch greeted us personally. Throughout our stay we were treated with very nicely by staff and manager. Among the highlights was a complimentary invitation to Xmas Eve with a traditional (Danish!) Christmas dinner in the company of many guests from all over the world including Novosibrisk, USA, Brazil, Australia joined by some of the staff, the Manger and the owner. Almost a family feel as the evening went by.

This added a very personal touch to our stay and that feeling was extended as owner Peter Bloch kindly offered us a guided and personal tour through his impressive collection of Art and good advice in terms of getting the most out of our visit to Ubud.

The final touch was one of the staff chasing us on a bike when we left the hortel the last day to deliver my camera, which I had left behind.

This hotel is truly recommended by my wife and I as an impressive example of combining individualized professionalism and personalization to a unique experience for the guests.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Villas for a great wiev. We stayed in Villa One, which has two floors and give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Tanah Merah for 3 nights and it was memorable, specially for my birthday. The view is nice. And room is huge. More than we expected. There r 2 beds which is we only use one. Hehehe.. but its really nice big room. Staffs always keep it clean and tidy. Shuttle car from hotel to ubud available anytime with friendly driver. So no worries how late we go out. Back to hotel again with only 50.000idr. So if someone offer more than that, just leave it. Its really nice to stay in hotel all day. Can do swim with view jungle pool or step down to the river. Its relax time we had. All staffs so helpfull and always smile and greet. They take us to other hotel in seminyak to continue our holiday with only 300.000idr for transport. They really make it easy for us. Good management and great service.
Dont hesitate to book this resort.
Have a wonderful holiday..

Yuyun & Arno

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

To all at the fabulous Tanah Merah Resort,

Thank you all so much for such a memorable experience that will stay with me forever.

ALL of you were such superb hosts, that sets a perfect example of how to treat guests that many people in Australia could learn from - you guys and girls were absolutely brilliant and i feel very proud to have stayed in your fine resort. I can't thank you enough for the villa upgrade and your fine service.
I would very much like to return in the future and have no hesitation in recommending your resort to others.

Words can't describe how great your place and all of you are, again, teramah kasih!!!

Hope to see you again in the future,

Regards to you all,

Glen.

Room Tip: Villas are the go, The one with the private pool is best studios are nice and spacious but no views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Tanah merah resort is a hotel about 4km away from ubud. But that's not a problem, taxis go get to Ubud are quite cheap (about 3-4$).
We booked the cottage. This was a house with a huge living room with view on the jungle, a huge bedroom and a bathroom. That rooms where bigger as expected. The stuff was very friendly hend helpful. In the hotel area were 2 pools, also with a view on the jungle.
They had also a restaurant with a great view and a delicious breakfast. We had a great time there and I think Ubud is one of the best places in bali to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissTraveller_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel enough! The studio room is massive with 2 large beds, private courtyard, and big beautiful bathroom. This place is like luxury and chap considering the jaw dropping views you get! I cannot flaw this hotel. If you are looking for the mundane, run of the mill bali experience don't stay here, as you can expect car trips down the valley into ubud which has amazing and priceless scenery on the way. This hotel is different and beautiful with an authentic rustic bali feel. I would stay here again and again and again. So glad I booked.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Suara Air Luxury Villa Ubud
2.9 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sunset Hill
Sunset Hill
#87 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bebek Tepi Sawah Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#36 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Merah Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Merah Art Resort

Property: Tanah Merah Art Resort
Address: Jl. Melayang, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#36 Family Hotel in Ubud
#67 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanah Merah Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tanah Merah Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Merah Resort And Gallery
Tanah Merah Resort & Gallery Hotel Ubud
Tanah Merah Hotel Gallery
Tanah Merah Art Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing